Praying with Purpose Applied

My dear friend Barbie at Freshly Brewed Life has committed to sharing a Bible verse every Sunday. A verse that’s been speaking to her. And she’s challenged us to join in. I knew I wanted to take part, but hadn’t decided yet how to proceed until my prayer time this week.

Those that check in from time to time know I’m striving to become my family’s biggest prayer warrior this year. I want to pray for my children with purpose. I want to pray for my spouse, family and friends more intentionally.

One way I’ve striven to be intentional is to pray using scripture.

And I want to share that with you
 How I’m applying verses in my prayer life.
 Every weekend.

Will you join me? Let’s begin!

Have you ever read a Proverbs a day? I grew up with the mentality it was a good practice to include one in your devotional life. There are 31 of them, so there is no reason to say you don’t have anything to read every day.

I haven’t done that in years, but thought I’d start-up again this January.

And in reading Proverbs 2 and 3, I realized these were excellent verses/chapters to use when praying for my spouse. And can I just say, isn’t that the way God works? I wanted to focus on my spouse this week and look what He gives me during my devotional/prayer time:

Proverbs 2:6-11 NLT

6 For the Lord grants wisdom!
From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.
7 He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest.
He is a shield to those who walk with integrity.
8 He guards the paths of the just
and protects those who are faithful to Him.

 9 Then you will understand what is right, just, and fair,
and you will find the right way to go.
10 For wisdom will enter your heart,
and knowledge will fill you with joy.
11 Wise choices will watch over you.
Understanding will keep you safe.

Father, I can’t thank you enough for blessing me with a spouse who faithfully strives to reflect You in his everyday. Who’s main desire is to be a man of integrity, to provide for his family and guide us through this journey of life. And I know, Lord, that is a daily challenge. Something that needs attention every day as decisions need to be made, deadlines need to be met, others need to be served, provided for, kept safe. What a burden to bear.

Father, please be his shield when he is faced with doors that shouldn’t be opened. Protect his heart, Lord, from things that are not right, just, fair. Shower him with Your wisdom, knowledge, and understanding as he seeks You daily. So he will see the path ahead clearly and confidently and know what decisions need to be made. For in this You will be glorified and my husband will know You deeper. See You more clearly. Find contentment. Purpose. Joy…

How about you? How do you pray for your spouse? I’d love to hear. 

What is weighing heavy on your heart? Can I pray for you? Please feel free to contact me with any prayer requests you have via comments or email. I will respond and pray for you intentionally. 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this to:

9 thoughts on “Praying with Purpose Applied

  1. Oh I am going to love the journey you take us through Proverbs. There is so much depth and wisdom there. I am reading the Chronological Bible so the verses I select will be from the past week’s reading, something that stood out to me. Can’t wait to share from Leviticus! Ha!

    • I’m looking forward to it, Barbie! Leviticus and the weekly link-ups! (I’m starting the Bible in 90 days with Aurie in Feb, so we’ll see where that leads me, too!) What a joyful adventure…

  2. I love this. I just love this! I am going to start reading one Proverbs a day too! Great idea! These are things I need to pray as well. I love my husband and he has always been a provider, but sometimes I have a hard time trusting him 100% with everything–I know that may sound bad, but he is only human after all…these prayers are sure to help both he and I!

    • Thank you so much, Theresa. I love that you’re going to read Proverbs with me! I’ve been really enjoying it. It sure is improving my prayer life. . .
      and yes, we are human. it doesn’t sound bad that you struggle with trust, just honest! Good thing Proverbs is saturated with that very topic. I’ll be curious to hear how praying specifically this way helps you! (and I’ll keep sharing how it’s helping me, too)

  3. I appreciate your blog so much, Nikki. What a blessing. I too, prayed for Don as I read this today. I love to use Stormie Omartian’s book on praying for one’s husband….I use her book on praying for my adult children as well. God’s Word gives us “Just the right words” to pray back to Him! He is SO faithful in all things isn’t He?!

    • Thank you so much, Cari! I appreciate your encouragement and loved that you prayed for Don as well.
      And thank you for the book suggestion! I hadn’t heard of it but am going to look into it, thank you!
      Yes, God is beyond faithful. And I’m realizing now more than ever why we should hide His word in our hearts….keep it near and dear….
      I love that you’re on this journey with me, Cari. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: Praying Proverbs for Your Children « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

