Love’s Presence

I can still hear him. In the black of night when the earth feels still, I hear his rich voice welcoming me. He would greet me with that special name he had just for me. And every time, it made me feel like I was his whole world. Yes, my Grandpa Al knew how to love well. He wasn’t afraid of it. He chose to proclaim it. 

Some days when the phone rings I’m taken back to that day. The day that made me change my ring tone. I remember my two-letter word of denial — the only word I could seem to push passed my lips. Yet reality strikes true no matter how you try to look around it. And sometimes your present day is something you never expected. Not yet anyway.

But I can close my eyes and invite memories to warm my soul. There I can see him with open arms ready to embrace. I can hear his contagious laughter and see his bright eyes beam with pride. And love comes rushing in to the hole he left deep inside.

For love knows no bounds.
Time can’t contain it. Death cannot penetrate it.
And even after years in-between,
love can still make its presence known.

~~~~~~~~~~

Love can creep up on you when you least expect it. It rushes in like a tidal wave the minute you see the positive test result. The second you hear a heartbeat. For love has no bounds. And sometimes you just know. That even after 22 weeks, you have loved so deep you’ll never be the same again. Its presence has been made known.

~~~~~~~~~~

I can’t recall when I learned love is a choice. That the emotions surrounding love are merely side effects to the experience. But the day you realize that is the day you begin to understand what God is asking of us. When He asks us to love with all that we have. For most of us know in this journey of love, pain can apply. Yet love holds no regrets. There is not one instance where love should have been avoided.

And we can accept the gift of mourning. We can allow the process of love to make its presence known. For in grieving we acknowledge that we are fully capable of submitting to love. And as we mourn what we think we lost, we come to realize that all we wanted was more. More time to experience love’s presence. That which cannot be lost at all.

For love has no bounds.
Even in grief it can thrive.
Our thoughts alone can keep love alive.

And when God asks me daily to love Him with all that I have, I choose to say yes.  For I have seen love in all its glory. Its presence has been made known to me. And I like what it makes me become when I submit to it whole-heartedly. 

It is God’s greatest gift.
It is God’s Greatest Commandment.
It is the greatest decision one can ever make.

Yes, Lord. I will love You. With all that I am.
I will make love’s presence known.

For God IS love.
God has no bounds.
Time can’t contain Him. Death cannot penetrate Him.

And I choose to enjoy making His presence known.

Do you? Have you chosen love? Will you join me in making God’s presence known even when it’s uncomfortable? Even when it downright hurts?

For love has no bounds. There’s no telling what we could do if we choose to abide in His greatest gift. I don’t know about you, but I’m going to keep striving to find out.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this post up with:

16 thoughts on “Love’s Presence

  1. “For God IS love.
    God has no bounds.
    Time can’t contain Him. Death cannot penetrate Him.”
    This is simply magnificent and so, so true. Your posts seem to reach deep inside of my heart and soul and speak with such truth and love. Just beautiful, Nikki. And, thank you for the memories you conjured up of both of my grandfathers! My dad’s dad had a special name just for me, too, and that memory brings happy tears to my eyes. Hope you have a great rest of your week! Many blessings, Lisa

    • Oh, that warms my heart to know you have such fond memories too! Thank you so much for your kind words, Lisa. you encourage me so!
      Many blessings to you as well!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  2. You captured so well here the power of love to capture and endure … Yes, choosing love and choosing to follow Him sometimes does hurt, but it also brings the joy of greater/richer relationship with Him…hugs to you, my friend 🙂

  3. Yes this: And when God asks me daily to love Him with all that I have, I choose to say yes. For I have seen love in all its glory. Its presence has been made known to me. And I like what it makes me become when I submit to it whole-heartedly.

    We make love into this intangible when a changed life is all the proof we need of its existence. i like what it makes me become to love in his love and not my own. thank you!

  4. Nikki – What a loving portrayal of love from the past and love from the future…because as you’ve so wisely reminded us that God is Love and He knows no boundaries…including time. Thanks for linking up with Painting Prose!

I can't wait to hear from you...

