Community. It’s a Gift ~ Five Minute Friday

It’s that time of week!
The time where I allow myself to throw caution to the wind and
just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.
So I’ll set the timer for five minutes
I’ll join others over at Lisa-Jo’s and
write like I used to run as a kid.
With reckless abandon.

This week’s word prompt is:

___Community___

It’s what hurts the most when moving. The severing of heart strings. Fear invades the wound as you imagine all is lost. All you worked so hard to gain. Pain finally creeps in when you realize you’ll have to do it all over again. Expose your heart to another. Allow someone in. Become vulnerable.

The longing, the ache, the urge to be known, to be heard–God gave us that. As a gift. And some days I want to give it back. I don’t want to need it. I want to be content in the bubble I have built for my family. Can’t that be community enough?

It’s what He’s building, you know. This body of Christ. He’s preparing a place for us where we’ll no longer have to move. No more severed heart strings. Fear will be squelched. And we’ll be surrounded by our community 24/7. Exposing our hearts to another for Another. All because we allowed Him in. We became vulnerable.

The longing, the ache, the urge to be known, to be heard–God gave us that. It is a gift. And one day I will give it back. Because that community in the place He’s building? Yes, it will be more than enough.

Thank You, Father. For giving me that urge to belong to community.
Thank You for allowing me into Yours. What a gift.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Simply click on the button below!

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

24 thoughts on “Community. It’s a Gift ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. WOW! now that was a beautiful WRITE! you took this community and totally moved it into a graceful way of thinking – the afterlife with GOD .. everlasting life in community! LOVE IT!

    • Thank you so much, Karen! (Love that we were neighbors today in this Five Minute Friday community!)
      May you delight in knowing what awaits you as you practice community right where you’re at!

  2. There has been such blessings found in the blogging community here. I am so glad to have met you here. You bless and encourage me 🙂

    I lived both ways — closed and open — and I do not ever want to close myself off again…

    Beautiful and true post… with love,

    Michele-Lyn

  3. I love your spin on community, taking it to a another level. The ultimate community being prepared for us in heaven. Awesome!

  4. Beautiful! And you were able to express yourself like that in only 5 minutes? You amaze me, friend.

    “Eye has not seen, ear has not heard, what God has ready for those who love Him….” What a community that will be! 🙂

    • Ha! Thank you –oh if only I would have thought to include that verse in my 5 minutes! perfect, friend! (and in all fairness, I thought about it for probably 10 minutes, then prayed about it, before I started the timer and began to type.) 🙂

  5. This, Nikki, is amazing. You make my heart recognize more deeply what I am craving, how the deepest parts of me will be filled when fully in community, with Him, looking into His eyes, face to face. All will be healed. Yes — no more severed heart strings. Such a beautiful, hope-filled post. Bless you, friend!

    • Thank you my sweet friend! I feel like we’re only practicing community now so we will gain but a glimpse of what is awaiting us when we are fully communed. So glad you were able to understand my heart in my frantic 5 minute write! Enjoy your weekend!

  6. Wasn’t sure I could read past the first 3 sentences. It’s the moving and severing and then the looking and risking again that I struggle with. BEcause sometimes, communities take years.

    • Oh, I’m with you. which is why I want to give it back so early and give up…but I’m learning to realize this is only a practice run. a trial if you will for what awaits us when we are fully communed. . . I’m looking forward to that!

  7. So so beautiful and moving Nikki. You are a gifted writer, my friend. It made me think of the community I have found in the new life/town we live in. Strange how I never feel good enough, no matter where I am. In Southern California I always felt inadequate in my physical appearance. Here in Western PA, living near a Christian College, many of my female friends are recent grads or alumni from that school. As one who traveled a much “lesser” path earning real world experience and street smarts over a college degree, I often feel inadequate in my level of intelligence in their presence. As much as I long for community, it seems the only real community I feel is the online blogging community {as crazy as that sounds.} I feel more loved and accepted online than I do offline. {family aside, of course} Anyway, it comforts my soul to know God’s community, the one He is preparing for all of us, will ultimately be all we need.

    Blessings my friend,
    ~Rosann

  8. nikki…Oh yes…the ultimate community…One with Him…longing allow Him to build here…as we long for the best community we will have. Have a sweet weekend my friend…blessings~

  9. Oh this:”This body of Christ. He’s preparing a place for us where we’ll no longer have to move. No more severed heart strings. Fear will be squelched. And we’ll be surrounded by our community 24/7. Exposing our hearts to another for Another. All because we allowed Him in. We became vulnerable.”

    such beautiful hope and truth in your words…so grateful that you are part of my community, dear friend:) Enjoy your lovely scented lilacs and dear family this weekend 🙂 Hugs to you 🙂

    • You bless my socks off, Dolly! So blessed to have you a part of my community, too!
      I loved your 5 Minute Write…and hope my readers will click on over to read it! {hint, hint}
      And I am so enjoying my lilacs 😉
      Hugs to you, friend! Enjoy your weekend!

  10. I know all about community being a gift — and the desire sometimes to give it back — until that time comes when I have to part with it. Like you, it’s then that I realize how precious it is to my heart. I loved your thoughts on Heaven and never having to part with loved ones again. That was just a whisper of grace today to my soul! simplestriving above me, my socks are blessed off, too!

I can't wait to hear from you...

