Lent it Begin

I didn’t grow up in a church that observed Lent in a traditional sense. But I made sure I knew about it. A large majority of my friends in school went to churches that practiced it. So I did what any friend would do to encourage another. I always made sure to give up something for Lent to encourage them to commit to their sacrifice.

One year I gave up my prized Debbie Snack after every lunch. Oh yes I did. I would still purchase it for 25 cents in theΒ Γ  la carte line and then would give it to someone I normally didn’t socialize with. I loved it. Turns out, it wasn’t much of a sacrifice after all.

Other years were even more bizarre. I didn’t wear jewelery one year. Seriously? I was maybe 12. But not wearing jelly bracelets or my charms seemed to be a big deal at the time.

Over the years as my faith has grown, I’ve begun to see more of the significance of Lent. Of its way of preparing your heart through prayer, penance, repentance, almsgiving, and self-denial in attempts of grasping what Christ did for us on that cross.Β  (I hope I didn’t miss one–let me know if I did!) Let me tell you, I cannot think of one single thing I don’t like about the idea.

I’ve been considering how I would observe Lent this year. Personally, as a family, and through Simplystriving. And I had decided reading the Bible in 90 days is enough for me. It’s taking quite a bit of time. I’m sharing with my family what I’m learning and am even blogging about it on occasion.

All day yesterday, though, I had that churning that only happens when I’m not right. When I’ve missed something.

After a healthy heart-to-heart with my Savior, I have decided. Oh, I’ll just be honest. I haven’t decided–God has shown me. I’ll be spending some time focusing on the self-denial portion of Lent this year. My method will probably be most unconventional. But one thing is certain: It will hurt.

Would you mind if I share some of it with you? I’m forcing myself to ask because I know I’m not going to want to. No one likes to air their dirty laundry over the world-wide web! I’m declaring this as step one of my self-denial.

Isn’t God amazing? He knows just what I need to get one step closer to Him. And I’m striving…Lent it begin.

How about you? Do you practice Lent? If so, how? If not, will you consider how to prepare your heart for the Holiday of Remembrance ahead? For you deserve to grasp a bit more of what Christ has done for you. I’d love it if you’d share.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

19 thoughts on “Lent it Begin

  1. Love these words, friend. You are so right that God constantly shows us where we need to be to grow the most. And praise Him for that, because I certainly don’t know at all! Enjoyed this a lot.

  2. Please do share. We can keep each other accountable to the commitments. πŸ™‚

    I have just started practicing lent. My church growing up never really focused much on it. When we (my hubs and I) switched churches, last year was the first year we really got what it was. Last year, we quit going out to eat at our expense in efforts to save money. This year, I am doing a 40 day hiatus off of Facebook

    • I must admit, I’m a tad overwhelmed with all that God is showing me, Barbie! Still trying to process it all. I might have to just imagine I’m sharing it with you and not the world-wide web πŸ™‚

  3. What a beautiful post! I would be honored if you would share your Lenten journey with us. We are all here to love and support each other. πŸ™‚

    We practice Lent in our home. I posted today about a special activity I am doing with my children. It is called a “Kind Word Cross.” Come over and see the photos. πŸ™‚ I put a large cross on our basement door with the word “Repent” above it. Every time they say a kind word, they will place a Easter Lily on the cross. It is my hope, that by Easter, the cross will be filled with beautiful flowers and remind us of Christ’s victorious Resurrection. I will change the word to “Rejoice” on Easter as a surprise for them. πŸ™‚ We also are doing special actvities, readings, Scripture meditations, etc. Oh, and we are also doing a “Sacrifice Jar.” Whenever the children make a sacrifice or do a kind deed for someone, they are to put a bean in the jar. Again, I hope that the jar will be filled by Easter Sunday, and just perhaps, lol, the beans may turn into jelly beans or something else special for them. I hope to blog all about our Lenten journey, as I did with our Advent one.

    Many blessings, friend! Lisa

  4. Coming from the Philippines, we observed Lent for as long as I can remember.

    But this year will be pretty special for me. I am doing something that I have never done….something that I really want to do from the heart.

    Blessings!

    • What a wonderful tradition, Charina. So deep you don’t remember a time without it.
      And how fun to add to that tradition by experiencing something new this year with it! What a blessing! Trust it will draw you even closer to Him.
      Thank you for sharing with me!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

    • Well, you know I’ll share it with you, friend! Honestly, I’m a tad overwhelmed with all God is showing me. Still trying to process it. Pray I’ll be brave enough to hit publish now and again! πŸ™‚

  5. I grew up observing Lent by eating fish on Fridays and going to church on Wednesdays. I had friends who gave up things for Lent, but it wasn’t something that we practiced. My husband routinely gives up something for Lent, although I’m not sure what he chose this year.

    This year I’m choosing to observe Lent by doing something for others each day.

    • Thank you for sharing with me, Aurie! I’m amazed you’ll be able to do more for others than you already do! You bless me every day πŸ˜‰ Trusting Lent will draw you closer to Him this season!
      All for Him…

  6. Like you, I didn’t grow up practicing or even hearing about Lent. About two years ago, I was inspired by a friend, who gave up chocolate. So tonight, I didn’t have my usual small piece of chocolate after dinner, and I hope to pray for someone and/or give thanks for Christ’s much much bigger sacrifice every time I am tempted to eat chocolate. Praying also about what else God wants me to do …blessings to you, my friend πŸ™‚

    Look forward to reading more about your journey πŸ™‚

  7. Yes, yes, yes you must share your journey and what you are learning. I’ve never practiced Lent, but girl I could definitely use some time to grasp more of what God is trying to speak to me and to grasp more of His holiness! Blessings.

  8. Pingback: Faithful Fasting {How to Become Less So He Can Fill More} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

