My Christmas Gifts

The day of Christmas has passed.
The last leftover meal has been eaten.
One tin of treats remain.

New puzzles have been assembled.
Stuffed stockings are emptied.
Remnants of wrappings remain.

Church festivities have ended.
The last carolers have sung.
Yet the story of Christmas remains.

For Christmas resides in us.
All year through.
God’s precious gift remains.

And as I sit in my favorite chair, reflecting on the event I just experienced, I pull out my Gifts Journal to capture my gifts given. One at a time.

  • Weather cooperated enough to make this Christmas memorable.
  • Witnessing the faith of my child and the exuberant joy it brings.
  • Popsicle stick ornaments made by practicing hands embellishing our Christmas tree.
  • Simplifying the Season this year. Slowed down enough to absorb more of Him.
  • It was not the flu. Simply car-sickness.
  • No car trouble.
  • So many Christmas cards adorn my refrigerator. We are so blessed with amazing friends and family.
  • Toddler’s questions about the birth story still coming through the distraction of gifts and celebration.
  • The Christmas Eve message still speaking to my heart. Oh how He loves us.
  • Husband surprising me with such a thoughtful gift.

Nearly a dozen more fill up the page before I pause to reflect. Yes, it was a Merry Christmas indeed. I learned to behold Him. He taught me how to be still and know. And I spent time revelling my Emmanuel with my family. Together.

For Christmas resides in us.
All year through.
God’s precious gift remains.

How about you? What do you remember most about this Christmas season? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking this post up to:

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Gifts

  1. Have found your blog through the 1000 gifts, and I’m loving all the wonderful posts! I started my first post in this frame of mind and did my first gift as well. Thanks for this post – we can make the spirit of the season last so much longer when we reflect on our gifts.

    • So happy you stopped by, Christy! And thank you for taking the time to comment.
      I love the initiative you took to capture your glimpses of grace. Way to go! Will be stopping by your blog again soon.
      To God be the glory!

I can't wait to hear from you...

