Be Still and Know

Last week got away from me. I didn’t want it to. I don’t even know where it went. (It wasn’t all in vain.) But after reflecting on the week, this has been laid heavy on my heart:

For years I considered this verse to be more of a meditational verse. A reflection of His glory. I thought, if I could just put life in slow motion for a minute to reflect on Him, I would know He has everything under control.

I’m always striving to simplify. Slow down life’s pace. Be still amongst the tide. The noise. The drama.

To be still and simply know…

I got to thinking, I often see Exodus 14:14 associated with the verse above.

And lately, I’ve been wondering if I fully understand what the Lord means by being still. This Exodus verse makes me feel like there is more to it than mere meditation. So I looked up the Hebrew verb and its meaning for both verses (and found both of these instances use the same verb). I read a number of commentaries on this very subject and here’s what I discovered:

To “be still” stems from the verb rapha which means

  • to be weak
  • to let go
  • to release

It doesn’t mean to slow down, to stop doing, to reflect.

Friends, it’s about trust.

It’s about giving up trusting in ourselves in order to
experience the full glory of God’s all-sufficiency.

Complete surrender.

  • For when we are weak, He is strong.
  • When we let go, He carries us.
  • When we release, He can redirect.

When we decrease, He will increase. 

And the teenage girl from Nazareth we simply know as Mary
knew this well.
So well she lived it even when every fiber in her being was telling her otherwise.

I’m fairly certain the teenage me would have said “um, thanks but no thanks” to becoming pregnant before I was even of marrying age let alone not even married. I would have reminded God this act would disgrace my family and could potentially ruin my future. My dreams. My ambitions. After all, how could being involved in something so morally unacceptable be filled with God’s glory?!

I wouldn’t have been so agreeable.
I highly doubt I would have surrendered completely.
I would have argued a bit.

Oh but I’m striving to change that.

Because who am I that I might suppress God’s glory.
Who am I to doubt He has everything under control?

Friends, I know how this game of life ends.
God wins.
That’s the only detail I need to be concerned with.

This Christmas season, I’m going to strive to completely surrender. To get out of the way of my own life. To live the life He has intended for me. For it’s full of grandeur. It’s saturated with His glory. It’s certain to be better than anything I could ever imagine.

Yes, I will be still and know. For God is on my side. God loves me so much He gave up His own perfect child. For me. One who’s still striving.

Will you join me in experiencing the full glory of God’s all-sufficiency?

How about you? How do you become still? I’d love to hear. 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking this up with:

The Grace Cafe  , The Internet Cafe and

18 thoughts on “Be Still and Know

    • Hi Sarah (Nikki)! Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment. Yes–that verse is a good one to read every day. I might just have to carry it around with me for awhile…
      To God be the Glory!

  1. I’m visiting from the Grace Cafe and I’m so glad I did! The attitude of trust is still and restful isn’t it. You captured that beautifully and made clear things I’d never thought of before! God certainly used it to speak to my heart, thank you!

  2. This is wonderful! I have that very verse (The Psalm one) displayed in my kitchen counter. When I am needing to slow down, I force myself to look at it and stop. I too have been striving to slow down and simplify every part of my life. I struggle with not doing anything when that is not what God is asking me to do when he says “Be Still”. Such an important truth you brought up there. Still figuring out the balance there. I think it is all about God redirecting, like you said. Loved your blog! I’ll be back 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Christina! Those are excellent verses to have displayed. I think I need to do that, too. They’re such perfect reminders to help refocus during life’s rushed pace.
      Am looking forward to getting to know you! 🙂

  3. For when we are weak, He is strong.
    When we let go, He carries us.
    When we release, He can redirect.

    Oh, how I needed these words today! Thank you!

    I stopped by from Chatting at the Sky. So glad I did!

    Laura

  4. Pingback: My Christmas Gifts « simplystriving

  5. Pingback: His Waiting Room « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

