Variety of Thanks

I had intended to beautifully wrap this post with a coördinated bow and call it something like “The Power of Praise.”

It was going to be brilliant.

Then this week happened. Life interrupted. Plans didn’t fail necessarily. They just became more curvy than anticipated.

And if I’m being honest, my praise this week hasn’t felt very powerful.

But I do not want the week to go by without thanksgiving. Or ThanksLiving, as I like to call it. For God has gifted me with much to be thankful for. And I have seen Him in the unplanned moments of grace. That is for certain.

Do you mind if I simply share with you some of the things that made my gifts/thanks journal this week? In variety fashion? Maybe you’ll see how I saw my Redeemer through these events. Maybe you won’t and that’s okay. For these moments are mine. I simply hope you are striving to discover the ways God reaches out to you throughout your everyday.

Because He is.
Oh how He loves you…

Here are some of the ways He touched me this week:

  • Needing to contemplate if rainboots are more appropriate over snowboots. In January. My mind has officially been boggled.
  • My hubby able to fix our kitchen faucet without having to replace it.
  • Son picking out his outfit today with the desire of looking just like his daddy. Boy did he succeed.
  • THIS Song. I’m still not over it. Thank you, Dolly, for sharing it with me.
  • Superhero husband returning from work with dinner. And chocolate.
  • Being able to worship God by Name (Genesis 4:26).
  • Meeting my health/weight loss goals for January.
  • Sunday’s sermon still resonating with me.
  • That God Sees Me. Which started with this blog post from Barbie and then my reading in Genesis and then another lovely post from my friend Dolly — all of which made my gifts journal. (And I’m going to have to talk about this more. Soon.)

How about you? What moments found you singing praise this week? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking this post up with Theresa at:

22 thoughts on “Variety of Thanks

  1. Coming over to visit from Thankful Thursday. What a beautiful gratitude list you have compiled! I love composing (and reading) these posts every week. It is wonderful to focus on how much we have to be grateful for! 🙂

    Many blessings,
    Lisa

    • I’m so glad you stopped by, Lisa! And thank you for taking the time to comment. I tried to comment on your blog this morning and it’s not letting me! I tried Google Chrome as well as Explorer. (Usually when I switch servers that works for me, but not today.) I’m so sorry! I wanted to thank you for sharing your joy of finding rich friendships and for the chance to connect! What a blessing! 🙂

      • Thank you for your kind words! I’m sorry you couldn’t comment on my blog. Not sure what is up with that. 😦 Connecting with bloggers such as you has been such a blessing to me!

        • Oh, it’s not your fault, Lisa! Thanks for checking back….I’ll just have to open up a Google account so that doesn’t happen again 😉
          May you have a delightful day, Lisa! So good to connect with you, too!

  2. I am praising him for our friends whoa are in China right now with their new daughter! They had a rough couple of days, but things seem to be getting better.

    I am here from Red Oak

  3. Love it! And, congrats on the weight loss!

    I’m finding praise in the weather, finding a new church family, our tax refund (every little bit helps!), and being able to spend every morning with my happy baby girl.

    Also finding a much more praiseful heart through my devotional time this month rediscovering God’s power.

  4. Congrats on ThanksLiving (like your word)…giving thanks with you that you saw God seeing you and how it touched your heart…Barbie’s post is wonderful and I’m tickled with delight to know that my post encouraged you and that I had even a part in sharing God’s love for you…Congrats also on meeting your health goals for Jan…Hugs to you 🙂 Sorry about Elijah…read your post…extra hugs 🙂

  5. ThanksLiving! I love that. I want to live in a continually place of offering praise and thanksgiving. Even when things aren’t going well, there is ALWAYS something to give thanks for. Today, I am giving thanks for God’s provision for my family during a very hard season. Blessings my friend!

  6. yay for hubbies who are handy! I love sermons that stay with you all week!

    I completely LOVE the expression ThanksLiving! Since getting into the habit of writing Thankful Thursday posts, I must say that I look at everything differently and see all that I have to be thankful for so much more often!!! Not an hour goes by when I don’t say, “thank you, God” for little things like a penny on the checkout counter to bigger things like healthy kids!

  7. Thank you for a beautiful post. I’m praising for the gift of faith and for a wonderful family and there wouldn’t be enough space on the Internet to share all of God’s blessings!

I can't wait to hear from you...

