My Offering

All whose hearts were stirred and whose spirits were moved
came and brought their sacred offerings to the Lord.
They brought all the materials needed for the Tabernacle,
for the performance of its rituals, and for the sacred garments.
Both men and women came, all whose hearts were willing.
They brought to the Lord their offerings...”
Exodus 35: 21-22 NLT

Friends, this was how the Tabernacle was built. Those who felt God’s calling gave their most prized possessions. Those who felt moved by the message from the Lord offered their time, talents, money, prized fabrics, heirlooms, their rainy day funds — whatever they had, they gave to God.

I imagine some gave little. I imagine some gave a lot. I imagine some gave everything they had.

If even one of those people would have held back, they wouldn’t have had enough to complete the enormous task at hand.

~~~~~~~~~~

When I read these verses this last week, I felt a pang of guilt.

Because I have thought:
What do I have to give?
I have nothing of worth to offer.
There are others far more capable.

~~~~~~~~~~

And I wonder…what’s stopping me? Why do I not follow my feeling of being moved? For God has touched me. He has stirred my heart numerous times. Isn’t that enough?

Because it’s not me — It’s Him.
I don’t have to be enough — He is.
I don’t have to do it all — He will.

I don’t have to know all the details. I simply have to be willing. Willing to be used by Him. Willing to have Him do great things through me. With whatever talents He’s blessed me with.

Yes. This I can do. I can be moved. I can be stirred. And I can react. I can offer all that I have. For Him.

Take it, Lord. Take all of it. Here You go.
I may not have much,
but You’ve done greater things with far less.

And I can’t wait to see You make something beautiful out of what I have to give.

How about you? What will you offer Him this week? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up to my friend Barbie for:

as well as:

18 thoughts on “My Offering

  1. This is so good my friend. I am privileged to be able to minister as a singer and intercessor in the House of Prayer. I am not the most gifted vocally. So many others stand out in the crowd. But I know that He’s after my heart, and that is what I give to him when I sing His Word back to Him. In prayer, I don’t always have the right words to say, but I strive to convey His heart and to connect! Thank you for this reminder that all we have to give to Him is everything we already have!

    • What a comfort to know we don’t have to have the words, Barbie…He knows our heart. So thrilled to hear you give Him your heart besides, friend! And yes–you have more than enough! What a blessing you are!

  2. I’m still on the journey of learning what I have to give, but the greatest part of this faith walk is in hearing His voice and responding obediently. So I give financially, but I also give through service and in ministering through my writing. God always finds some way to stretch me beyond my comfort zone. In those moments when I know He’s about to start stretching me, I tend to take a deep breath, close my eyes, and jump forward knowing it’s all for His glory.
    Wishing you a blessed Sunday! 🙂
    ~Rosann

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Rosann. Isn’t it amazing how far we really can stretch beyond our comfort zones when we let God work through us?!? What a blessing it has become to bring Him glory as I venture through the unknown. So encouraged to know you’re willing to jump! Trust you had a blessed Sunday as well!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  3. Perfectly perfect words…
    “I simply have to be willing. Willing to be used by Him. Willing to have Him do great things through me. With whatever talents He’s blessed me with.”
    Willing and Obedient….
    LOVE this, bless you for sharing it with us!

I can't wait to hear from you...

