Ashes to Beauty ~ Music Mondays

He first made us out of dust.
Out of what we consider nothing but a nuisance. He made us.

It seems we like to stay that way. It seems we like to be in the state of ashes — when we burn our bridges and harden our hearts through sin.

But there’s a place to trade in those ashes for beauty. And if He made something extraordinary out of dust once, He can do it again with me. With you. I’m convinced He’s up for the challenge.

Wasn’t it Martin Luther who said:
“God created the whole world out of nothing and as long as we are nothing, He can make something out of us.”

Not only can He make something
He can make us beautiful.
Radiant.
Captivating.

That journey begins at the foot of the cross. Where grace and suffering meet. Where we can kiss the feet of mercy and proclaim:

“You have won my heart. Yes, You’ve won my heart.”

There, at the cross, we pick up our crown of forgiveness and radiate grace.
We can lay down our ugly, ashen burdens and wipe the dust off.
We can clothe ourselves in His captivating love and shine beautifully.

Just as He made us to be.
Fearfully and Wonderfully.

And if you need that reminder, join me at the foot of the cross. I’ll be there, trading in my ashes for beauty.

My ashes of worry.
My ashes of impatience.
That feeling I sometimes get that I’m not good enough? I’m leaving it at the cross.

Yes, I’ll be there at the cross this week. And I’ll be singing this song:

“At the Foot of the Cross (Ashes to Beauty)” by Kathryn Scott

(Those in reader format, please CLICK HERE to enjoy this song with me)

And I wonder…Will I see you there?

How about you? What are you willing to leave at the foot of the cross this week? Will you trade in some ashes?  I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking up with Paula at:

12 thoughts on “Ashes to Beauty ~ Music Mondays

  1. Oh, Nikki, what a beautiful and perfect post for this week! I will be joining you at the foot of the cross and laying down my own ashes of impatience, frustration and worry.

    Thank you for this! 🙂

  2. I am continually laying down my burden of resentment at the foot of the cross. Why is so hard for us to just give up? We can’t handle it on our own, but we never seem to learn that. Oh, for freedom to let it all go.

  3. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!! What an incredible song! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing… Sorry it’s taken me so long to catch up this week. Been a little behind. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • I’m so thrilled you stopped by, Paula! (wasn’t sure how to link up this week since my music post was a guest post this week on another blog–but I’ll be back!) 🙂

I can't wait to hear from you...

