My Emmanuel

When I am striving to Behold my King, See my Redeemer, get to Know my Savior more, I like to reflect upon the names of Him. We talked about this some in this post (mainly in comments).

And my favorite name we hear often around Christmas is:

Emmanuel.
Meaning God is with us.

You may see it as Immanuel — when it’s translated from Hebrew (Old Testament).

Isaiah 7:14

Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign:
The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son,
and will call him Immanuel. (NIV)

Since I’m saved by the grace provided through the events of the New Testament (one of them being the event foretold in that passage), I will use the Greek translation.

Emmanuel.
God is with us. With me. With you.

I’ve been reflecting on what this name means to me. What is says about my God. And I keep going back to something I say all. the. time.

Oh how He loves us.

So much so that He wanted to be with us.
Right there in the trenches. With me. With you.
Just as He’s always promised.

And I can’t help but wonder,
Do I live my life like He is right here with me?
Just me and my Emmanuel?

I’m striving.
And you know what? He’s right here helping me along the way.
That’s my Emmanuel.
I pray He’s yours as well.

If you’d like to take some time to contemplate your Emmanuel, here are some songs to help you along your journey.

My friend Amy @ Making a Joyful Home has a post about this very thing,
including a great Sojourn song I had never heard.
You may find that post HERE.

  • I’ve already mentioned my favorite instrumental rendition of “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” in THIS POST.

But here is my favorite vocal rendition.

  • Hillsong’s Emmanuel
  • I’m going to show my age with this one, but I still love it. Emmanuel by Amy Grant (and Micheal W. Smith)

How about you? How do you live your life like He is with you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

17 thoughts on “My Emmanuel

  1. It is hard to live on constant communion withGod. I try to keep talking to Him, praying long after my morning devotion. Remembering that He us truly God with us, always, everywhere.
    A Christmas song I love is Christmas Canon by Trans Siberian Orchestra. My eyes fill with tears. He is truly our groom. Walking through life with us.

    • Oh how I love that song, too, Danelle! Thank you so much for sharing it with me and letting me linger on it more…
      And yes–it is hard. I’m so thankful you keep trying. That’s all we can ever do, right? keep striving?
      I’m blessed to share this journey with you, Danelle!

  2. Dear Nikki,
    How amazing that the Creator of the universe will indwell any human heart that welcomes Him!
    Thanks so much for visiting and commenting on Saved by Grace!
    Your blog is a blessing and I am now following it by email, and I invite you to follow Saved by Grace as well.
    Love in Him,
    Laurie

  3. I’ve been trying so much to contemplate “God With Us” this season, and it makes me think so much about how I love my life. I love your list of songs here! And thanks for linking mine, too. 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Hi Nikki, I feel like I’ve been on an incredible faith journey for the past few years, but especially this year. He IS here with each of us, every day, every step of the way.

    “Do I live my life like He is right here with me?” I want to!! I want to ask myself this every day and live intentionally, sharing each day with Emmanuel.

    In Christ,
    Laura

    • Thanks for stopping by, Laura!
      Living intentionally — yes! this is what has been on my heart as of late. That and being present. Just as He is for me. . .

      Merry Christmas to you! will be stopping by your blog again soon.

      In Him,
      Nikki

  5. God with me. Sometimes I forget that the living God is living on the inside of me. I forget that He’s right here, closer than my breath. I strive to be close to Him, but really, He’s so close!

  6. Pingback: My Christmas Gifts « simplystriving

  7. Pingback: Worship by Name « simplystriving

  8. Pingback: He Knew I’d Need a Savior « simplystriving

  9. Pingback: All Hopes and Fears Are Met « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

