He Loves Me Anyway

Flickr credit: 50%ChanceofRain

That thorn. That one, piercing just above His left brow.
It causes blinding pain. Blood pools on the cool earth below.
It’s from me. I did that.

You see, I’ve picked comfort over glory. Acceptance over righteousness. Me over Him. And I realize I’m no better than Judas. By ignoring His grace, I became that kiss of death.

His breath is shallow. His voice weak. His vision blurred with my grittiness.
But He finds me. There in the crowd chanting for twisted justice, no mercy.

He looks deep into my eyes, stirring the depths of my soul.
And with whatever energy He can muster, I hear Him say it.
He loves me anyway. Oh how He loves me.

Yet when He opens love’s door, offering one simple guarantee, I relent and am quick to point out the flaws. No, I’m much better here. Where confidence thrives than that place I’ve never seen.

And I argue, I ignore. I struggle with doubt while not even wanting the truth revealed. And I bury His plan, paint a smile on my face. And go on my way with plan B.

When that leads to dead ends, He finds me back there. Bent low beneath Calvary’s tree. Too ashamed, helpless, burdened, scarred, to even offer a plea.  So He wipes my tears with His strong, scarred hand and waits until I’m ready.

He then whispers softly, repeating as necessary.
Over and over until I believe.
He loves me anyway.
He loves me.
Oh how He loves me.

~~~~~~~~~~

These are some of the thoughts that go through my head while listening to this amazing song.

You Love Me Anyway” by Sidewalk Prophets

I really didn’t do the song justice, so I hope you’ll listen in.

To simply read the lyrics or download the song yourself, you can visit the artist’s website HERE.
To listen to the song while watching excerpts from “The Passion of the Christ” you may click HERE.

Or click play below, and read the lyrics on-screen (email readers may click HERE to listen in).

How about you? How have you heard Him say ‘He loves you anyway’ lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking to my friend Paula’s:

16 thoughts on “He Loves Me Anyway

  1. so glad to be able to comment again….I love this…yes the wonderful reminder…He love me anyway….blessings to you….

    • Oh, Ro, I’m so sorry! Yes, I’ve been having troubles with the commenting system. Still working out kinks. So thrilled you stopped by, thank you! I’ll be over at your place soon.

  2. I love this, Nikki! We are so unworthy, but He loves us anyway. What an amazing, undeserved gift! Thank you so much for this beautiful reminder.

I can't wait to hear from you...

