A Blogging Reflection

Do you mind if we take a break from our regularly scheduled posts today? I’d like to share something with you…

When I started this blog, I simply wanted to make note of what God had pressed upon my heart to strive towards. In complete sentence form, not just random thoughts that flooded my brain. I had hopes it would help me move forward. Avoid becoming stagnant. Feel more purposeful. Why anyone would want to read any of that I had no idea, but I needed to put myself out there. To stretch myself. For my Jehovah.

I had always thought, there are so many sites, the world didn’t need me to add to it. I worried about competing against blogs I enjoy reading on a daily basis–ones that are saturated with prolific writing and encouraging words. Then there was the argument of time constraints, adding to my responsibility plate, and the unknown realm of prioritizing my ideas for posts, etc. I worried about my relationships — new and old, I fretted negative feedback, and cowered under the necessity of learning a bit of new technology.

I argued with God about this for some time.
a long time
To be honest, it’s still an open discussion between us.

As of today, Simplystriving has been on the world-wide web for 4 weeks. I’m certain anyone who’s been blogging awhile will tell you I still have no idea what I’m doing, and that’s okay with me. They’d be correct.

But I’m doing it. I’m striving. For my Jehovah.
I’m learning more than I ever dreamed.
And you’re making this journey easier on me.

I am still clueless about stats and traffic counts, but the friends I’m “meeting” are countless. I appreciate all of you. You have all encouraged me to keep striving. Thank you. And I’d love it if you gave me the chance to get to know you better. Feel free any time to comment a quick hello or send a private email to me.

I still have no idea how transparent I should be, but I’m striving to show my heart with every post in a transparent way. Which is harder for me to do than share with you all the ins and outs of my everyday activities.

I am still unsure how God intends to use me with this platform, but He is faithful and has been providing the time, the ideas, the support I need to continue.

So I write. I share my journey. I press ‘Publish’ with a trembling finger.
I remind myself, He’s worth being uncomfortable for.
And I listen. To my Savior. To my family. To my readers. (To you.)

Because we’re all striving. Stretching. Sometimes struggling.
Why not encourage each other along the way.

In honor of having a month of blogging under my belt, I’d love to open this post up to questions, comments, any feedback you have to give.

  • Ask me anything.
  • Share with me what you’re striving for.
  • Tell me what you’d like to see more of on Simplystriving.
  • Pass along a prayer request.
  • Or all of the above.

You pick! I’d love to hear from you. And if you’d prefer to email privately, that’s perfectly fine with me. I can be reached at Simplystriving (at) gmail (dot) com.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

12 thoughts on “A Blogging Reflection

  1. Happy one month blogging anniversary!! Wow! What a fast month!!

    I am soooo proud of you, Nikki. Your blog is simply wonderful! 🙂 The words that God is speaking through you have given me (and no doubt, countless others) so much encouragement. I look forward to reading each new post with enthusiasm as I know each one is a message from Him. Anybody can put words together and shine them up to make something interesting and inspirational, but it takes true strength of character to humbly put oneself aside and wear the lens of transparency so the Light of the World can shine through and illuminate things we can strive to change or be encouraged that we are doing well. This blog is a ministry. Be assured of that. You have my full support…mostly prayer support. Keep pressing on…

    Much love to you, my cousin, my sister-in-Christ, ~ginger~

  2. I’m a newer follower, but I have really enjoyed your posts already! Happy one month anniversary! I really appreciated this phrase in your post today:

    “Because we’re all striving. Stretching. Sometimes struggling.
    Why not encourage each other along the way.”

    That’s what it’s all about! Thanks for sharing your heart with us today.

  3. Revelation 12:11 ” And they overcame him (Satan) by the blood of the lamb & by the word of their testimony, & they did not love their lives to the death.” Keep sharing as our story is our testimony! Love & prayers, your sister in Jesus, Cynthia

  4. Happy 1 month blog birthday! Congrats on making 4 weeks! Sharing your heart for others to hear is brave! Keep it up, someday your kids will read it and it will be such a testimony to them!

  5. Oh, I love this, Nikki! I am with you! Although I have been blogging for about 10 months now, I can completely relate to all that you have so beautifully, vulnerably shared. Keep going! Just heed His voice. That’s all we have to do. 🙂 Gratefully, Jennifer

    • Thank you so much, Jennifer. “Just heed His voice.” and that, friend, is exactly what I’m going to strive to do.
      (and I never would have guessed it’s been only 10 months for you!)
      So thankful for you, Nikki

I can't wait to hear from you...

