The “Good” of Friday

Flickr credit: 50%ChanceofRain

Even in my optimistic-wired mind, I have never been able to grasp the concept. I’ve never seen anything good about it. For what we did to our Savior on that tree? Well, good is not the first thing that comes to mind.

Until now.

I’ve taken a different approach to the Lenten season this year. A new challenge for me. It started with a simple plea:

“Lord, help me to become less so You can fill more of me.
Show me what I need to get rid of. What I can leave at the cross for keeps.”

If you’ve been following along, you know a number of things He’s asked me to leave behind. And as I’m sitting here, reflecting on the things I’ve shed these last few weeks I can’t help but smile. For what seemed like huge sacrifices then have turned into tremendous blessings for me in the long run. I don’t miss a single one! Not one…It’s been good.

My destination to the cross has now arrived. The Day of remembrance has come. And as I reflect on what my Savior has done. What He endured simply to give me an option of salvation. I’m left with one last plea.

Lord, please show me the “Good” of Friday.
It doesn’t feel good. All I feel is hurt. Sorrow. Mourning. Guilt.
For what Jesus did for me.

My favorite Bible, the one I received for my 16th birthday, sits in the ready position on my lap. Its delicate pages now play a well-worn tune to my ears as I flip towards the verse I feel led to read yet again:

For Christ also suffered once for sins,
the righteous for the unrighteous,
to bring you to God.
He was put to death in the body but made alive in the Spirit.
I Peter 3:18 NIV

And today I see it. The main premise of it. The calendar is right. Is is good. Christ brought me to God.

My wage of death? The one I owed due to my sins? He paid it in full.
(Romans 6:23)

Today on that cross, Jesus showed me what God’s love is capable of.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this:
While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”
Romans 5:8 NIV

And on Sunday? God will show me what His grace is capable of.

But God raised Him from the dead,
freeing Him from the agony of death,
because it was impossible for death to keep its hold on Him.
Acts 2:24 NIV (read on in Acts 2 to learn more)

Friends, there’s nothing bad about that. It’s all good.

My sacrifices in this world have stung, but have been miniscule in comparison. No matter how much they hurt at the time, however, the pain is soon forgotten.

I have to believe Jesus feels the same way. The sacrifice He bore for me on Friday? He doesn’t regret it.

It. Was. Good.

How about you? Do you feel the good of Good Friday? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

10 thoughts on “The “Good” of Friday

  1. Good morning friend! Yes, it WAS good – just perhaps not the *good* that we always think of. I shudder and cringe when I try to imagine what Jesus went through willingly – to save us for God. That;a what gets me – that he never fought, never backed down, never tried to get out of what was about to happen. He surrendered it all, for us.

    • Oh to love like that! To surrender all and not back down… that’s worth striving for indeed!
      Happy Easter to you and your beautiful family, friend! Thanks for sharing with me today!

  2. This morning as I walked the beach, the waves were so huge that they left what looked like mounds of white foam soap suds all along the sand. I could only think it was God’s way of reminding me that Yes, His blood has washed me as clean as new fallen snow from all my sin. Praise God! Praise God!
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

