Empty Life Filled

“For you know that God paid a ransom
to save you from the empty life
you inherited from your ancestors.
And the ransom He paid was not mere gold or silver.
It was the precious blood of Christ, the sinless, spotless Lamb of God.”
I Peter 1:18-19 NLT

This verse made my world come to a halt last week. It was the second line that grabbed me. More specifically — empty life. My first instinct was to pull out my boxing gloves and defend this life I live. For it is far from empty. No, I am wonderfully blessed…

Then I heard myself. And read the verse again.

I’ve said it before. It’s made its way into the comments section here recently. Where would I be without my Redeemer?

I’d be empty.

And to think God paid my debt. The one that saved me from myself. I brought nothing to the ransom table but a dirty, worthless, empty vessel. Yet He loved me and saw my potential. With the precious blood of Christ, He wiped me till I shone spotless. He filled me up with grace and beauty. Now, He calls me His very own.

Friends, He made my life priceless.
And to Him, I owe my thanks.
He deserves my praise.

Mind if I share some of my thankful praise with you? These are taken from my thanks journal written this last week (#1125-1159)

  • I’m no longer empty. (I Peter 1:18)
  • God gave me identity (I Peter 2:10)
  • The smell of lilacs filling my home. (Don’t you love the white tips on my lilacs?)

  • Discovering the author Brennan Manning. (Where have I been?)
  • Finishing the Bible in 90 Days.
  • My hubby taking Monday off to celebrate our family.
  • Having a free zoo so close to home.
  • My son gifting me with a May Day flower bouquet:

  • Widows open wide without needing to take allergy meds. This is a new one for me!
  • Reading outside while my son plays happily in his sandbox.
  • All of the emails and comments received from my mini series on grieving. To have you all share with me blessed me so much. Thank you. To God be the glory.

How about you? How has He filled your life and made it meaningful? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

24 thoughts on “Empty Life Filled

  1. so glad you found Manning and to finish the bible in 90 days, whew, you go girl. Love those lilacs and to enjoy open windows in warmer weather is one of my favorite things. Thankful that God sees in us, what we don’t. That He loves us just he way we are. That is the greatest gift of all.

    • That is the greatest gift of all. To receive love unabashedly…
      Thanks for sharing with me, Shelly!
      (and have a great time, friend! Will check in on you via facebook) : )

  2. God came to save me from an empty life. Most of the time I don’t feel like my life is empty. It’s amazing because it usually depends on my gratitude level. But when I do fall into the empty abyss, I’m going to try to remember this verse. I don’t want what Jesus paid for to go to waste! Thank you for the reminder!

  3. Thank you, Nikki. You have given me some food for thought with this post.

    The lilacs are beautiful.

  4. Thanksgiving Thursdays, love that Nikki. You always help me to remember to be thankful for my many blessings and our Thursday nights with all the grand kids is a very special blessing indeed! Thanks and many blessings to you!
    Joy

  5. I too am in awe of a love that would sacrifice so much for me. I’ve been brought from death to life! Amazing grace! I love this post! Your lilacs are beautiful:)

  6. we are going through something in our lives right now and you can not believe how that verse gave me chills. I needed to hear that. it was meant for me to hear that today. thank you 🙂

    • Theresa, I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through a struggle right now. So glad you found comfort in that verse! Thank you for sharing with me so I know how to pray for you. Hugs to you, friend.

  7. Oh, that empty life thing! For me, the emptiness came from trying soooooo hard to be perfect — the perfect friend, the perfect Christian, the perfect everything! It wore me to frazzles and I was always running on empty. To learn that I am already perfect in Him, a princess, a daughter of the King dressed in white before Him was the most freeing of all things. I loved that May bouquet! I wonder how many of those I brought to my Mom when I was a kid —- ants and all!!!

    • Oh, what a valuable lesson to learn! I’m so thrilled you shared it with me, Cora–thank you! Yes–we are already amazing in His eyes, aren’t we. We don’t need to strive for perfection. we just need to strive to love…and I love Him more and more every day!
      The ants and all made me smile wide — so true! : ) but I’ll adorn my dining room table with those hand-delivered bouquets any day. what a gift!

  8. This post was so humbling. He emptied himself, gave his life as a ransom for me, an empty vessel. Yes, I like that thought. It really puts things into perspective. I also like your list! The bouquet from your son made me smile out loud.

    • Oh, thank you so much for sharing with me! I’m thrilled you stopped by today. May you delight in Him this week (and enjoy those flowers of sunshine!) ; )
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  9. What a beautiful picture of the purple flowers.. it makes me want to grow some, for maybe a split second, but maybe buy some 🙂

    I think Florida is too hot for all the spring flowers I have been seeing everywhere… we just get lots and lots of bugs in the spring 🙂

    I love that verse… I am so grateful for the cross. I am so thankful I never have to know where I would be without it…

    You are amazing to me — you read the Bible in 90 days? How many hours a day did you spend doing that? Wow!

    I have read Abba’s Child from Brennan Manning, but I have wanted to read the one about grace. Hopefully this summer.

    I love your list of gifts. You are so blessed 🙂

    Have a most fabulous week!

    Michele-Lyn

I can't wait to hear from you...

