Brave ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the time I allow myself each week.
To let my hair down and simply share with you.
Share what my heart bleeds in 5 minutes time
after hearing a word prompt from the amazing Lisa-Jo.
No editing, no backtracking,
no need to make this post perfect, frilly, or wrapped in a bow.
It’s just me. Unedited.

This week’s word prompt:

___BRAVE___

Ready?

GO!

I’m certain Heaven is the temperature it was today. Low 70’s with a soothing breeze soft enough to ensure it doesn’t drown out the chatter of chickadees. I breathe in deep as I see God’s artwork today painted meticulously in colors one could try to describe for days but would never get exactly right.

It was his breath catching that brought me back down to the task at hand. My boy climbing a tall piece of playground equipment.

“Mom, I need your help to get down. This is not good. I need dad.”

My heart splits in two as I try to determine which direction my mind will follow. For conquering fear is a fickle thing to try to teach a  toddler. I encourage him to press on. Remind him of the fun adventure awaiting him at the goal line.

But bravery is not to be his middle name today.

I see relief flood his face when he makes eye contact with my better half. Dad, his hero, stepping in to save his day. And confidence begins slowly building back towards the starting line once again.

Oh, Father…that’s me, isn’t it. I start climbing with confidence in the path You lay before me when suddenly I panic. Distractions  make me look wayward. Doubt slips in. Fear soon follows and blinds the goal from my sight–You.

It seems bravery is only met while glancing forward. And in that focus you blind out that which doubt tries to pass off as common sense.

Jesus, help me to stay focused. Keep my gaze on gridlock. I don’t need to see the way. I don’t need to know how I’ll get there. I just want to trust You will catch me if I fall. For when I meet the gaze of my Father, nothing can stop me. Fear cannot penetrate me. Bravery becomes my middle name.

STOP.

Would you like to see what other hearts bled while receiving the BRAVE prompt?
Would you like to join in? Simply click on the button below!

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

28 thoughts on “Brave ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Praying with you here… as I see myself the same… I love… “I don’t need to see the way.” … because I really do think I need to see the way 🙂

    but that is not the way of trust, is it? He is the WAY… He is all I need to see…

    Blessings to you…

    • Yes, that’s what I’m learning, too. And I’m trying to convince myself…I don’t need to see the way. I simply need to see Him. He is the way. You’ve got it…
      Thanks for joining me today in prayer, Michele! You bless me so…

  2. You, my dear, are finding freedom in the sharing, and we are finding encouragement in the reading.

    “I don’t need to see the way. I don’t need to know how I’ll get there. I just want to trust You will catch me if I fall.” I might just put this on the wall somewhere!

    Love you, friend! 🙂

  3. I think I do need to see the way, know how I will get there but I do want to just trust that He will catch me if I fall or fail because I don’t always have the map that answers the doubt of where I am going. Lovely words today Nikki. Hope you have a great weekend.

    • Oh, I’m with you, Shelly. Seeing the way is so much easier…and sometimes I feel not too much to ask. But the trusting…that He knows the way. That’s what I’m striving for. so hard.
      Thank you so much for your encouragement, friend! You bless me so (and yes–I felt that bear hug all the way over here–hope you felt me squeeze back!) 🙂

    • It’s amazing what we can do when our gaze is fixed on Him, isn’t it Krissie. I seem to even muster up some bravery… 😉
      So blessed by you. Thank you for sharing with me today! May you delight in Him this weekend!

  4. What a beautiful illustration. There’s just something about having dad step in ~ and then everything’s okay. I know it’s like that with my kids. As soon as they’re dad is home from work, it’s as if the whole house turns into another level of calm.

    I love how you connected this truth to our Heavenly Father. {HUGS}

    • Oh I’m so thrilled you got where I was trying to go with this 5 minute prompt! I ran out of time to really drive the correlation home. It’s the same at our house, too. When dad gets home, there’s a new level of peace. striving to feel that in my spiritual relationship as He never has to leave my side! Hugs to you — enjoy your weekend!

  5. grrrrrrrr – I know – not a good way to start a comment – but I’ve tried to post twice – and your blog tells me that my e-mail address is connected to a WordPress.com account – but it isn’t – the first comment was awesome – the second one was really good to – this third one is pretty bad – sorry – I’m going to change the e-mail address and try again – but I’m going to copy this comment so in case I had to come back for the fourth time I’ll be prepared. 🙂

  6. yay – happy that last one went through – don’t ever e-mail me at that address – it’s there but I never read anything from it – and I’m sorry for having a little hissy about the comment leaving 🙂 God bless!

I can't wait to hear from you...

