What If…

What if we were slow to anger?
What if we were quick to forgive?
What if we expressed our fears?
What if we dropped our guards?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if we realized we have more than enough?
What if we realized we are more than enough?
What if we spent more time on our knees?
What if we lived outside our comfort zones?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if we had an attitude of gratitude?
What if we chose joy?
What if we went out of our way to say thank you?
What if we practiced what we preach?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if we walked the talk?
What if we lived in the present?
What if we gave our best everyday?
What if we used all the gifts God has given us for His glory?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if we stopped harboring resentment?
What if we loved others like Christ loves us?
What if we graciously gave?
What if we acknowledged we’re all worth dying for?

What if we acted justly?
What if we offered mercy?
What if we walked humbly?
What if we followed His directions?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if we lived out this entire year on purpose? Intentionally?
What if we praised Him first thing in the morning and last thing at night?
What if we glorified Him in our everyday?
What if we un-clenched our fists to receive all He has to give?

~~~~~~~~~~

What if
What if

I don’t know about you, but I want to find out. 

I’m striving…Will you join me?

How about you? Which one are you striving towards most this year? Which one would you add? 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

am linking up with:

14 thoughts on “What If…

  1. This year God is pushing me to be more 1) authentic and 2) intentional about loving others. So many of your “what ifs” cut straight to the heart. It’s such a good time of year to reflect and to become more… more of what He wants us to be!

    Blessings!
    Katie

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Katie and taking the time to comment! Yes–becoming more of what He wants us to be. Something we should all strive for. And what better way than to focus on His greatest commandment: To Love. authentically and intentionally.
      Thanks for encouraging me to think on this!
      Blessings to you as well!
      ~nikki

  2. Of the ones you mentioned, choosing JOY. I often allow stress to come in and well, if mama ain’t happy, nobody’s happy! I would add fully living. To be fully alive to the beauty of my surroundings!

    • YES, Barbie! Fully living. Fully alive. Worth striving for certainly. Thank you!
      And choosing JOY is harder than it sounds. It still amazes me that it’s something you choose and not simply experience as the result of something. I’m striving and pray it one day becomes second nature!

  3. Nikki,

    Love this! Such intentionality, such purpose with these words! May you continue on your quest to be simply striving. I would say I continue to strive to be a more peaceful person who relies on God’s strength for all. I appreciate you! Thanks for being so bold in mapping out your journey

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Christina!
      What a beautiful thing….to strive for peace. Love that. And you know I struggle with relying on God’s strength for all. Certainly something to focus on for 2012.
      Thank you so much for your encouragement!

  4. being intentional is an incredible thing to strive for! this was my word a couple of years ago and it entirely deepened my walk with Christ. last year my word was transformation. this year i’ve not yet chosen my focus, but i’m feeling pulled towards “kindness” and “playful”. next time we get together…which i hope will be soon… i’d love to explain a bit deeper what those mean for me.

  5. Love this! Especially the “What if we glorified Him in our everyday?” Seems far too easy to just get caught up in survival mode and doing the next thing that makes up our routine and then forget where the strength/endurance/power really comes from. It’s ALL about Him and because of Him and for Him.

  6. I think I would say Choose Joy. I love to laugh, be silly but sometimes things get too serious when it comes to parenting. I want to learn to choose joy in all circumstances. Because I love to hear my kids laugh and see them smile.

    • There is nothing better than hearing your children laughing, is there. That is joy at its finest!

      Sometimes I tend to get so caught up in what I need to teach my child that I miss opportunities to slow down and see what they can teach me. Joy would be one of them. Yes–let’s strive for that this year!

      Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to share with me!

  7. Thank you! I love that plaque, so true and we need to remember every day and night. I would have very little if it were true, but thankfully I would have my family because I thank God for them every day. I appreciate the reminders and blessings to you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

