Dancing in the Minefields ~ Music Monday

My husband’s birthday is around Christmas. It’s not on Christmas like my oldest brother’s, but it’s close enough to make an impact. To become easily forgotten or overlooked.

That is something I never want to do to my husband. Forget all he means to me and overlook the impact he has made on my life.

He’s an extraordinary man, friends.
I married up.

When I was thinking about how I wanted to kick off the new year, what I wanted to focus on first, my hubby came to mind. And I hope you don’t mind if I share a bit of that with you.

I stumbled upon this song just over a year ago and it has become one of my favorite love songs. Primarily because it encapsulates marriage with the love of Christ.

Mostly because it’s so honest. Marriage is a hard journey. But worth it.

♪♫ ‘Cause the only way to find your life is to lay your own life down. ♪♫

I could go on and on about this song, but I don’t need to. The lyrics say it all and listening to the song is where your time is best spent.

NOTE: If you’re reading this post in a reader/email format, please click HERE to enjoy the official video. For me.

Without further adieu, here is:

“Dancing in the Minefields” by Andrew Peterson

(and honey? I couldn’t say this better myself — even if I tried.
So…may I have this dance?)

(Love the story of the first verse)

♪♫ Well “I do” are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard is a good place to begin
‘Cause the only way to find your life is to lay your own life down
And I believe it’s an easy price for the life that we have found ♪♫

♪♫ And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re sailing in the storms
And this is harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for
(don’t give up on me)

So when I lose my way, find me
When I lose loves chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith to the end of all my days
when I forget my name, remind me

‘Cause we bear the light of the Son of man
So there’s nothing left to fear
So I’ll walk with you in the shadow lands
Till the shadows disappear
‘Cause He promised not to leave us
And His promises are true
So in the face of all this chaos baby,
I can dance with you  ♪♫

Happy (belated) birthday, friend. Yes, I’m still celebrating you. Thanks for filling up my dance card. For keeps.

How about you? What are some of your favorite love songs? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up to:

One thought on “Dancing in the Minefields ~ Music Monday

  1. Pingback: A Love Story {The Journey of Independence} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

