Lead me to the Cross ~ Music Mondays

WARNING: It’s going to get real here this week. Prayers are very much appreciated!

(I’m saying that now so I can hold myself accountable.)

You all know now I have been on a unique, personal, Lenten journey as of late. That I have asked God to show me how to become less so He can fill more of me.

Friends, He has done just that. He’s showed me. In overwhelming proportions.

And I’m going to share it with you. A bit at a time. Starting this week. ::gulp::

The song I’m sharing with you today has helped me keep my focus while I’ve wrestled with what God has revealed to me these last few weeks. It’s reminded me why I began this journey in the first place:

“Lead me to the Cross”

For that’s where I’m headed.
Do you know it?

Savior I come
Quiet my soul remember
Redemption’s hill
Where Your blood was spilled
For my ransom
Everything I once held dear
I count it all as lost

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You
Lead me, lead me to the cross

You were as I
Tempted and tried
You were human
The word became flesh
Bore my sin and death
Now you’re risen

Lead me to your heart
  Lord, lead me.

Love this song. There are a couple of variations available.

One by Hillsong.

Another by Chris and Conrad.

I prefer the Chris and Conrad version. That’s the one that runs through my head, but really. You can’t go wrong with the slower, heartfelt version Hillsong does. Feel free to pick which one you’d like to listen to and click on it above.

And will you join me this week as I share more of my journey to the cross with you?

How about you? What has God been showing you as of late? How is your journey to the cross? How are you becoming less so He can become more? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

8 thoughts on “Lead me to the Cross ~ Music Mondays

  1. My journey to the cross this Lenten Season? Laying down my desires, dreams and plans completely, once and for all, permanently in exchange for the scary unknown plans He has for me. Definitely sounds like a painful yet beautiful Lenten season all around so far.

    • I’m with you, Amy — and know it will be worth it.
      Striving to become less so He can fill more. that’s what it’s going to take.
      Glad to be on the journey with you, friend!

    • Thank you sweet friend. thank you for inspiring me! I have to confess to you, I wrote my first post last night about, you know. getting exposed and I don’t like it. I don’t think it hurt enough if that made sense. I need to look at it again when I can tonight and make sure I truly did shed layers. what can I say–I’m a work in progress! 😉

I can't wait to hear from you...

