Loud and Proud ~ Five Minute Friday

This is where I try to paint a picture.
In five minutes flat.
Where I show you what my heart feels
when given a single word prompt from Lisa-Jo.
No backtracking. No editing.
It’s just me.
Trying my hand at using brushstrokes with the keys.

This week’s word prompt is:
___LOUD___

GO!

Who knows how many times we’ve had this discussion. How many times I’ve tried to explain volume, tone, politeness to my toddler. Words flow out of my mouth on auto pilot until he manages to find my mute button with:

“But, mom, sometimes I just get so excited I have to share it loud!
I can’t help it if I’m not outside then!”

He’s got me. I don’t want to be a joy-crusher. I don’t want him to stop sharing his excitement with me. Even when he can’t control his decibels yet. Okay. New plan. For now, we’ll just work on how close he is to my ear…

Lord, I hear You. I will join my boy in proclaiming loud and proud. Today I will let my excitement bubble over till it bursts. For what You did for me? That’s worth getting all riled up over.

Guess what! You’ll never guess what Jesus has done for me!
Do you know? Have you heard?
He has risen! Just as He said He would!
And I just have to tell you what He means to me!
I want to show you how much He loves me!
And did you know He loves you, too?!?
EEK! He loves us both!!!
He picked the both of us!

Oh how I want my life to look like that, Lord. Father, help me to be loud and proud. For You.

STOP

Would you like to see what others painted? Would you like to join in?
Simply click on the button below!

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

38 thoughts on “Loud and Proud ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. to live with this enthusiasm… so. so. true! And I had to laugh about how close to the ear {know this full well}… let us speak loudly today, shall we friend?

  2. Beautiful! It made me smile and laugh when you talked about your son not being so close to your ear. I often tend to think of loud in negative terms. You brought life to this word. Yes, we should be loud when we proclaim His name! Thank you for helping me to see a different meaning!

    • So blessed to have you stop by today, Shari! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me! Being loud for Him is something I can get excited about and will strive to have my life show it! Enjoy the rest of your day!

  3. Love Love Love Love love this! Did I say I like this? Nikki, this is great! Oh, that I would have that loud joy to share the Lord’s goodness. Thanks for this great reminder…

    love this!!

    Mailing your book this weekend. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by today, Shelly! Thank you for the well wishes, too — our family is taking a sick weekend, I’m afraid, and my ringing ears could certainly use a reprieve! with how my sweet son is feeling, I’m thinking he’s happy to oblige….
      May you delight in Him, living loud and proud for Him this weekend!

  4. Oh I love this! I can be such a joy-squelcher sometimes!

    And what a great reminder to be excited for Jesus and what He’s done for me!

  5. What a great picture you painted in 5 minutes, Nikki- you are definitely a writer…could feel your son’s excitement and so wise of you to recognize and honor his joy…yes, loud and proud for Him…yes, to be that way for Him…happy weekend to you, my friend 🙂

  6. I love moms that learn. That say something and then hear their kid and recognize some truth in their words. Good job mom. I hope he can grasp standing a bit farther away when he is excited! Parenting provides so many changes to grow!

    • So, true, Laura! Who knew I’d be needing to learn just as much as my boy — what an adventure! Thrilled you stopped by, thank you! May you delight in Him this weekend! All for Him, Nikki

  7. I loved this post. I could not count the many times I’ve begged my precious grand kids to use their library voices or said lets whisper, but the excitement of their spirits is worth far more than my desire for hushed tones. I love their delight in everything we do!
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

