No Excuses

Excuses aren’t working for me. When I see my thanks journal and notice it hasn’t been written in today, I have no valid excuse.

Time. That’s always the one I cling to. That fleeting four-letter word. But who cannot find time to say thank you? Am I not teaching my son the importance of this gesture? Was I a hypocrite today? For if anyone deserves my thanks every day, it’s my Redeemer. If there’s one thing I should be teaching my boy, it’s to bend low and appreciate the Great I Am.

And yet my lines are empty this day. Intentions failed to prevail.

Ah, but grace. Grace will always rise to my rescue.

As far as I’m concerned, the night is young. I have plenty of time to pen my thanks to Him for all He blessed me with this day.

And so I write:

  • A new blanket of snow. Covering the slushy mess. Perfect snowman weather.
  • My son’s fever broken. Color restored.
  • Emails of encouragement. Just when I need them.
  • Extra snuggles at bedtime.
  • Meeting my February healthy-living goals.
  • Making it through I & II Kings as well as I Chronicles in my reading the Bible in 90 days. They were tough, but I saw God’s mercy.
  • Layers revealed on my Lenten journey.
  • New gloves for washing dishes.
  • God is the only one who will rescue us. Reason to worship II Kings 17:39
  • God knows us well. II Kings 19:27
  • He hears our prayers II Kings 20:2-6
  • God is good.
  • I am always loved.

And my joy tank is renewed. Oh yes, this is something I need to teach my son.

From now on, I intend to have no more excuses. For who doesn’t have time to say “Thank You, Father. I see what You did there.”

Intentions will prevail.

How about you? What are you thankful for today? How have you seen Him in your life lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking up to Theresa’s lovely:

And Ann at:

18 thoughts on “No Excuses

  1. Beautiful list, my friend! God is so good. He keeps giving us chances to get it right! 🙂 I am so grateful to Him for the precious gifts of my children and of my husband. And that He continues to forgive me over and over again, no matter how many times I may fall. Many blessings, Lisa

  2. First of all, thank you for linking up. I look forward to your beautiful posts each week.

    So glad your son is feeling better. There is nothing like how peaceful the earth is after a snowfall. it’s always amazing to me when I get a call or an email exactly when I need it – I always offer up a thank you to God knowing he was behind giving me what I needed at the time.

    • Thank you for stopping by, Theresa! isn’t it amazing — how we see things differently when we position our hearts for giving thanks? I’m loving it. Trust you enjoyed your weekend!

  3. Giving thanks…it does open our hearts to see all God’s goodness…that yes we are loved …great list…blessings as you continue to count…

  4. Sometimes I write them down that down; sometimes I store them in my mind – but as they are happening and the blessings run,like a squirrel or just lay overhead in the sky – I thank God right there – and recall it later. It is retraining ourselves to interact in immediate life. So glad your son is feeling better – and those bedtime snuggles – well, there is never too many of them! Wishing you sweet blessings this week!

    • Yes, you’re exactly right. It is a retraining ourselves. and I find most days I succeed at taking the time to see and Praising Him right there. The discipline of writing it down is helping me make that a habit and for that I am so grateful!
      Love your encouragement as always–thank you so much for stopping by and blessing me! Hugs to you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

