My Whole Life Long

I wake just before the sun bursts forth for another day of splendor. My eyes open wide when I remember what I intended to do this morning. And I ease out of bed on my tiptoes. I just want to read it once more to ensure I haven’t forgotten.

I’m asking God for one thing,
only one thing:
To live with Him in His house
my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate His beauty;
I’ll study at His feet.
Psalm 27:4 (MSG)

My heart stirs once again with reading David’s example of true worship. Oh, do I ever want to praise my Father like that. To be so in tune to Him that I can scale down my intentions to one thing, only one thing.

I must have read it dozens of times, trying to fully grasp what David was after. This man who had it all, and all He wanted was to soak in more of Jehovah. To study every detail. To never be apart from Him. His whole life long.

David’s son asked for wisdom. Another fine thing to scale down to when offered one request. But my heart leans towards David’s. I’m not one that needs to know all the details. Just as long as I know the One leading the way. And if I’m spending my days studying at His feet, I’d be certain to pick up a thing or two, anyway.

Yes, I’m with David. This is what I want, too.

And I know he was wanting to live in the actual temple. The one that, at the time, still needed to be built. For this was the literal House of God then. The only place he knew.

But friends, the curtain has been torn.
The veil has been lifted.
And My Bridegroom has come.
This one request David asked for is now entirely possible!

Me, a homemaker from Midwest USA, can commune with the King of Kings every hour of every day. I don’t ever have to be apart from Him. I can meditate on His glory. I can memorize His words. I can relish in His splendor. I can bask in His awesome creation. I can reminisce on the gifts He’s given me my whole life long and would never reach an end.

“O LORD my God, you have performed many wonders for us.
      Your plans for us are too numerous to list.
      You have no equal.
   If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds,
      I would never come to the end of them.
Psalm 40:5 NLT

I cannot think of a better time than the present to grasp that which David could only then dream of. He was on to something. And I want in on it, too. So as the sun peeks up from the horizon, I pray:

Father, what a joy it is to be able to spend another day with You and all You’ve blessed me with. I don’t ever want to take Your gifts for granted. Lord, You have given me all I need. You have taken care of every detail of my life. A life I will only enjoy if I can spend it with You. Please, don’t ever leave my side. I want to get to know You better. I want to hear You. I want to sense Your presence. I want to enjoy You. And I want to praise Your name. My whole life long. How ’bout it, Father. You and me. We’ll show this day what we’re capable of…and tomorrow, we’ll begin again.

How about you? Will you seize the opportunity of spending the day with Him? How? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

8 thoughts on “My Whole Life Long

  1. Ahh friend….you’ve got it! Isn’t it amazing that you in the midwest and me in jersey and friends on the coast and in different countries….all scattered throughout this world can simply BE in His presence every hour of every day?!

    • It IS amazing, Aurie! What a blessing I can have the same experience with Him as you can. we are spoiled rotten!!
      praying you’re finding your groove with the added blessing in your home. knowing you, you’re all on top of it 😉
      hugs to you!

  2. What a true gift He has given us…relationship with Him 24/7…all of us…loved the joy I could read in your spirit and words 🙂 Hugs my friend 🙂

    • I am a bit excited about it! It’s not a new realization for me, but certainly worth acknowledging. What a gift He gives us every day! Thanks for stopping by, friend ~ love and hugs to you as well!

  3. This was absolutely beautiful and yes, a day spent with the Lord is a day well spent… I hear the Lord saying to you, “well done good and faithful daughter”. I love to spend time praising the Lord but I admit I need to turn it up several notches and spend more time with him. Have a wonderful day.

    • Oh, you always know how to give me a cyber hug, don’t you Ms. Kathleen. Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing with me. Let’s both strive to turn it up a few notches and soak Him in tomorrow!

I can't wait to hear from you...

