My One Word

It seems this book I’m reading is dictating my posts for this week…
As it should. It’s encouraging me to stretch myself. To strive further.

I’ve seen a number of blogs dedicate a year to one word. One purposeful word to describe what they’re striving towards for the coming year. I remember reading THIS POST last year challenging readers to pick one word for their entire family to strive towards. Twitter has been buzzing lately with others finalizing their one word and I must admit, I had decided this was one challenge I could never do.

I’m indecisive, friends. Big time.

But I can’t get it out of my head. My journal is filling with one word sentences.Words like Grace, Joy, Present, Focus, Glory, Driven, Faithful, Steadfast, Praise, Thankful and Seeking adorn the margins

and I have determined I must choose.
One word to encapsulate what I’m striving for in 2012.

At first I had settled on Present. Yes, that would be my word. For that’s what I’m striving to be each day. But I felt a nudge to go further. I can do more than be present.

During my devotions the other day I was reminded of a sermon I heard awhile back on these verses:

Philippians 3:10-14

10 I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, 11 so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead! 12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

And there, in the margin, were my old sermon notes. Words I needed to read this day.

You see, the sermon was about how Paul lived life with a definite decision (vs 12). He decided Jesus was the best one to master his life. He chose to live accordingly. Paul also lived with a determined priority (vs 13). He decided one thing to set his priorities on: Focusing ahead towards The One mastering his life while not being deterred by the past (vs 13).

For if you don’t learn to deal with your past, it will determine your future.

It seems, based on my notes in my Bible, I summarized the sermon to say:

You must be decisive
or you will live your life by default.  

You’ll miss your mark

So

And those that know me well know I struggle with this. I struggle with being decisive. With not living by default–going with the flow. Why, look at how I almost passed over this opportunity of choosing my one primary thing I will strive for in 2012.

Yes, this will be the year I will focus on fixing this. I will be:

INTENTIONAL

I want to live on purpose. I want to make it count.
With my eyes fixed on the prize.

After all, God made me with a plan in mind. Big plans — that make a difference in this current life I’m living. I can’t pass by the opportunity to glorify Him and reveal what He has in mind for me.

So I will be intentional in my:

  • Relationships
  • Homemaking
  • Parenting
  • Blogging
  • Eating
  • Budgeting
  • Planning
  • Comings and Goings

I will not find comfort in saying “I don’t care” or “I don’t know” or “whatever you think is best.” No. I will remain focused on the goal and contribute.

Yes. I have decided. I will be intentional. And share my journey with you along the way.

How about you? Any tips for me?
If you chose one word to strive towards for the new year, what would it be? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

UPDATE: To read how I have been striving to accomplish this, you can read THESE POSTS.

Am linking up to:


48 thoughts on “My One Word

  1. This is such a good post! I really like the word you’ve chosen and the reasoning behind that word. I hadn’t really thought of a “one word” idea, but I might just spend some time pondering that this week. Thanks for sharing your heart!

  2. I really like your word, and the reasoning behind it! Last year I didn’t see the need to choose 1 word, but this year I was ready 🙂 Being intentional is so very important and I can’t wait to see how this blesses you!!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Lisa, and providing me with resources! I stop at the internet cafe devotions regularly and look forward to seeing what you have to share again soon.
      Many blessings to you
      ~nikki

  3. That is the life God called us to live…to live with the knowledge that He has a purpose for us. When we understand that God has a purpose for us, we have a desire to live intentional.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Sharon! You’re exactly right — He has a purpose for all of us. I think I have been failing to actively pursue my purpose and have been simply praying it gets laid in front of me. So thankful for grace and the knowledge to know I can fix that!

  4. Hm, now you’ve got me thinking! What one word would it be? It’s interesting that if I were choosing a scripture passage, it would be the exact same one you chose above from Philippians! But I’m still not boiled down to one word. Thinking… (Thanks!)

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Sylvia! So encouraging to know you’d choose the same scripture. If you end up finalizing your one word, I’d love it if you’d let me know!

  5. This is great and something I needed to hear. I do have a word for 2012 (am planning to post tomorrow), but I sure like this.

    Blessings to you and your family in the new year.

  6. Pingback: Arms Open Wide ~ Five Minute Friday « simplystriving

  7. Pingback: My Legacy of Vibrancy « simplystriving

  8. My one word for 2012 is “Breathe” — to breathe in God’s holy Presence allowing Him to saturate and nourish and engage all of me — every fiber, every thought, every breath.

    I’m captivated by your word too — “Intentional” — and the verse that inspired it. Reading those words again tonight and your words really made me think. Thank you!

    • Love your word, Cindee. Thank you so much for sharing it with me. It’s something all of us should strive for! Oh to live and breath the very presence of Christ….
      Will be pondering this today. thank you!!

  9. Thanks for sharing your word and how you arrived at it…this is the first year that I have picked a word, but it seemed to go with what God has been showing me and it is “OPEN.” Just posted about it 🙂

    • Dolly, I’m so glad you stopped by! Your word (and post) spoke deeply to me. I’m so thankful you shared how God is opening up your heart. Thank you.
      This is my first year of being so focused on what to strive for this year, too. And I’m looking forward to seeing how this unfolds for both of us!

  10. Pingback: What If… « simplystriving

  11. My word this year is love, but I’m finding that being intentional is a huge part of that. Loving others doesn’t always come easy, and I really have to be intentional about it sometimes. I’m also being more intentional about strengthening current friendships and opening up my heart to new ones. I’m right there with you on this one!!! 🙂

    • You’re right, Katie. Love and Intentional go hand in hand. And I love your word for this year! There is nothing greater to focus on than God’s Greatest Commandment. Looking forward to seeing how God works through you this year! To God be the glory!!

  12. I’ve bumped into so many choosing to live intentionally this year. Even though it isn’t my word, it is so much my passion. I count it a privilege to be hosting a year long series on living intentionally at the Internet Cafe, and I would love for you to join us in sharing your journey on this mission. You can find the link on the home page and a ton of resources I’ve created over at my life coaching website, http://www.pnpcoaching.com.

    Blessings,
    Lisa

  13. Pingback: Praying with Purpose Applied « simplystriving

  14. Wow, I love your post. I chose the word Intentional as well with very similar thoughts, and it is an area I’ve always struggled in. I think I’m just a bit too laid back so just let things happen! But not in 2012! Praying all the best for you in your year of Intent! 🙂

  15. Pingback: Joy Unexpected « simplystriving

  16. What a great word and wonderful post. It is amazing how God “gives” us our word. Mine is Contentment and this week was a battle but God lead me through.

    One thing I have discovered with my word is that God does a “cleaning out” so he can bless me and fill me with more of him.

    Have a wonderful day 🙂

    • Contentment. What a wonderful thing to strive for in 2012! And I think you’re right. I’m finding the more I seek Him and strive to be intentional, the more dust bunnies I discover that need to be cleaned out! What a wonderful (and sometimes painful) process, this growing closer to Him has become. An amazing adventure indeed! I pray you find contentment this year, Ms. Kathleen. Thank you for stopping by!

  17. Pingback: Called to Love « simplystriving

  18. Pingback: My Journey to the Cross « simplystriving

  19. Pingback: No Excuses « simplystriving

  20. Pingback: Opportunities to Shine « simplystriving

  21. Pingback: Inspired Utterance ~ The Mother’s Day Version « simplystriving

  22. Pingback: Bloggers Prayer Project « simplystriving

  23. Pingback: Prayer Project ~ {and a Grocery Conviction Guest Post} « simplystriving

  24. Pingback: This is Life {My Eye on the Prize} « simplystriving

  25. This is an amazing post! The My One Word book releases on December 18th. I hope that you check it out! I hope your year with INTENTIONAL has been amazing. What word will you choose for 2013? Visit MyOneWord.org or see us on Facebook or Twitter for some tips on picking your next word.

I can't wait to hear from you...

