Do I Behold Him?

This is a continuation of my thoughts regarding  “Do I See Him?” and “Do I Know Him?

Luke 2:10 “And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy,
which shall be to all people.”

My three-year old stops my Christmas story-telling to ask me question number seventeen:

“Mom, what does behold mean?”

In effort of not losing momentum, I say it means to look and then read the verse again using the synonym mentioned. And he was content. Until he had thought about it for a bit. Question #18 soon followed:

“But, Mom, why didn’t the angel just say to look?”

And this is example number 3,867 of how God uses my toddler to speak to me. To teach me a lesson. Why did the angel use the word behold? What is the significance?

And for the 12,842nd time, I click on my search engine to answer questions of a boy 30 years my junior.

be·hold  (Be`hold´): To perceive through use of the mental faculty; comprehend
To direct the eyes to, or fix them upon
To look upon, to gaze at
To see with attention (You have to be a good observer to see all the details)
To perceive through sight or apprehension
Give regard to, to hold into view

And I can’t help but wonder: Do I Behold Him? 

Do I regard Christ in my day-to-day? Are my eyes fixed on Jesus to the point where I don’t want to look away, but want to study Him. Personify His actions, portray His mannerisms. Linger on His every word. Do I behold Him?

I’m reminded of a post I read recently from the lovely Barbie @
My Freshly Brewed Life (read the post here).
She mentions her pastor sharing the message of

What you behold, you will become.” 

And I can’t help but wonder: Who am I becoming? 

My thoughts journey back to the shepherds, hearing what they need to behold. Of my child wanting to know what the angel was really asking them to do. And I realize, I was way off.

To behold doesn’t mean to look.

It means to never stop. To never lose sight. To hold your gaze so unwaveringly that you become what you are holding.

Yes, Lord, I hear You. I will strive to never let go. To never lose sight.

This Christmas season, I will behold Jesus.

And what a sight my Savior is…

How about you? How do you behold Him? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this post up with:

Word Filled Wednesdays,

The Grace Cafe and

39 thoughts on “Do I Behold Him?

    • So true, Heather. Thanks for your words.
      Hard is right. What a mess humanity has woven in this strange land that’s not our home. It takes daily effort to look through the threads to find our light source. Oh but I’m striving. Because, like David, I know He’s there.
      I pray you catch a glimmer of His radiance today, Heather. And hope you join me in striving to behold Him again tomorrow. To God be the glory

  1. Do I behold him? I think the thought frightens me. That’s heavy-duty. I can generally only handle a small glance. In fact, I think the older I get, the more I resonate with the Old Testament mantra that no one could see God and live. Maybe I will behold again someday.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Kati! I hear what you’re saying. The idea of being a deer in headlights is scary. But God so desperately wants us to love Him with every fiber of our being–it was His greatest commandment. And I can’t figure out how to do that unless I’m seeking Him. Beholding Him. Trusting Him with my heart. Yes, that’s what I’ll strive to do. . . .
      I pray you discover how to behold Him in your own way, too.

  2. Great post! Yes, there is a difference between simply “looking at” or beholding Christ! I pray that each day I behold Him more and more. Your post really got me thinking — thanks!

    Blessings, Joan

    P.S. I love the robins in the snow in your header picture!

    • Joan,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a note to encourage me!
      Oh to behold Him. . . . something certainly worth striving for…
      (and thanks for noticing my header! My Brother-in-law took that photo and is graciously sharing it with me. I love it, too!)
      To God be the glory,
      Nikki

  3. Nikki – I adore WORD meanings – pulling them apart to find true meaning or nuance. So I double love this. When my boys “look” for something – they do not truly seek to behold it – to capture it in their gaze, to hold it in their vision unwavering. “Behold” – means “Wow” – do you see what I see (another song! LOL).

    Thank you for making my day more delightfully word beautiful!

  4. Nikki!!! Ah, I love, love, love for so many reasons!! First, the humbling a three year-old gives…oh my!! And, I’ve just been meditating on II Cor. 3:18 over the past few years;} which is exactly what you describe here and no, I can NEVER hear all of this enough, because the constant reminder and drawing to brings the beholding:} thank you, sister:}:}:}

    • Thanks for stopping by, Abby! what a beautiful verse to meditate on. It’s worth talking about over and over again, isn’t it. Glorifying Him with unveiled faces… Oh to behold Him.!
      What a blessing you are! 🙂

  5. Beholding Jesus, takes on many different pathways. Do we see Him in creation? Do we see Him moving in our everyday chores, events, functions, and relationships. Jesus said “when I was hungry you feed me, when I was thirsty you gave me something to drink. and the reply was “when did we feed you, or when did we give you something to drink?” and Jesus replied ” in as much as you have done this onto the least of these, you have done it onto Me.”
    we are on this journey called LIFE. No where in His word does it say that life will be fair. But it does say that we will be blessed if we persever under trails and tribulations. It does tell us to continue to do good and not ot grow werey(sp?)
    When we help some one, maybe they will see Jesus in us. Or maybe we did it unto Jesus. If we can continuely have an attitude that reflects Jesus, then maybe we are beholding Jesus.
    He has given us, each and everyone of us, gifts. when we use those gifts, it brings glory and honor to Christ. I’m glad to see that my daughter (and daughters) are using their gifts to bring glory to Christ. (most of the time it is not easy. but that is when we realize that He was helping us through it.) PRIASE GOD!

    • Hi Dad,
      thinking of you typing this out makes me smile. thank you for taking the time to do that.
      and yes–there are so many ways to behold our Savior. I, too, believe it starts with our attitude.
      So thankful He’s here to help us through this thing we call life! I couldn’t do it without Him, and it would be so much more difficult without you encouraging me along the way. thank you.
      To God be the glory!

  6. Thank you for the link love! I am striving this season to focus on Jesus and not on all of the other stuff. It’s so true that whatever we spend our time beholding, those things will become most important to us. I want Jesus to always be forefront in my life!

  7. Nikki:

    Yes it is one thing to look (glance) at something or someone and another to behold. Do I give Jesus a passing glance or do I feast upon the riches of His word each day? Do I call on Him only in times of need or do I spend time in fellowship with Him?

    Great post! Certainly something to ponder.

    • Thank you for commenting, Joan. “do I feast upon the riches of His word” Love that.
      I read something today that caught my eye: “Do I tell God about my big problems or do I tell my problems I have a big God?” I’m certain if I continue to behold my King, I will fall into the latter…..It’s worth striving for.

      Thank you for letting me link up to your beautiful site! Blessings to you!

  8. Pingback: Christmas Worship ~ Music Mondays « simplystriving

  9. Pingback: My Emmanuel « simplystriving

  10. Pingback: My Christmas Gifts « simplystriving

  11. Pingback: Love Like This « simplystriving

  12. Pingback: Coffee Talk With Jesus {A GIVEAWAY} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

