I Will Never Be The Same Again

The time had come. My husband took care of everything. I simply had to walk down the basement steps to the garage in-between contractions. And when I got to the threshold of the only home my son has ever known, I paused. Long enough to add to my husband’s worry. I assured him it was nothing but a blessing. The song in my head had simply changed unexpectedly. And as I stepped onto the concrete, a peace overwhelmed me. Pain avoided me. God gave me the opportunity to sing along. The entire way to the hospital.

This song has meant so much to me over the years. And on the eve before my son’s 4th birthday, I thought I would share it with you. For I have never been the same since that day and pray I bring God glory as a result.

We do change with every season we experience, don’t we. For the better if we have kept our eyes fixed on Him. And looking back on my life, I can see how God’s glory poured down with every transition. What a blessing!

The middle stanza of this song (in bold) has been a part of my prayer life since I was in college. It encapsulates how I try to face every difficult road I encounter. With the perspective of knowing it could be worse. With assurance that God’s will is better than my own. That I want His glory to be revealed through it. And trust I will grow closer to Him as a result.

I will never be the same, I’ll be better. I’ll be closer. I hope this blesses you as much as it does me.

“I Will Never Be the Same Again” by Hillsong

 ♪♫ I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I’ll run the race
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

There are higher heights, there are deeper seas,
Whatever you need to do, Lord do in me.
The Glory of God fills my life,
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I will run the race
And I will never be the same again. ♪♫

NOTE: I couldn’t find the version of this song that runs through my head. If you do not know/remember this treasured worship song, this version HERE is fairly close. Enjoy!

How about you? What have you closed the door on? How has the glory of God filled your life lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

14 thoughts on “I Will Never Be The Same Again

  1. Thanks for sharing! this song was new to me when we started attending our current church home. Because of that, I’ve never actually stopped to read through the words altogether.

    There is great truth in this. Our window of opportunity to be the flame of God’s truth in some situations is very small. We must be ready to act when he calls. We must be willing and attentive, also, as we will never have the same chance as what He offers to us now.

    • I LOVE your thoughts here, new friend! I’ve been thinking about them all day…thank you so much for sharing with me! Striving to be willing and ready for my window of opportunities. I know if I’m ready, He won’t disappoint!

      All for Him,
      Nikki

  2. L-O-V-E this song. of course, i say that to all the songs you post, don’t i? 😀 this song takes me back to the tab youth group days. good times. its funny how you can say this “i will never be the same again” so many different times. i remember how i felt singing it then, and meaning it…yet when i sing it now, it has entirely new meaning. just like you mentioned…each season brings something new, something different. and we can roll with it and be transformed as long as our gaze is fixed in His direction. i think i want to do this song for worship this week…just because… thank you for bringing it the forefront of my mind! you are such a blessing to me!! love you!!

    • I love the idea of doing it at worship next week, of course! 🙂 And will email you my thoughts on other songs to compliment as requested. Thanks for sharing with me! Always brings a smile to my face…

  3. What a bold and beautiful prayer! Thanks for sharing. Right now I am praying for direction about what to do re: a decision. Love to you and Happy Birthday to you son, early and Happy Anniversary, early!

    • Thank you for sharing with me, friend. I’m going to pray for you. For clear direction and the courage to pursue it. And thanks for the wishes! My husband has the day off — which means no matter what, we will enjoy our day!

  4. What a beautiful testimony 🙂 Ah.. your son is 4? My baby littlest baby will 2 this month… in just 8 days!

    It is true… He takes us from glory to glory and never leaves us the same. I thank God for that! I am still learning to walk in grace… but I definitely have closed the door on shame!

  5. Nikki, this is just beautiful. I too have felt with each new season {particularly since becoming a mother} how God has changed me from the inside. Yet even on the outside I’m almost unrecognizable compared to the person I used to be. All for His glory. All for the better. 🙂

    Blessings to you friend,
    ~Rosann

  6. This was one of my favorite songs! I have it on a Hillsong CD. Thank you for reminding me about it again here. It was a tender season in my life when I used to listen to this song, over and over again. I am so thankful that I will never be the same again. I keep changing, and growing, and becoming more like Him. All because of His grace. I’m so thankful.

    • I’m thankful, too. I had a time in my life when I clung tight to this song, too. But am now realizing the song can tackle so many different seasons as we are constantly changing, hopefully growing and becoming more like Him. What grace!

I can't wait to hear from you...

