Waiting’s Promise

This is a continuation of my thoughts on waiting. You can view the entire series of waiting HERE.

After I had a long talk with my Redeemer about missing my mark (this post), I began digging into His Word to find answers. Answers to what waiting really means. What is required of me when I am in this season of transition?

I thought it best to start at the very beginning and looked up the Hebrew and Greek definitions for the verses I’ve always associated with waiting. I now see why I was so confused. Silly English language…

First I was surprised to learn, in the Bible, there are 4 different words used in Hebrew and 3 words in Greek that mean to wait in some form.  Here are the words and definitions:

HEBREW:
quavah = to bind together, wait patiently, tarry, hope, expect, look eagerly.
yachal = to wait in hope, wait expectantly, to trust {Isaiah 51:5}
damam = grow silent, be still, wait, tarry, rest {Psa 62:5}
chakah = to wait, tarry, long for {Psa 33:20, 106:13, Isa. 30:18}

Greek:
prosdechomai = to receive, to expect, look for while waiting {Luke 12:35; Acts 24:15; Jude 1:21}
apeckdechomai = to await, eagerly expecting {Romans 8:25; 1 Cor. 1:7; Gal. 5:5}
anameno = to wait with patience and confidence {I Thess. 1:10}

NOTE: Please know I am no scholar. I did this study years ago and have lost my original sources. I do see my research supported by THIS SITE if you’d like to read more.

Now, lets start by stating the obvious. If you read all these examples, you’ll find the Old Testament verses focus more on waiting on the Lord for the pressures of everyday life. The New Testament verses focus on waiting on the second coming of Christ and the impact that should have on your everyday life. I find this fascinating, but it’s too much for me to take on in this blog post.

What you will also find by reading these examples, is that no one Biblical translation uses the actual word ‘wait’ for all of these verses, yet the original intention all define them as a means of waiting. Want to know the most common English word used to describe this action when comparing all translations?

HOPE.

I’ll use one of my most favorite passages as an example:

Lamentations 3:22-25 (NIV)

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. 24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.” 25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him. 

Do you see those two phrases I put in bold? In the original Hebrew, they’re the same word. If you read this in other translations, you will find this described all kinds of different ways (and very few translations use the same phrase for both occurrences). Some translations take ‘wait’ out entirely. The most common are:

  • Hope in Him
  • Depend on Him
  • Trust Him
  • Wait on Him

Why can they do that? Because they are all one in the same based on the original context.

So what does all this mean? Again, I am no scholar, but I will share with you what it means to me.

We all go through a period of waiting in one form or another. Why, we as Christians spend our entire experience here waiting on His Second coming. By reading the verses in the New Testament, it makes me feel like the experience should become second nature. It’s not for me. Not yet. I’m still striving.

After praying and reflecting, I’m beginning to see. We’re all waiting for Him to come to our rescue. To take us to our eternal home. But that’s not enough. For God wants to teach us to wait ON Him for our everyday affairs as well. Not just FOR Him. For in Him, you will find HOPE. And this discovery will bring Him glory.

Waiting is a lesson in Complete Communion.

And I am honored to have my Jehovah want that with me.

Yes, this is something I want to strive for. As God places me in any holding pattern necessary, I will strive to use that time to seek His face. Draw nearer to Him. Enter into complete communion.

How about you? What do you strive for while waiting on Him? I’d love to hear.

And next, let’s talk about the joy discovered while waiting.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking this up to:

13 thoughts on “Waiting’s Promise

  1. Waiting… don’t I know it! 🙂 But I learned so much during our time of waiting. The best thing I learned was to fully trust God. My Faith grew so much through both adoptions and that time proved God’s love and faithfulness to us. Adoption is all about the HOPE of a child and it is all about waiting so this is very fitting! 🙂

    • Yes you do know it, Fawnda! What a powerful tool to learn so early on in your parenting — to trust God fully. He truly is faithful…
      And I love that–the hope of a child correlating with waiting. Perfect!
      Thanks for reading and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me 🙂

  2. I am LOVING your series on waiting! You’re really making us think.

    For me, it’s in the waiting that my faith grows. When I don’t see evidence of change or movement toward the thing I want, that’s when I have to trust Him…only. I find myself seeking Him more by plunging into His Word. What a sweet time.

    Your blog has become one of my favorites.
    Blessings dear sister!

    • Oooh, I love your insight here, Katie. Thank you so much for sharing it with me!
      and I love having you along for my journey. thank you so, so much for reading and reaching out! what a blessing you have been to me! Thank you!

  3. Nikki, this is so good! My heart was truly blessed by your words. I have been in a waiting time for quite a while now, and there is much here that I have to think about and apply. Thank you!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Lisa, and letting me know how this applies to you now. I will be praying for you while you wait and trust you will be drawn closer to Him through the process. To God be the glory, friend!

  4. I am loving this series you are doing on waiting. Deep and thoughtful writing that blesses me each time I read a new entry!

    What do I strive for while waiting on Him? Being honorable as I wait upon Him. I strive to represent God in everything I do. In waiting, my patience and faith will bless others as they watch my actions during this time.

    That falls into the “walk like you talk” category… which I fail miserably at sometimes. It’s easier to tell someone else how to walk than to actually do the walking. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, Tania!
      What perfect examples of what to strive for while waiting. I have to believe it gets easier, right? walking the talk? practice makes perfect, so let’s keep practicing! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Thankful Thursday

  6. Thank you, Nikki, for looking up the Greek and Hebrew as it adds so much richness to our understanding of God and His word. What you wrote made me think of Romans 5:5 and how our hope in Him will not be disappointed because as you said so well: “Waiting is a lesson in Complete Communion.” I have found that true each and every time I have had to wait. I think waiting is one of the hardest things to do well because I know I get so easily distracted from what is really important. Blessings, my friend.

    • I’m with you, Dolly. I easily get distracted.
      I think what I’m finding as of late is that waiting ultimately challenges my success at dying-to-self. When I have committed to complete submission, joy seems to come easy. Even while waiting.
      Sounds so easy….but I’m still striving.
      Romans 5:5 will be my comfort today. Thank you, friend!

  7. Nikki:

    This is a powerful post on waiting. I too have learned to trust Him during those times and my faith is strengthened. While we eagerly await His second coming, we should be careful not to focus entirely on that. By that I mean we are to nourish and grow in our relationship with Him now in order to know His will for us in His kingdom work.

    Blessings,
    Joan

I can't wait to hear from you...

