Worship by Name

…At that time people first began
to worship the Lord by name.

Genesis 4:26b NLT

I read this verse my first day of reading the Bible through in 90 days and I’ve contemplated it ever since. It caught me off guard particularly because of the paragraph it was included in. The verses before were mentioning how Adam and Eve gave birth to Seth (after Abel was killed) who later had a son named Enosh.

These verses didn’t lead my thinking into worship
and yet these verses had everything to do with worship.

The book of Genesis was written to account the beginning of history. To share to the people of Israel how everyone in history has faced trials. And yet, God always shows a way out. (note: I’m not a theologian, this is my opinion based on basic observations)

The author Moses, in the process of explaining their lineage, thought it was worth mentioning how worship had turned into an intimate affair. Right then and there. Almost as an after-thought, yet entirely worthy of mentioning.

Friends, I see it now. In the midst of Eve mourning the loss of her son, Abel, to death. In the midst of the pain from having to turn away their other son, Cain, they were blessed with a 3rd son. Who was later blessed with another son, Enosh.

But the most important thing worth mentioning? They were blessed with the invitation to worship The One who made it all possible. The One they had sinned against was still offering grace. For proof, God invited them to dwell in His presence and worship. By Name.

And thousands of years later I stand amazed.
That I, a simple housewife,
can worship the Lord by name.

No formalities.
No requirements.
No appointment necessary.

I can stand in His presence and address Him by name.

My Creator
El Shaddai (Gen 17:1)
Jehovah Jireh — My Lord that provides. (Gen 22:13-14)
Jehovah Shammah — The Lord who is present (Ez 48:35)
Abba Father
Emmanuel
Redeemer
The Great I Am

I can call Him by name and praise Him. In the midst of my pain, mourning, anguish and joy, I can call upon God Almighty by name.

May I never take that for granted.

How about you? What name do you like to call Him while worshiping? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

And join us for Gratituesday at Heavenly Homemakers!

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this post up with Barbie at:

And please stop by and visit Joan’s beautiful blog:

And Word Filled Wednesdays @ The Internet Cafe Devotions

25 thoughts on “Worship by Name

  1. I love the story of redemption that weaves throughout the Bible. There is so much to gain from reading the Old Testament chronologically; you can really see the story unfold!

    He is my comforter and teacher.

    Hugs, friend! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for sharing, Ginger! I could have shared yours, as they are some of mine too, but I wanted you to — I’m so glad you did. I’m thinking El Qanaa deserves its own post (as I just read that yesterday) 😉

  2. I just did a project with my children where we were listing many of the Lord’s names throughout Scripture. Wow, do I have a favorite? I love the “Good Shepherd,” “Alpha and Omega,” “Heavenly Father,” “Lamb of God,” and “Counselor.” Hope you have a wonderful and blessed Sunday!

    • What an amazing idea, Lisa! I’m going to make sure to do that when my children are…well, older than 3. 🙂 Trust you had a tremendous day worshiping your Good Shepherd today. Thank you for stopping by and sharing (and I figured out how to comment on your blog-yay!)
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  3. Oh I love this. What a privilege to worship God by name. I love to refer to Him as “Abba”, “Father”, The Holy One, My “Redeemer”, my “Lover” and my “Friend”. Sorry (again) for the late linky!

    • Oh, I doubt you were late (again), Barbie. I just needed beauty sleep in my different time zone : )
      Love the way you refer to Him. Trust you had an amazing day of worshiping Him today! Hugs to you, friend.

  4. Such a beautiful post. I had never really thought about the beginning of Worship….I have a lot to think about today! 🙂 Most of the time I call out to Him as “Abba” or “Father God”. I also love “My King of Kings.”

    Have a blessed and beautiful day!

  5. Worshipping God! I love to worship God calling Him Daddy, Elohim, Master I AM that I AM.
    What a beautiful reminder that we are free to worship God in the way He calls us to.

    God bless,
    <

  6. I find comfort in knowing that we can worship Him at all times, all places, all circumstances. I think of Job, who after he lost everything, fell down and worshipped. Amazing faith.

    Blessings,
    Joan

I can't wait to hear from you...

