My Prayer for You ~ Praying with Purpose

My time of reading through the Bible in 90 days is coming to an end. I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I have. For I never anticipated God would speak to me the way He did.

But I showed up. And so did He. I came empty and He filled me up. Every day.

I feel like I have so much to share with you. I’m still praying about it, but expect a few series to rise from some observations and convictions I have gleamed from my experience.

Before my Bible in 90 day journey began, I had started the series Praying with Purpose. If it’s okay with you, I’d like to pick that up again.

Each weekend, I will share a verse or two with you and apply it in prayer for someone on my prayer list. My hope is you can relate it to someone on your own prayer list and pray with me. Will you join me?

This weekend, I would like to pray for you. My cherished reader. I hope to one day be able to tell you how much I appreciate sharing this space with you. I pray daily God will be glorified as a result. And friend…I do pray for you.

My prayer for you today is based on a couple of verses I read last week:

“To this end we always pray for you,
that our God may make you worthy of His calling
and may fulfill every resolve for good
and every work of faith by His power,
so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you,
and you in Him,
according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.”
II Thessalonians 1:11-12 ESV

Father, You know how much I appreciate the one on the other side of the screen. For they are Your child. Full of potential and promise. Saturated in grace. With Your stamp of approval. And they’re willing to spend their precious time with my heart. Thank You, for placing them in my life.

Lord, I know You have specific plans for them. Their journey has been chosen by You. And Father I pray You will show them the way clearly. That they will hear the call specifically and follow with a faith only You can give. May You be glorified in their comings and goings this week, Lord. If there’s any conflict standing in their way, Jesus, may it resolve for Your good.

Help them see You working in and through them, Father. May Your grace shine on their face as they show Your love to those around them. And may You be glorified in all they do as they proclaim their Savior, our Lord Jesus Christ. . .

How about you? When you read these verses, does someone on your prayer list come to mind? How will you pray for them? And how can I pray more specifically for you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me. You mean the world to me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: The picture above is of the tree in my front yard. Do you know what kind of tree this is? I would love to know!

Linking up with:

27 thoughts on “My Prayer for You ~ Praying with Purpose

  1. Thank you so much, dear friend, for the prayers. They mean more than you know. How wonderful that you were able to do the Bible in 90 days. That is quite an undertaking, but I am so glad that the Lord spoke to your heart through it in so many ways. The tree is beautiful! Not sure what it is, though. My hubby is away this weekend with the Army, but I’ll try to remember to ask him when he gets back. He is usually pretty good with that kind of thing. 🙂 I hope that the remainder of the weekend is blessed for you!

    • Oh, Thank you, Lisa. You bless me so. I am honored to pray for you!
      (And if your husband has any idea, let me know) 🙂
      I’m having a lovely weekend and trust you can say the same. Enjoy those beautiful children of yours!

  2. Thank you Nikki for praying for me. I am moved by your prayer and how you reach out the way you do. I am blessed by your friendship…more than I every thought possible! I am praying for you also friend!
    God bless,
    Laura

    • Thank you for the prayers, Laura. I appreciate them more than you know.
      Meeting you has been such a blessing to me! I am honored to pray for you.
      May you delight in Him this weekend, friend!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  3. Thank you for your prayer Nikki. It’s blessed me knowing my Lord has heard your thoughts for us today knowing that He will take these and work them best for each of us here with you. With some family issues going on lately I’ve been in prayer as I’m going through the day and covet other people prayers for me.

    I’m glad you took the opportunity to read through the Bible in 90 days. I’ve never done it in that short period of time. It’s always taken me much longer, because I get so sidetracked with my thoughts on what I’m reading and end up chasing squirrels to other parts of the Word.

    As for the tree, I’m inclined to think it has to be some sort of fruit tree. The blossoms are very similar to cherry, apple and plum blossoms, though these are a deeper red color than I’ve seen for those. I’d be interested to know the answer, too.

    • Thank you for letting me know how I can pray for you and your family more specifically. I am so sorry to hear you have been going through some issues. I will hold all of you up in prayer.

      I struggled with the same thing you would — getting lost in my thoughts. It was a very good discipline experience for me, reading the Bible through in such a short time (and I am not quite done, but should be within 90 days).

      We’ve lived here for a few years now and that tree does produce some type of a wild berry in the fall. The leaves turn a very deep red before they fall. It’s such a beautiful tree, I’m determined to figure out it’s species because I’ll want one again if we ever move! : )

      Thank you so much for sharing with me. I am so thrilled to have met you!

  4. Hi Nikki,
    That tree is beautiful! I wish I knew what kind it was. I am thinking the flowers remind me of a fruit tree of some sort.

    How wonderful to read the Bible in 90 days! What a filling up. 🙂

    What a beautiful prayer, I will claim that. I love your praying, caring heart and I take this prayer that you humbly prayed and pray it back for you.

    Blessings,

  5. Nikki, what a beautiful, heart felt prayer. Thank you so much and I agree with and accept this prayer on my behalf. I’ve been asking the Lord for direction with my blog and just life in general. I so what His glory to shine through in everything that I do. I know you’ve been praying for my wrist, please continue to do so. And for financial provision as we head into the final weeks of wedding planning for my daughter!

  6. Nikki – this is a beautiful prayer and such a blessing. You mentioned hearing the call clearly and I have read several posts this past week about using our Spiritual gifts (and our pastor preached on it last Sunday.) Our women’s ministry is undergoing some changes (good things, actually). Please pray for me and my role in this vital ministry – that not my will, but His be done.

    Blessings to you and thank you for visiting Reflections of His Grace. (You have been missed.)

  7. Thank you for the prayer! I am so amazed about reading the Bible in 90 days. I’m proud of myself when I finish in a year!
    Thank you also for your kind encouragement on my blog post today.

    • I’m glad you take the time to read it all the way through, Elizabeth! It’s easy to want to skip a few books…but there are lessons to be learned in each chapter, isn’t there!
      Thank you for stopping by! Hope to see you again soon.
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  8. Thank you, Nikki, for the prayer, and I also prayed for you & my family. Congrats on reading through the Bible in 90 days…what an accomplishment and blessing. Look forward to reading what God has put on your heart to share.

    What a beautiful tree and I am sorry but I don’t know what kind it is… Hugs to you, friend 🙂

    • Thank you, friend. Is encouragement one of your gifts? Because He sure uses you to do just that for me!
      I love that tree. It changes so much throughout the year. I want to find out what it is in case we ever move because I’ll want to plant another one! 🙂

  9. Nikki,
    concerning this tree…do you have a home agent available through your county extension office? Here they’ll send one out to help you, or you can take samples in to them. I’m sure they’d be able to narrow this down a bit more than we’ve done.

    • You are so thoughtful, thank you for thinking of that! You gave me an idea…perhaps I’ll take a clipping the next time I go to the nursery. Maybe they will know? I’ll be sure to let you know what I find out!

  10. Thank you, Nikki for the beautiful, heart felt prayer. How very blessed I am by your posts and the verse you included from II Thessalonians 1:11, 12 would be my only prayer request. May the light of God’s blessings continue to shine in your heart and life.
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

