Give Me Jesus ~ Music Mondays

Finding music I wanted to share during Lent was harder than I thought it would be. It became a bit overwhelming.

So many songs aid in my journey.
My Lenten journey.
My road to the cross.

But if you were to ask me to encapsulate that journey into one song, I’d pick this one. A cherished hymn contemporized by one of my favorite artists. A simple tune with minimal lyrics sharing a powerful message on priorities.

This song has been stuck in my head and I’m in no hurry to make it go away:

Give Me Jesus” by Jeremy Camp

In the morning when I rise,
In the morning when I rise,
In the morning when I rise,
Give me Jesus.

Give me Jesus
Give me Jesus
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

When I am alone,
When I am alone,
Oh, when I am alone,
Give me Jesus.

Jesus!
Give me Jesus.

And when I come to die,
When I come to die,
Oh, when I come to die,
Give me Jesus!

You can have all this world
Just give me Jesus.

Friends, it’s true. I just need Jesus. How about you?

If you do not know this song, please listen in.
If you’re reading in a reader/email format, please click through so you can press play on the image below. 

 

How about you? What song is on your heart right now? I’d love to hear. 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking up to:

17 thoughts on “Give Me Jesus ~ Music Mondays

  1. What a lovely song – it’s new to me!

    I have been singing “My God, you are my God” over and over again. It’s a great song to have on a loop in my head 🙂

    Happy Monday!

  2. “Great is the Faithfulness” especially the line-

    strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow.

    I am continually learning that is by His strength that I make it through each day.

  3. oh i LOVE this song so much. and i totally agree…its so simple, yet contains so much! another one that does this for me is “meet with me”. it has so few words yet says so much.

    a song that’s been on my heart this past week is “i am new” by jason gray. perhaps it has been on my heart in preparation for my baptism yesterday…it certainly speaks well to my journey with Christ these past several years. it was an amazing day! (i’ll tell you more about it soon) we sang that song right before it was my turn to be baptized and it was on my lips as i rose from the waters. a good day. a GOOD day. 🙂

    • Oh, yes, “Meet with Me” and “I am New” — both are brilliant songs! what a perfect baptism song, too. So proud of you, Ginger! Cannot wait to hear more about it!
      Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I love this song, Nikki. Such simple lyrics, yet so powerful!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! So many times I just want Jesus… to forget all the cares of this world. Kind of like Building 429’s Where I Belong. All I know is I’m not home yet, this is not where I belong. TAKE THIS WORLD AND GIVE ME JESUS! This is not where I belong.

  5. Pingback: Friends in the Fire {Holey, Wholly, Holy} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

