Close to Thee ~ Music Mondays

Click for Photo Credit

She knew pain. She had suffered. She makes my life look like a fairy tale.
And she makes me wonder. Could I gladly offer my Savior what she proposes?
I want to say yes. I’d like to think I can. But I wonder…

~~~~~~~~~~

I call her Fanny. Fanny Crosby. You might call her something else for she had over 200 pseudonyms. It seems when you have written more than 8,000 hymns, it becomes beneficial to not appear like you’ve written the entire hymnal. And her hymns deserved to be published. She didn’t feel the need to be recognized.

Once you learn her writing style, though, you’ll know it was her that wrote it. She’s one of the only hymnists who wrote solely on the intimate relationship with Christ, giving glory to God, and not on our fault-filled lives.

Her eyes were always focused on Him and not in the mirror.
You’ll know this by her hymns.

Maybe that’s why she was destined to be blind. I like to think so anyway and often feel she did, too. She is known for saying “If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been dis­tract­ed by the beau­ti­ful and in­ter­est­ing things about me.” And my very favorite “when I get to heaven, the first face that shall ever gladden my sight will be that of my Savior”.

~~~~~~~~~~

Out of all the hymns I know she has written, this one challenges me the most. Maybe it’s because I know she wrote it soon after losing her only child. One she was blessed to hold only a dozen times or so.

And I wonder. Could I have penned these words to my Savior so soon after losing my son? I know my heart agreed with the other hymn she wrote “Safe in the Arms of Jesus,” but this hymn?

I think I’m still striving. And I wanted to share it with you.

“Close to Thee” by Fanny Crosby

Thou my everlasting portion, more than friend or life to me,
All along my pilgrim journey, Savior, let me walk with Thee.
Close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee,
All along my pilgrim journey, Savior, let me walk with Thee.

Not for ease or worldly pleasure, nor for fame my prayer shall be;
Gladly will I toil and suffer, only let me walk with Thee.
Close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee,
Gladly will I toil and suffer, only let me walk with Thee.

Lead me through the vale of shadows, bear me over life’s fitful sea;
Then the gate of life eternal may I enter, Lord, with Thee.
Close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee, close to Thee,
Then the gate of life eternal may I enter, Lord, with Thee.

~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, I want to be close to my Savior. I want to cling to Him above all else.

But will I toil and suffer gladly? Will knowing He’s right by my side be enough?

I’m striving. For that’s the kind of relationship I want. One where I’m so happy to be His, I’m so thrilled to be on this journey with Him that my circumstances don’t matter. I’ll do it all gladly. Just to be with Him.

May I learn from Fanny. May my eyes always be on my Savior and not on the mirror…

How about you? How close do you want to be? How do you handle suffering? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: To read more about the life of Fanny Crosby, you may click HERE.
To discover her known pseudonyms, and see a list of her most popular hymns, you may click HERE.

Am linking up with Paula at:

6 thoughts on “Close to Thee ~ Music Mondays

  1. “May my eyes always be on my Savior and not on the mirror…” I might need to paint this on my forehead so I can remember it every time I look in that mirror!!!

    I learn so much from your Monday posts, Nikki. We have so much to learn from these great people of faith.

    Keep striving, dear one! He is making all things new! Love you friend!

  2. Oh, Nikki, I can imagine how this song must have touched you given that you lost a child…sending you a big hug…what faith Fanny and you have shown…it seems like her blindness caused her to have an even closer walk with God…she is inspiring, as are you as you seek Him 🙂 For me, suffering causes me to cling to God even more because I know I can’t make it on my own strength. It is a process, for me, of learning to trust Him more…at least this side of heaven.

    • Dolly, what would I do without you 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement. Yes, Fanny’s faith inspires me. What vision she had for the most important world–that which is unseen!
      It certainly is a process, this learning to trust. So glad you have learned that clinging to God makes it more bearable. Hugs to you, friend!

  3. I’ve often asked myself, if suffering, true suffering were to ever hit, would He be enough. Oh I pray Yes, You are enough Lord! That you for sharing this beautiful hymn today. Fanny may have been blind, but she truly had spiritual eyes to see the true beauty of her Heavenly Father.

    • Oh, our prayers are in line, Barbie. I pray I allow Him to be enough. . .
      Fanny’s vision for that which is unseen inspires me greatly. I have so much to learn from her…
      Thank you for stopping by, friend!

I can't wait to hear from you...

