Timeless Praise

Let the whole earth sing to the Lord!
Each day proclaim the good news that He saves.
Publish His glorious deeds among the nations.

Tell everyone about the amazing things He does.
Great is the Lord! He is most worthy of praise!
He is to be feared above all gods.
The gods of others are mere idols,
but the Lord made the heavens!
Honor and majesty surround Him;
strength and joy fill His dwelling…
Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good.
His faithful love endures forever.

1 Chronicles 16:23-27, 34 NLT

David sure knew how to worship. He sure knew how to praise.

After reading through his legacy, knowing full well he wasn’t perfect, I wonder if that’s why God loved Him so. David always gave credit where credit was due. If his army won a battle, he would make sure everyone knew it was the Lord that won, not himself. Even when he didn’t get his way, David still worshiped.

And I can’t help but notice every time we get to read how David praised Jehovah, his words are applicable today. These words were penned thousands of years ago and can still be proclaimed in the 21st century.

It seems any tribute of praise towards God is timeless.

For God’s faithfulness has stood the test of time.

His love truly does endure forever.

And The Great I Am hasn’t changed one bit.

That in and of itself is something worth praising. That’s worth proclaiming.

I kinda like David’s way with words. I’m sure David wouldn’t mind if I praise Jehovah myself while quoting him. In fact, I often do.

But I really like the idea of writing down my own words of worship. Somehow. For if any words will stand the test of time, it will be those of praise to the Most High.

How about you? Do you write your worship? Do you pen praise? If so, how? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linked up to:


18 thoughts on “Timeless Praise

  1. Yes! I pen praise! I love the relevance of the psalms – how alike all humankind is and our common need for a savior and the God who created us to worship –just love them! I also really love the commission in the verse at the top of your post — to publish the writings that point to the goodness & glory of God! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m so glad you feel the same, Alyssa! thank you for sharing. I, too, loved reading the commission in that verse — one I’d never pondered before until reading it the other day. Striving to pen my praise for His glory!

  2. I so look forward to your beautiful posts and photographs every day! They put everything into perspective. I just love David’s words in the psalms. He was a sinner and failed, yet God continued to love and forgive him. Just.like.us. An amazing thought to ponder in and of itself! I try to put words on praise on my blog or in my personal writings. I hope you have a blessed Sunday, friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • What an encouragement you are to me, Lisa. Thank you! Your blog is a wonderful outlet to pen praise and I love that you also take the time for personal writings. I had a wonderful Sunday and trust you did as well — looking forward to chatting again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. David is such a great example of one who turned to God no matter what was going on…praise and worship, fear, depression, the need for help, etc. God wanted to hear from David, and He wants to hear from us. Praise God!

    • Thank you, Laura. So true–God longs to hear from us, just like He longed for David. What a perfect, imperfect example David was for us. So blessed by reading about him lately.. . .Praise God indeed!

  4. I love to journal my words of praise…be it my own thoughts, scripture I have studied or a song of praise. The written words in my journal help me in down times.

    • Oh, I love that you do that! Thank you so much for sharing. What a wonderful exercise in always focusing on His glory… and you’re right–they end up helping us when we need them, too. Yes, I’m going to strive to do this more. Thank you!

    • I love the Psalms as well, Audra. They’re brilliant. My journal entries or blog posts might not be as poetic, but I trust they show my heart open wide like the Psalms do.
      Thanks for stopping by and for sharing with me!

  5. I write poetry and prose. I have my bc stuff and my ad stuff — It’s interesting comparing the two but overall it really tells a story. Loved this post. Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

I can't wait to hear from you...

