Waiting Defines

wait·ing/ˈwātiNG/ noun.

1. The act of remaining inactive or stationary. The act of delaying action until a particular time or until something else happens.

~~~~~~~~~~

It was a bittersweet day.

Sweet because I was spending the entire day with the love of my life.
Bitter because deep down in the place we don’t like to talk about,
that’s how I was feeling.

It was the day of my next milestone. The one I’d been dreading. The day I turned 30.

You see, I wasn’t where I thought I’d be. No children in the foreseeable future. Still living in a town we originally assumed was a transitional stop for us. One I felt we were at while waiting on Him. And I was tired. Tired of the questions. Tired of not knowing. Tired of the waiting game.

So much so that I had stressed my body out. I was sure of it. After all, being late only happens when I’ve done that to myself. Oh, I assured my husband that’s all it was. Multiple tests had proved it. It was me just being silly. Overreacting to the act of waiting.

My husband did a wonderful job of listening to me, reminding me of what we had talked about so many times, and encouraging me to pray about it. Even still, in all his wisdom, we stopped by the drugstore on our way home. It was my birthday after all. And what else was he  to do after I had poured out my heart and soul over fried mushrooms?

Friends, God spoke clearly to me that night. He changed my life. First with two lines that formed a positive. Then with words spoken directly to my heart.

“My child, who are you waiting for?”

And I realized. He had been saying this to me all along. It was just the first time He had my undivided attention.

You see, I had made the biggest, most common mistake with the waiting game.

I had taken the dictionary definition literally.

I had stayed still.
Become stagnant.
To the point where I had missed Him giving me directions.

I was where I was supposed to be in this earthly world, but I wasn’t where I was supposed to be in my relationship with Him, the world that matters most.

That night was nearly 5 years ago now. A lot has changed. Primarily my perspective. For when I look back at all the times I felt God telling me to wait, and observe the outcome, I see it.

God wasn’t telling me to sit still.
He was telling me to hold on tight.

He was inviting me to trust Him.
He was asking me to hope.
He was telling me I needed more time with Him first.
He was wanting me to find contentment without it.
He was offering me a refuge. A rest before the next journey.

As far as I’m concerned, Webster couldn’t be more wrong.

I believe, as Christians, we get to choose how we define waiting. Will we perceive it as a time of standing still, waiting idly by for God to move this mountain, or will we strive to meet Him in this place. To cling to Him, lean on Him with all we have and let Him carry us through this transition. For isn’t being near to Him all that matters anyway?

I’m striving to not make the same mistake. I never want to feel so apart from God again. And by His grace, I don’t have to. From now on, my definition of waiting will be:

wait·ing/ˈwātiNG/ noun.

1. The act of hoping in Him. The act of eagerly seeking Him until He blesses your next move.

Waiting. What a defining journey.

How about you? How do you define waiting? More importantly, how does waiting define you? I’d love to hear.

Next I’ll share the lessons I learned on waiting while turning to God’s Word. Will you join me?

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking this post up with Word-Filled Wednesdays at Internet Cafe Devotions as well as:



25 thoughts on “Waiting Defines

  1. So so true, Nikki, like you, I have been there waiting for a child, and then learning that my hope had to be In HIM, and not in what I longed for…preach it, my friend 🙂

    • You’re right there, Sam. He does know. It’s so hard to comprehend sometimes… Will be praying for you as you go through this period of waiting, friend. Thank you so much for sharing your burden with me!

  2. I am learning to rely on the truth that He really does have my best planned. Even if that leaves me lacking what I think I need, I can trust HIS heart. Our sweet Jesus is more than enough!

  3. I have waited quite a bit, and am still waiting as I write this! I have learned to rest in His arms and to wait. And while I wait, I pray.

    Waiting is not bad – it’s just a way to bring me close to Him!

    • You’re absolutely right, Aurie. It’s not bad at all. In fact, I’ve learned now that it is a blessing. There can be joy in waiting. When we do exactly what you’re doing.
      Thanks for stopping by and blessing me today!

  4. Great post today. I remember long ago, when we were dealing with a tragedy in our lives and I had voices from family, friends, strangers, experts… all telling me to do this, do that, make this decision, handle it this way or that. In my heart, I had heard a promise from God that He would take care of it all and I was to WAIT upon Him. Waiting to me, meant STOP. Have faith. Trust in God. Depend on Him to guide each and every step. Wait with patience. Wait with love. Wait.

    Against the advice of those that felt “led” to tell me what their thoughts were, I waited. Trusting when my own family members were in a panic and wondering what was going to happen – I waited. God was faithful to pull us through this tragedy. He proved His way was the best way. But most of all… he taught those around me that WAITING was indeed an action in and of itself.

    Blessings and can’t wait to read your next post!

    • Tania, thank you so much for sharing! What a blessing to have this remembrance of you choosing Him over what was most convenient. and I love how He used you to reach your loved ones. Yes, waiting is indeed an action in and of itself. and it’s harder than it sounds. . .

      So glad you stopped by today and shared your experience! Thank you!

  5. Pingback: Waiting’s Promise « simplystriving

    • Thanks for stopping by, Brian. and yes, you know this well. Thank you so much for the reminder. . . that even when I feel I have nothing, to Him, I have more than enough. Blessings to you!

  6. We have the same 2012 word: intentional! 🙂

    Waiting on anything is hard. Waiting on God when we do not know when “it” will happen or sometimes what “it” even is, is extremely hard. But we can rest in Him as we wait. Great post!

    • I love that we have the same word! (great minds think alike) 😉

      You’re right–waiting is hard. Dying to self is even harder and that what I think I struggle with that makes waiting so hard. . . . I think.

      Thanks for stopping by, Jenifer, and for your encouragement!

    • I think you’re right, Amy. I know I have learned so much about even myself while waiting…. Trust this season of waiting will be most fruitful, Amy! To God be the glory

      And thank you so much for stopping by!

  7. “God wasn’t telling me to sit still.
    He was telling me to hold on tight.

    He was inviting me to trust Him.
    He was asking me to hope.
    He was telling me I needed more time with Him first.
    He was wanting me to find contentment without it.
    He was offering me a refuge. A rest before the next journey.”

    I needed this today…which might be why I’m reading it a week late. lol Sometimes waiting feels impossible, especially when I’m not sure what I’m waiting for, or if it will turn out the way I desperately want. Waiting makes me feel anxious and lost, but clinging to Him grounds me and brings me peace.

    Thank you for this post, Nikki.
    In Christ,
    Laura

I can't wait to hear from you...

