GIFT ~ Five Minute Friday

This is my time to fingerpaint.
Without worrying if I mix up or mess up.
No masterpiece necessary.
This is simply for the joy of writing.
Thanks to Lisa-Jo and her amazing 5 Minute Friday meme,
I get to let the fingers fly for 5 minutes and
share what my heart bleeds when given this word prompt:

___GIFT___

Time starts NOW:

You’ll not likely go wrong here
if you keep remembering that our Master said,
‘You’re far happier giving than getting.'”
Acts 20:35 MSG

It’s true. Joy is found in the eye of the beholder. What delight it brings to watch someone you love unwrap something you hand-selected just for them. Your lips curl upwards as you see their expression turn from confusion to discovery. Love floods in as you witness them accepting your gift, taking it as their own.

Yes. I’m happy giving. It’s the getting that gets me sometimes. The humbleness of it all.

And I think of Jesus. Sharing this message with His disciples. Knowing full well He was going to be the one giving it all. Just the thought of it forces me to my knees.

Jesus, You are the best gift-giver this side of Heaven. No one compares to You. For you gave a gift every single one of us needs.  The cost of it was priceless. Extraordinary. But You did it anyway. For us. For me. For love.

There are no words for what you have given me. The grace You have bestowed upon me — a simple striving homemaker. But I bend down low and humbly accept Your gift You give freely as my own. And I will spend this life figuring out how to thank You proper.

I pray You find delight in giving it to me.

May I treat it with the respect it deserves.

Please know I will cherish it always. I hope you don’t mind if I show it to everyone I meet.

And I can’t wait to thank You in person. I’m going to hug Your neck. And I may never let go…

STOP.

Would you like to see what others painted in 5 minutes time?
Would you like to join in on the messy fun? Click the button below!

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

CONFESSION: I looked up the verse before my 5 minutes began, and I copied and pasted it in to save a few seconds when the timer started!

36 thoughts on “GIFT ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. I love your heart in this prayer to Abba… it stirs a desire in me to seek Him more…

    Sometimes I cannot fathom He would give such good gifts to a wretched heart like mine… but more and more as I learn of grace… my heart accepts full HIs love…

    Thank you for sharing your walk with the Lord here with us… you bless me.

  2. Oh, yes, to reach our arms around His neck! This is so beautiful, Nikki — all the heart’s yearning for Him and the gratitude He gives us, the joy of discovering more of Him, each day. Thank you. Bless you, sweet friend.

    • I wanted to say I’ll race you there, Aurie, but I know there’s plenty of Him for the both of us 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, friend. What a gift your friendship is to me — thank you!

  3. It’s the getting that gets me too! Glad to know I’m not learning alone.

    Came over from Lisa Jo’s today. Thanks for the encouragement!

    ~Heidi

    • Thank you so much for sharing with me, Heidi! Thrilled to be on this journey learning with you. So blessed by your post today. What a gift it was meeting you today! Thank you!

      All for Him,
      Nikki

  4. Nikki…just lovely…and i just prayed right along with you…and i too just want to hug His neck…overflowing thankfulness…blessings and have a great weekend.

  5. Love your post, and I really don’t think He’ll mind if you share His gift with everyone you meet 🙂
    It’s been so interesting to read through all the posts and the different viewpoints of the word -gift.

    • {{SMILE}} yes, I had to add that as a reminder to myself that I should be doing just that–sharing my gift with everyone I meet! I, too, have enjoyed reading all the posts on Gift today! your post was no exception 🙂 May you delight in Him this weekend, Alecia!

  6. Yes, Nikki, I can picture you hugging Jesus tight and Him hugging you back. Oh what joy we get to experience now and forever. Lovely write…Hugs to you, dear friend, and a blessed weekend with your sweet family 🙂

    • Thank you, Joy! You’re right. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. So is joy! Oh if only we kept our eyes and hearts open wide all the time…
      (my brother-in-law took that pic. isn’t is amazing? If you look closely, you can see the double rainbow. love those!)

  7. “I pray You find delight in giving it to me.”…..oh, I LOVE this!

    What a beautiful post. I’m now pondering how I’ve responded to Christ’s perfect gift. Am I still embracing it? May He never be cast aside, thrown on the pile of gifts (thinking child and their gifts of toys) that I’ve grown tired of. May I always remember and cherish the best gift of all.

    • You and I are on the same wave length, Laurie. That’s what I’ve been pondering, too! Striving to not take this gift for granted. Striving to let it take center stage of my life…

      So thrilled you stopped by today so I knew to read your post, too! Love that you took the challenge!

I can't wait to hear from you...

