This Little Light is Mine to Shine

“Wow, look at that house, Mom! Did you see it?”
“More lights out my side (window)! Look!”

This is the only time of year I enjoy taking the long way home while under the night sky. No hurry. Let’s enjoy the artwork of light. Color. Adornments that celebrate the season of Jesus’ birthday.

And my toddler couldn’t agree more.

Questions and comments were pouring in this night and I was relieved they were mostly directed towards my husband as my mind was caught contemplating his observations.

“Why doesn’t that house have any lights?”
“Why does that house only have lights on the inside?”
“Wow–that house sure is bright!”
“That house has colored lights and that house has white lights!”

A pang of guilt hits me just below the throat as I realize we didn’t go all out on Christmas lights outside our home this year. Our decorations are mostly on the inside. Yet I think the lump in my throat stems from the question within:

Am I keeping my light hidden?
Do I shine for Jesus beyond Christmas?

My mind wanders to the Book of Matthew. Verses I have had memorized since I was a child:

Matthew 5:14 “You are the light of the world.
A city on a hill cannot be hidden.
15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.
Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.
16
In the same way, let your light shine before others,
that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Accepting Jesus as our Savior puts a spark in our hearts. One that bursts forth in bright flames when tended to. That act of praise brings our Father glory. And what’s even better? It’s contagious. It can spread like wildfire.

And I ask myself,
Have I kindled my fire lately?
Am I shining bright enough to illuminate others?
Do my actions glorify my Heavenly Father?
Am I bright enough?
Is this how I avoid being lukewarm? 

This Christmas Season, I will strive to shine my light bright. I will illuminate Him in my actions and reactions. Will you join me? Together, we can become the most brilliant string of Christmas lights this world has ever seen.

And what a sight that would be. To God be the glory!

How about you? How do you keep your light shining? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki


Romans 13:12 
“The night is nearly over; the day is almost here.
So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light.”

Am linking up with:

2 thoughts on “This Little Light is Mine to Shine

  1. “Becoming” the Christmas lights. I love this. I’ve been reading a few of your recent posts and it certainly looks like we have much in common. 🙂 Looking forward to reading more here. Thanks for stopping by my blogging corner. I do believe I’ve met a new friend.:) Have a beautiful Thanksgiving;).

    • Oh, thank you so much for taking the time to stop by, Danelle! So happy to have found you via Tuesdays unwrapped. I look forward to getting to know you. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Thanksgiving 😉

I can't wait to hear from you...

