My Legacy of Vibrancy

I do the math over and over in my head. Can that be right? It was sixteen plus years ago?

I remember the day like it was yesterday. Or at the very least last week. The smells, the sounds, the clothes I was wearing, the small talk with my new roommate. I remember it all this day. The day I met the man who would become my husband.

When I think of how far we’ve come in these 16 years, I am blown away.

And I intend to keep it that way.

Twenty-twelve, you will be another year in our memory. Another year resulting in our legacy. What do you say–let’s make you stand out!

So here I am, in what is becoming my favorite reflecting place. Pen in hand, a new journal page awaiting my game plan. My strategy for keeping my marriage more than alive.

No, alive isn’t enough. This year, I’ll strive for vibrant.

And If there’s one thing 2011 taught me, it was this:

That is where I intend to begin. By giving thanks for my husband. A fine strategy plan indeed.

My mind fills with appreciation as I write them down, one by one:

  • Hubby working his schedule around so I can make my appointment.
  • He works so hard and provides so well. I have never gone without.
  • I cannot remember the last time I filled a vehicle with gas. One little gift he gives me on a regular basis.
  • My son’s excitement over each workday end. Each time he comes home becomes a gift given to him. Such joy.

A dozen or more follow with ease before I pause to reflect. I flip through my gifts journal now, remembering my gifts given. And notice my husband’s name laces every page. Yes, I am blessed, God has graced me with a partner worth striving for.

And I intend to make twenty-twelve stand out.

I pray for my husband every day, but God is showing me I can do better. Just like He’s showing me how to improve the prayers for my child. And yes, this will be the year I put both into practice.

I fully intend to become my family’s biggest prayer warrior.

And in the near future, I’ll be sharing with you my strategy.

Yes, this year is going to be vibrant.

How about you? How do you show appreciation for those you love dear? How do you pray over them? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking this post up with:

The Grace Cafe @ Reflections of His Grace

14 thoughts on “My Legacy of Vibrancy

  1. Oh I love this. Thank you for writing and shring it! I’m crazy for my hubby, too! We’ve been married 23 years and he is amazing and so wonderful to me! I’m immensely grateful God brought us to each other.

  2. What a lovely post 🙂 Giving thanks as become second nature to me {thanks to Ann’s book!} and my dear husband fills my pages as well. Keeping a marriage alive is good – but making it vibrant? What an amazing gift!

  3. How wonderful that you have such a wonderful hubby; I enjoyed reading your post and celebrating with you…
    Like you, I am always giving thanks for my husband, even after 20 years…
    To answer your question, I pray Scripture over my family, for example, using 2 Peter 3:18 as the template, I pray that we would each grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I also pray for whatever God nudges me to pray for and anything that they mention. Look fwd to hearing what God does through your prayers 🙂

    • Perfect example of praying Scripture, Dolly! Thank you so much for sharing.
      I’ve been using Eph 1:16-18 lately:
      “I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know Him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you”
      and will be adding your verse to my prayer journal, too. thank you!

  4. Nikki – I love this. I am blessed to be married to my husband for nearly 28 years. We’ve been through sickness, health, job loss, family issues, etc., but our love remains strong. How wonderful to list the many ways you are grateful for your husband.

    Blessings,
    Joan

    • Thank you so much, Joan.What a blessing to be able to journey through those trials with someone you love by your side. 28 years is certainly something worth celebrating!
      Blessings to you as well,
      Nikki

  5. First of all, thank you for linking up to Thankful Thursday.

    Secondly, your post was truly TRULY inspiring. Please share how you journal to make your marriage more vibrant and how you intend to be a prayer warrior for your family! (if those things are not too personal). I love these as goals for 2012.

    One of the things I love most about Thankful Thursday is that I find these posts and they remind me that I have more to be thankful for than I could ever put in a list–thank you!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Theresa!
      And it’s an honor to be able to link up to your wonderful site. I’m so thankful you continued Thankful Thursdays!

      I will certainly post more about striving for a vibrant marriage. And I do intend to fully share my prayer journey. Soon. I would love to share my discoveries with you!

      And yes–we all have so much to be thankful for. What a blessing it is to be able to encourage one another!

  6. Congratulations of 16 years with the man you love! My husband and I have been married for 30 years. We have had joys, sorrows, challenges and triumphs, and through it all, God has been faithful! As we have looked to God and kept Him at the center of our marriage, He has blessed us with a love strengthened over the years.

    Happy New Year to you and may your marriage become more and more vibrant each day!

    Blessings, Joan

    • Thank you so much, Joan! What an encouragement you have been to me. You’re right, keeping God in the center is key.

      Congratulations on 30 years! What a blessing. Happy New Year to you as well and may your marriage continue to shine for Him.

      ~nikki

  7. Pingback: Praying with Purpose Applied « simplystriving

  8. Pingback: Praying Proverbs for Your Children « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

