Hosanna! Indefinitely.

©iStockphoto.com/Steven Allan

“They brought the donkey and the colt
and put on them their cloaks, and he sat on them.
Most of the crowd spread their cloaks on the road,
and others cut (palm) branches from the trees
and spread them on the road.
And the crowds that went before him and that followed him

were shouting, “Hosanna to the Son of David!
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord! Hosanna in the highest!
Matthew 21:7-9 ESV

~~~~~~~~~~

He came to us as predicted.

~~~~~~~~~~

“This took place to fulfill  what was spoken
by the prophet, saying,“Say to the daughter of Zion,

‘Behold, your king is coming to you,
     humble, and mounted on a donkey,
    on a colt, the foal of a beast of burden.’”
Matthew 21:4-5 ESV

And still we did not see. For our hopes were not set high enough. We were simply asking for a new political leader. One to overthrow the Romans.

When we shouted “Hosanna,” we were taking it literally. “Save us now.” Now. From the Romans. Not from forever. Not the world. Just us from the now.

But God knew. God saw our need. And He promised to fulfill it.

We covered the path for our savior, a makeshift red carpet. We sacrificed more laundry and used branches signified for goodness and victory. We set the stage and anticipated. Yes. This man, this underdog from Nazareth, Galilee. He will be the answer to our pleas. He will know how to turn our country around.

Hosanna in the highest! Save us now!

God saw our need. God promised to fulfill it.
And Jesus did just that. Not His will. But thine.

He took ‘Hosanna’ to a whole new level.

No longer will Hosanna be used to save us from the now.
Today, when I call my Savior ‘Hosanna’,
I can know He’s saved us from ourselves. Indefinitely.

And as I gather with my family in Christ this weekend. To remember the day of the palms this Passion Sunday. I will do just that. I will call Him Hosanna. I will proclaim Him in the highest.

And I will worship the One who saved me from now and forevermore. Not just from the Romans. But from my very own sin-soaked self. Indefinitely.

The time is coming…Can you feel it?

How about you? How will you worship this weekend? How will you make your journey to the cross? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’ve missed my time over at:

Stop on by and be encouraged!

20 thoughts on “Hosanna! Indefinitely.

  1. Very nice Nikki. My journey to the cross happens every single day in the realization that I am a sinner so much in need of a Savior. He is my all and I am so very thankful to Him.

    Blessings,
    <

  2. Wow, Nikki! We were precisely on the same wave-length this weekend!! My post on my blog (Christ in the Clouds) is an encore to yours!! It really makes me think deeply about Palm Sunday and what we celebrate….our TRUE King for eternity!!

    In His Lo♥e, Ann ✞

    • Thank you so much, Shari, for sharing with me! I love that book and am so thrilled to know you’re sharing it with your family. Enjoy your time reflecting on our Savior as a family!

      All for Him,
      Nikki

  3. I was just reading in my morning devotions Matthew 6:25 where it talks about not worrying about the things of this world and your post made me think of how often I say to Him “save me from TODAY…from the struggles and trials of right NOW” but, like you said, He knows my need more than even I do. Thank you for this.

    • That’s exactly what I’ve been thinking about, Stephanie! So blessed to know He can see the big picture where I only see what’s right in front of me. Striving to trust He’s got my needs covered… So thankful you stopped by. Thanks for sharing with me!

  4. I am at home with a sick boy, reading scripture together and waving the gratefulness of our hearts together for the Saviour who died for us. Happy Palm Sunday Nikki. You did this day well with your words friend.

    • That means so much to me, friend. Thank you. (And sorry to hear your boy has strep. poor guy. Hope he feels better soon and doesn’t share it with the rest of you!) Happy Holy Week to you!

  5. Pingback: He Knew I’d Need a Savior « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

