From Grit to Glory ~ Five Minute Friday

It’s time for Five Minute Friday! No editing, no backtracking, just letting the fingers fly while contemplating the word:

GRIT.

Ready?

GO:

His eyes light up like fireworks the instant I pull back the curtains. Light floods the room as my preschooler springs out of bed, joy bubbling up with each gasp.

“Mom! It snowed! Can we go outside now? We have to build a snowman!”

I laugh as I catch his contagion. And say a silent praise to my Creator for making joy so spreadable.

We didn’t even get two inches, friends. Not the best snowman making depths, but we don’t let that stop us. We rolled the best snow balls…brown grass and all!

Thank you, Lord. For giving me this moment to cherish.

I think I’ll call the snowman ‘Grit’.

Because in the midst of all the grit of this dirty snowman,
glory can be found.

What my neighbors will see as a measly attempt at creating something magnificent, I see just that.

My son sees it, too. And he couldn’t contain it. The first person to walk through our front door was bombarded with it.

“Did you see my snowman? Isn’t he great?!? Want to go see him again?”

Yes, honey, what a glorious snowman. Grit and all. I see it.

And Lord, I hear you. May I keep striving to find the glory amongst the grit. For beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And You, the Magnificent Creator have never held back.

Thank you, Lord, for giving me this moment to cherish.

STOP.

How about you? Have you found glory amongst the grit lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

42 thoughts on “From Grit to Glory ~ Five Minute Friday

    • Thanks for stopping by, Shanda! I did take a photo and will cherish it always 😉 My husband and I agreed not to post photos of our children on this blog for now and I couldn’t figure out how to crop the image to simply show the snowman! Oh, if only I had thought to take a pic of just the snowman before it melted into the earth… lesson learned!

  1. Finding the glory through the grit…that’s kind of my life’s motto anymore. With each new trial that arises, my mind usually averts back to the thought “Okay God, how are you going to use this for my benefit and the benefit of those around me.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Love the picture you painted of your son’s joy and how you entered into it even though there wasn’t that much snow…what a great truth: there is always glory to be found in the grit if one has the eyes…wonderful write, Nikki…hugs to you and a blessed weekend 🙂

  3. “Because in the midst of all the grit of this dirty snowman,
    glory can be found.
    LOVE this! We just got 5+ inches of snow and this is a good reminder as the kids go outside.

  4. “May I keep striving to find the glory amongst the grit.” This is my prayer too.

    And I love the story of the snowman. Where I live, we don’t ever get snow. What a treat that would be! I’m afraid all we could build would be a gritman. 🙂

    Great post!

I can't wait to hear from you...

