Please Be My Strength ~ Music Mondays

I always have a song running through my head. If you were to ask at any time, I could start singing mid-stanza to reveal which one it is.

This one has been on my mind a lot lately.

I shared this song with a dear friend recently as I thought it would encourage them while they were going through a challenging time.  And the way this friend honestly told me they didn’t like the song, along with the fact we were both okay with that, confirmed once again how true our friendship was. {And I am so thankful that saying “it’s the thought that counts” can often hold true!}

So I realize this song is not for everyone, but it sure is an encouragement to me. May I share it with you?

“Please Be My Strength” by Gungor
written by: Michael Gungor

♪♫ I’ve tried to stand my ground
I’ve tried to understand
But I can’t seem to find
My faith again

Like water on the sand
Or grasping at the wind
I keep on falling short

So please be my strength
Please be my strength
‘Cause I don’t have any more
I don’t have any more

I’m looking for a place
Where I can plant my faith
One thing I know for sure

I cannot create it
And I cannot sustain it
It’s Your love
That’s keeping me

Please be my strength
Please be my strength
I don’t have any more
I don’t have any more

And at my final breath
I hope that I can say
I fought the good fight
Of faith

I pray your glory shines
This doubting heart of mine
And all would know that You

You are my strength
You are my strength
You and You alone
You keep bringing me back home

Oh, You are my strength
You are my strength
You and You alone
Keep bringing me back home

It’s You and You alone
Bringing me back home ♪♫

If you’re reading this in email/reader format and would like to hear the song, please CLICK HERE to press play on the picture below.

Please, have a listen. I hope you can say He is your strength today.

NOTE: this is not the original recording of the song. I prefer this simplified version (and it’s the one that runs through my head). If you’d like to hear the original recording, you can HERE.

The lyrics in the last half make this song for me.

How about you? What song comes to mind when you are needing His strength? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking up with my friend Paula at:

17 thoughts on “Please Be My Strength ~ Music Mondays

  1. I love that you and your friend could be honest with each other and no hurt feelings…btw, it was sweet of you to share with her. I like how the song points to God as our strength. I don’t have one particular go-to song but God seems to be very adept at giving me a song when I need it. Thanks, Nikki 🙂

    • God is good a encouraging us through music, isn’t He. So thankful for that. (and the other song I gave my friend hit the spot. I’m thankful for that, too!) 🙂
      thanks, Dolly, for taking the time to encourage me!

  2. When I need His strength, I find that getting lost in worship is the best thing for me. Lately I’m loving Bethel Church. “I Love your Presence” is awesome.

  3. I am a worship freak. At any time of the day, there are so many songs going through my head. I have the app on my phone for the Kansas City International House of Prayer so I often hear songs and choruses from there that bless me. Thank you for sharing this song. I liked it!

    • Now I have TWO reasons for wanting a smartphone! When I get one, you’ll be the first one I contact to know which apps I need ; )
      So glad you liked the song, but am even more thrilled to hear you’re a worship freak. just like me.
      Bless you, friend!

  4. This song is one of my absolute favorites and it has been my hearts cry many days. I know it is not the traditional worship song that many would be comfortable with but the first time I heard it I was absolutely in the place of the song writer. It was like God gave me that song that day to give me a way to express how I was feeling and to remind me that HE is my strength. That I have and am nothing without Him!

      • I do love that! He knows that music is the way to my heart and actively pursues me with it! I am glad to have found a couple of Worship Freaks in you and Barbie! 🙂

  5. I have just recently found Gungor. Wow. Don’t know why I had not found his music before… and this is one of my favorites! The high school band/choir at one of the churches in our area just did a flash mob at the mall doing The Earth is Yours. AWESOME! Anyway, thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

I can't wait to hear from you...

