Waiting’s Blessing

Thank you so much for journeying through the act of waiting with me. It has been hard to write, possibly even hard to read, and it blesses me to know you’re striving. Just like me (you can catch up on the entire series HERE).

Today I get to share my favorite part. Waiting’s blessing. Joy discovered.

Waiting for me has been an exercise of trust. Of gut-believing that God knows me fully — better than I know myself and thus knows what is best for me and my family beyond what my vision can even grasp. When I succeed at realizing I’m ultimately blind to my own life’s path, there it is. There’s joy freely offered for me to grasp. And I get to choose. Will I pick it up, or will I opt to wallow in my own selfish pity.

I’ve struggled with knowing how to share this with you: The joy of waiting. I feel we all might have to do it our own way. I’m confident we can all obtain the same result, but how do I show what it looks like?

The only way I can come up with to describe it is to share my experience. Do you mind? If you’ll offer me grace, I’m going to try to share how waiting plays out for me in my everyday.

~~~~~~~~~~

I wake out of breath. Searching to remember why I’m already in panic mode. Did I forget something? Am I late for something? Is my family okay? And suddenly I remember.

I have a question with no answer.
I don’t know what lies ahead.
I’m in waiting.

I peel back the curtains, letting the mercy of a new day pour into my room as I breathe deep into prayer.

Lord, here I am. Ready for a new day. I’m determined to bring You glory as I choose You. Over and above all I choose You. Help me to stay focused on You, Father. This journey of waiting has been hard, but I know it will be worth it. For my primary goal is to glorify You in all I do. Show me the way I should go, Lord. Reveal to me Your will. Renew my strength. Calm my heart as I look to You this day. May you find delight in me as I delight in You. Today is for You, Lord. Let’s make it count. Together.

And all day when the devil reminds me how clueless I am at planning my own life, I remind myself; I say it out loud if I have to, but I tell myself that God has it under control. I don’t need to know. As long as I hold onto Him, this journey will end on the right path. Regardless if it is the one I was planning on originally. No. I will find contentment in knowing it was God who led me here.

So I say it. Out loud. In writing. To my family and friends. To myself in the shower I proclaim it. I remind myself:

God is in control. He’s got this. I can let it go.

And I feel it. Right there in front of me I see it. Gifts of joy given to me while waiting:

  • The light dappled through the trees, warming my face. It’s like a kiss of grace. God’s love shining down, right on me.
  • My son inviting me to dance freely, confessing to me “Sometimes, mom, you just have to show how happy you are by moving and grooving.” And I laugh and throw caution to the wind, choosing to act on his joy. Thank You, Lord, for showing me what full submission feels like.
  • And then I receive it. A personal sign that only means something to me. An encouragement that He hasn’t forgotten. He still has my best interest in mind. It’s like a hug from heaven.

Praise You, Father, that’s just what I needed to do this again tomorrow. I can do this. I can wait. I can follow Your lead.

If you keep me in tune to Your timing, Lord,
If you allow me to feel the beat of Your will,
Yes. I can do this. I can keep dancing.

Because “Sometimes we don’t fully see that in Christ,
because of Christ, through Christ,
He does give us all things good —
until we have the perspective of years.
In time, years, dust settles.
In memory, ages, God emerges.
Then when we look back, we see God’s back.”

(Ann Voskamp ~ One Thousand Gifts
pg 156)

How about you? How do you find joy while waiting? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

8 thoughts on “Waiting’s Blessing

  1. Hey Nikki, I really like reading your postings. You are a great writter. “waiting” makes me think of JESUS’S words from Matt. 18:3,4. “Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like childern, you shall not enter the kingdom of heaven.
    whoever then humbles himself as this child, he is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

    Childern know that they need help from their parents, a child may ask for someting from their parent, and often they hear the words “not right now, maybe later.” Childern believe what their parents tell them. childern take things at face value. Childern know that they need to wait for thier parents,ect., ect., ect.. some where along the journy of life,(just like a child) we want to control things. Be in charge, have it my way, if I’m in control, then I know that it will be right. and so on, and so on.

    In reallity, the only true thing that I can control, (and it still takes an effort) are my emotions. my believes, I can analys them, are they real or false? Feelings can lead us astray, if we do not thik about them first. knowledge is only good if it is accurate, and you can use it, or act on it. That is why the 8 Principles are so good to pratice.(for me). I’m learning so much from just praying the “Serenity Prayer”

    “God, grant me the serinity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time, enjoying one moment at a time, accepting hardship as a pathway to peace, taking as Jesus did, this sinful world as it is. not as I would have it. Trusting that You will make all things right, if I surrender to Your will. So that I may be reasonably happy in this life, and supremely happy with You forever in the next.”

    • You know I love when you comment, Dad, thank you.
      And like usual, you’re right. The only thing we can control is our emotions. We get to choose how we react. . .

      and I love your comment: “accepting hardship as a pathway to peace”. . .

      I’ve been learning as of late that the challenge lies with fully dying to self. Complete submission. For when I let go fully, joy comes easy. wouldn’t you agree?

      expect me to blog more about it sometime. 😉

  2. While we have been waiting for a full-time job for my husband, we’ve been able to share with others about our journey of trusting God to take care of us. THAT has been a joy in itself–encouraging others that even though trust may not come easy sometimes, it is possible!

  3. While we were waiting for both adoptions there was a peace knowing that there was nothing we could do but wait and trust God to match us with a child. It was hard, don’t get me wrong… I did not like waiting, but I do miss the confidence I had in the fact that I KNEW God was looking out for me.

    One does feel closer to God during these times of trial.

    And we have the proof of God’s blessing running around our house, and keeping me up at night! : )

    • Thank you so much for sharing, Fawnda!

      There is comfort in knowing we’re not alone when we go through trials, isn’t there. So glad you were able to lean on Him through those times of difficult waiting.

      and you’re right–God has blessed you immensely! sleep is overrated anyway, right? : )

  4. Thanks for a thoughtful post, Nikki…your son’s words made me chuckle…too cute! It is a daily turning to Him for the grace to wait WITH Him…waiting is hard work, but what you said about JOY if we chose it is true, but some days it is just plain hard, and God is there and He comforts…His presence with me is the JOY…like you, I affirm what is true…He is in control. Blessings!

    • Thanks for taking the time to read, Dolly, and stopping by to comment. I’m still laughing over my boy’s reason for dancing. Wish I could capture a video of him “moving and grooving” but he gets camera shy : )

      Yes–His presence is the JOY! so true….

      Thank you, friend!

I can't wait to hear from you...

