But a Breath

For what great nation has a god as near to them
as the Lord our God is near to us
whenever we call on Him?
Deuteronomy 4:7 NLT

I can travel to the other side of the world or to my neighbors twelve blocks away. I can search wide and discover what they worship. Why they regard someone/something above all else.

I can listen to their methods of reason. Their stories of proof. I can learn to understand why they believe what they do.

And I have. As much as I feel I need to, anyway.

But no matter how far I look, no matter which questions I ask, no matter what rewards I see; I cannot find anything that comes close.

As close as my God comes to me.

He’s but a breath away.

I don’t need to go anywhere to seek Him. I don’t need to wait my turn to make my voice heard. I simply need to call upon His name.

And however, whichever, whatever way I call upon Him, He’ll be there. Hearing me. Listening to me. Loving me relentlessly.

For He’s but a breath away. 

The relationship I have with Him is up to me. And if I need more of Him, if I ask Him to shower me with grace, that’s exactly what I’ll receive.

So if anyone comes to me and asks the very questions I’ve asked about what they believe, I will tell them:

There’s no one like my God.
No matter where you’re at, He’ll meet you there upon request.
Death can not contain Him.
Not one came before Him.
Love encapsulates Him.

Yes, there’s no one like my God.
For He’s but a breath away.  
Always.

May I not take Him for granted. May I hold Him in the highest regard. May praise be continually on my lips. May His glory shine upon my face.

And may I call upon Him relentlessly.
For He’s but a breath away.  

How about you? Have you called Him today?  What do you think makes our God unique? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up to WordFilledWednesdays over at Internet Cafe Devotions

For more Biblically inspired posts, visit:

On Sundays!

26 thoughts on “But a Breath

  1. So grateful that He is only a breath away…wonderful post, Nikki 🙂 God is unique because He gives us what we don’t deserve and can’t ever earn – His forgiveness and love plus Jesus died and rose from the dead. Happy Saturday, my friend 🙂

  2. How awesome is our God that we never have to wait in line, never have to make an appointment, or hope He has time for us. All we have to do is turn to Him, talk to Him, share everything with Him!

    In Christ,
    Laura

  3. Beautiful, Nikki! I just read a post today in which someone wrote, “I may not be perfect, but Jesus thought I was worth dying for.” Our God is truly an awesome God! Have a blessed Sunday, friend!

  4. Simply Beautiful, Nikki! “Death can not contain Him.
    Not one came before Him. Love encapsulates Him.Yes, there’s no one like my God.” – oh, yes! It made me think, “My lover (God) is mine and I am His (Song of Solomon) – not in a slave way, a possession way – but in a love way that encompasses all kinds of love:)

I can't wait to hear from you...

