Walking Home

This is my 100th post. Before you get all excited, let me first confess there is no giveaway. Clearly dropped the ball there and hope you’ll forgive me.

Many ideas flooded my mind while determining what my 100th post would be. First I was going to list one hundred things I have been most thankful for since creating Simplystriving. Then I thought I would list one hundred things I’ve learned since starting this journey. Believe me, I’d have no trouble filling that list.

My last idea (after thinking I would bore you with 100 things) was listing the top ten lessons I’ve learned as well as answering ten of the most common questions I receive in my email.

But none of them seemed right.
And I think I know why.
Besides the fact they are all lists, they all focus on me.
Not Him, not you, not the brand new community of us.

I didn’t start this blog because of me. Frankly, I’m not a fan of talking about myself. But myself is all I have to give. And my heart is all I have to share. God told me that was enough and asked me to open my door. So, I started this blog with the intention of simply sharing what I’m striving for on this journey we call life. I opened the doors and asked one small request from Him: That I would get to meet you along the way.

For we’re all striving, stretching, sometimes failing.
Why not encourage each other along the way.

So encourage each other and build each other up,
just as you are already doing.
I Thessalonians 5:11 NLT 

Wasn’t it Ram Dass who said,
We’re all just walking each other home.

~~~~~~~~~~

So with this 100th post, I simply want to say thank you. Thank YOU, reader-turned-friend, for sharing your time with me. I do not take you for granted. I see why God delights in you so. For your heart is longing, aching for more. More of Him. Just like me.

Please know, I would have to do this without you here. I write my words to the audience of One with the hope of pointing you to the One in which I write along the way. But YOU, friend, make it easier when it comes to clicking that publish button. You returning the favor, extending a bit of your heart to me, makes this pride-swallowing journey pleasant.

So thank you.
Thank you for walking me home.
I’m thrilled with your company.

I never dreamed I’d be able to write 100 posts and still feel I have so much more to share.
Please, Lord, keep me striving.

I never dreamed I would be able to find so many kindred spirits along the way.
Thank You, Father, for answering my plea beyond my wildest imagination.

But I had always hoped I would enjoy the journey home as much as I am with you.

And as you go along your day, walking in His grace, I will be praying for you. I will be thanking God for you.

Today, my prayer for you is this:

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him,
so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
Romans 15:13 NIV

How about you? How is your journey home? How can I pray for you? What would you like to see more of on Simplystriving? I’d love to hear. 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki


29 thoughts on “Walking Home

  1. Amen! Congrats on your 100th post! Not even sure when I hit mine, so good for you being on the ball :0)

    Loved getting to know your heart and more about you! Thanks for your friendship and prayers!

  2. Nikki, returning the favor and reading your words today. Congratulations on your 100th post. That is an accomplishment! As a “writer” you cannot write if the words don’t come so be sure to celebrate when they do! I can appreciate you writing for an audience of one. There are many days that I feel like I’m writing to myself (because I need to hear what I’m writing). Thankful that God hears each one of us and that we can praise Him with our words through blogging. Here’s to another 100 posts!

    Christy
    A Heartening Life

    • So thrilled you stopped by, Christy! Thank you! And yes, I feel like I’m the one needing to hear the words more times than not! What a blessing it is to be able to share our hearts in this format. Enjoyed my visit over at your place–hope to see you again soon!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  3. Beautiful Nikki! Just beautiful and so perfect for the 100th post. Congratulations on hitting a blogging milestone. It’s pretty awesome that God inspires us in our writing to be able to write enough about Him, about life, and about faith that we can reach an audience beyond our wildest dreams or imagination. We will never fully know the lives we impact through God’s words poured out in our blogs. We just need to keep on keeping on. 🙂

  4. Nikki-
    So birthing words is like having children — God gives us more love for each child and more words to express his mercy to anyone who might hear! I, too, recently passed the 100th post mark and it came and went without much fanfare. But your heart is always so available in every post and I love how you said that yourself is all you have to give. I feel the same way, as if self-promoting or tooting my own horn, but we can offer ourselves and be trumpeters of truth and grace! Bless you! Keep writing!

  5. “So encourage each other and build each other up,
    just as you are already doing.“
    I Thessalonians 5:11 NLT

    I’ve been reading this in a lot of different places lately. I find it interesting and refreshing that in this blogging community we are a part of, we strive to encourage each other and build each other up! So unlike the competitive “real” world we often find ourselves in. And even the competitive pressure we often put on ourselves!

    I’m blessed to be traveling this blogging journey with you Nikki!

    • You’re right. it’s not a competition. We’re in this together. And I am blessed to be traveling this blogging journey with you, too, Laura! What an encouragement you are to me, thank you!

      (and I love seeing your avatar–you’re brilliant) 🙂

      Blessings!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  6. Loved your words and wisdom, Nikki. I’m so glad I discovered your blog and I intend to come back often. I guess I have a lot of catching up to do also. What a wonderful journey we take with our hand in His.

    • I am so thrilled you stopped by! Thank you!
      I love how you put that: What a wonderful journey we take with our hand in His. So true!
      I’m looking forward to getting to know you and hope to see you again real soon.
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  7. Congrats, Nikki! Glad you didn’t go with the 100 Lists (wink)…Very thankful to have a kindred spirit in you to walk home toward our dear Jesus together…very grateful, you listened to Him and started writing and sharing your heart…love and hugs to you!

    • Haha! It’s hard to remember I might be the only one who adores lists! I’ll just write those for myself 😉
      Love you dearly, Dolly. thank you so much for your company as we walk home to our Savior together! Hugs to you!

  8. Congratulations on your 100th post! All of the ones I have read have been such a blessing to me! You are such an inspiration and I thank God that our blogs have brought us together as friends! 🙂

  9. Happy 100, Nikki! (And don’t worry, no giveaway needed. Mine was fun, but not as successful as I thought it would be.) All of what you said, I can echo. I feel a sort of kinship with you in this . . . that we’re on this blogging journey together! . . . and I love that Christ continues to provide words for us. What a blessing! I’m so grateful to have met you through this community.

  10. Pingback: The Ingredients of Patience {A Guest Post} « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

