Only Love Remains ~ Music Mondays

I’d like to say I struggled with which song to post today because of my indecisiveness. But that wouldn’t be completely honest. Truth is, I struggled because I know what God wants me to share with you this week and I just don’t want to.

But I’m striving. And posting this song will be my first step in succeeding.

This weekend I confessed how I have trouble praying for myself. Truly praying for my own heart as I fear being vulnerable. I think need to talk about this some more. And the only way to do that is to do what I fear most.

Become vulnerable.
To you.
For Him.

When I was determining which song encapsulates this for me, a few came to mind. But most seemed too…glossy.

And this one simply wouldn’t leave my mind and is far from glossy:

“Only Love Remains” by JJ Heller

To me, this song is all about refinement. Making yourself vulnerable to Him to be molded into something worth loving. For love is the greatest gift — the only one that will always remain.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5Hd211fJOw

 ♪♫Scenes of You come rushing through
You are breaking me down
So break me into pieces
That will grow in the ground
I know that I deserve to die
For the murder in my heart
So be gentle with me Jesus
As you tear me apart

Please kill the liar
Kill the thief in me
You know that I am tired of their cruelty
Breathe into my spirit
Breathe into my veins
Until only love remains

You burn away the ropes that bind
And hold me to the earth
The fire only leaves behind whatever is of worth
I begin to see reality
For the first time in my life
I know that I’m a shadow
But I’m dancing in your light

Teach me to be humble
Call me from the grave
Show me how to walk with you upon the waves
Breathe into my spirit
Breathe into my veins
Until only love remains ♪♫

So, are you up for me sharing how He has been tearing me apart lately? Will you join me this week?

How about you? How has He been tearing You apart lately? What has He been teaching you? I’d love to hear (and I promise to be gentle).

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking up to:

15 thoughts on “Only Love Remains ~ Music Mondays

  1. Love it, Nikki…just tweeted it. As I have been sharing on my blog, God has been breaking down my fears, pride etc. and teaching me to be more open to His love and His work in my heart and life….what a process…grateful for His patience and gentleness with me and for friends, like you, to go on the journey with me. Look forward to hearing how God is shaping you to be even more beautiful like Him.

  2. P.S. God already loves you and me…may I suggest that His molding is not to make us into something worth loving because He already loves us unconditionally, when we were sinners (Romans 5:8) …He is molding us to be more like Jesus (Romans 8:29) and we will be able to better love others and Him as well…He is molding us to be all that He created us to be, for His glory and our good…sorry for the long comment : ) Hugs to you for being brave and sharing!

    • You are absolutely right, Dolly. Oh how He loves us. Thanks for showing me I wasn’t too clear with that. I’m hoping I will be able to love me more as I journey through this molding process. Not for selfish reasons. I want to love His work in me. So blessed to have His example — and something ultimately worth striving for! : )

  3. Those are some really good lyrics. That refining process is so hard sometimes, but so necessary. The beautiful thing about it is that He will never abandon or give up on the work that He is doing in us!

  4. Pingback: Soul Stops | Valentine's Day came early with "The Screwtape Letters"

  5. There just isn’t enough room here to recount all that God has done in the last year. I am completely new person. He’s been tearing away at my pride, my selfishness, my “it’s all about what I want” attitude! I feel like Eustace with all my dragon skin. But what is emerging is someone who is beautiful only because of Him! I am really anxious to read what you post this week, sweet friend. 🙂

    • thank you for sharing, Katie! What an amazing gift to see how far you’ve come in such a short time! growing pains are just that…painful. Ah, but the reward is worth it. That’s what I’m trying to focus on! 🙂
      It helps to know you’re here to encourage me on my journey. thank you!

  6. This song is AMAZING! I love JJ Heller, but have missed hearing this one. Wow! Just know you’re not alone, girl. God has been tearing me into pieces, too. Talking about it in pieces on the blog. So glad you shared this.

    • Thank you, Paula. I’m following you on facebook and have been encouraged by what you’re sharing (I’ll comment more) 🙂 Glad this song can be of help to you — I know it’s been a big help to me!

I can't wait to hear from you...

