More Than Enough

I don’t think she knew what she was in for. When she entered my life as my newest friend. One who lives states away. I may never have an opportunity to meet her in person, but I’ve decided to not let that stop me. I will strive to ensure she knows the real me.

This was my first time trusting someone with knowing. Knowing my greatest fear. The one that holds me back the most. I had never told anyone before and found myself confessing to her so freely. This new friend of mine.

I clicked send before I could take back the words I spilled. The ones that have never seen the light of day –only the depths of my soul.

I fear I’m not enough.

I worry I’m not enough for my family. My friends. My King. What if I can’t meet their expectations? What if I fail miserably and let them down? What if I bruise their heart with my faults?

What if God asks me to do something and I completely blow it?

I’m confident in saying He has never ever let me down. But I’m quite sure that’s not true of me.

Then I read this:

What does the Lord your God require of you?
He requires only that you fear the Lord your God,
and live in a way that pleases Him,
and love Him and serve Him with all your heart and soul.”
Deuteronomy 10:12 NLT

And I realize. He has my fear covered.

God doesn’t require I be enough. He is. And He sees my heart. My intents. My passions.

I may fail miserably at trivial things sometimes. Mistakes may often be my middle name. But I can show my reverence for God through worship. I can live the way He asks me to live. And I’m striving to love and serve Him with all of my heart and soul.

Yes, this I can do. I can be enough. For I’ve got the only things God requires of me covered.

To Him, I’m more than enough.

How about you? What are your fears? What holds you back the most? I’d be honored if you’d share.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

15 thoughts on “More Than Enough

  1. Good morning girl! I’m so glad that you hit send πŸ™‚

    It’s awesome to find friends {even states away} and be able to share your inner most feelings; your fears and desires. He created us to be relational people – to need companionship! How He must smile when our circle widens to include another soul.

    Happy Tuesday!

    • It sure is awesome, Aurie! (and I hope you don’t mind if I consider you one of my friends states away) πŸ™‚
      I think you’re right. I think He smiles wide when we reach out to those He loves….
      Enjoy your day of adventure, friend!!

  2. Oh, Nikki, how wonderful for God to reveal to you how He is enough for you and that you don’t need to be…such freedom and beauty in your post. What a gift to find a friend – even states away πŸ™‚ Blessings to you today πŸ™‚

    • Dolly, let me tell you, you are one of those gifts He has given me! I hope you don’t mind me considering you a friend – even states away πŸ™‚
      which means you better watch out–you could be receiving one of my confessing emails like sweet Katie πŸ™‚
      Enjoy your day — Hugs to you!

    • Oh, yes. I believe our fears are related. . .
      Some days I simply accept I am insignificant–but when I allow Him to work through me…that insignificant transforms into magnificent. what grace!
      thanks for stopping by and sharing with me, friend!

  3. Hi Nikki,
    I’m not sure if this is a fear. Maybe it’s more of an insecurity. When I share something about myself, for instance with people I work with, I am insecure afterwards that I shouldn’t have shared it. I caught myself doing it again recently and stopped myself. Why do I let myself wonder & worry what they thought? I’m going to work on this. πŸ™‚

    In Christ,
    Laura

  4. I am so blessed by your confession, dear friend! We are all growing together, and what a gift it is that God gives us friends to walk along the way. I have a post coming this week that I think will speak to your heart. We are only enough because HE is enough! ❀

    • It occurred to me late at night that I should have given you a heads up I’d be talking about this today! sorry!
      What a blessing you are to me, friend — and you know I’ll be reading. Look forward to it! love and hugs to you!

  5. Oh friend! I sent one of those e-mails the other day. I have several of those friends that I have come to know in the past months, no more than a year, that I feel so close to, even though I haven’t–and might never–met in person.
    Looking forward to learning more of your heart!

    • What a blessing, Amy! I’m so glad you have someone to send those kind of emails to as well πŸ˜‰
      I’m looking forward to getting to know your heart as well. Hugs to you!

  6. Ahhhhhhh……!!!! I just started reading Holly Garth’s new book today, “You Are Already Amazing”. Let me just say I am working on my own, “Am I Enough” post this very minute. I am so thankful God brings you friends, far and wide, that you feel you can open up to and share. You are enough! You are, because He is in you and He gave you the ability!!! Love you my friend!

  7. Pingback: Am I Good Enough?

I can't wait to hear from you...

