Beautiful God ~ Music Mondays

My three-year old son was chatting the morning away. It’s a common occurrence and I must admit I was struggling with staying attentive. He enjoys telling stories. Some I’m told are dreams. Some he claims he just thought of. All are full of brilliant imagination. Today was no different, except when his tone changed.

“Mom, I wish you could have seen it. It’s called ____ (a word I didn’t understand and am certain is not in the English dictionary).”
“Oh, I wish I could have seen it, too, bud. What was the name again? (sorry, didn’t get it) Can you try to tell me what it looked like?”

I was still unsure what we were talking about, but he now had my full attention. He was clearly enthralled as his hands began adding to the conversation; his lips curling towards the direction he’s now pointing: our ceiling.

“I know that’s white, mom, but it was nothing like that. Except it was. But it wasn’t. It was a color I have never seen! You would like it.”
“Oh, I’m sure I would like it. What was the name again? (still didn’t get it) Can you let me know if you ever see it again?”

“Mom, it’s nothing I can show you. You’ll just have to try to see it. Try again, mom. Try again.”

That moment touched me so. I’m not sure if it was because of how occupied I’ve been trying to visualize my Jehovah (remember this post) or because I felt a glimmer of heaven through his eyes. His imagination envisioned a new color and that naturally drew me upwards. For I’m sure God has more beauty in store for our eternity. More colors than my son or I have ever imagined. Oh, but I love trying.

Yes, that’s what I loved most. “Try again, mom. Try again.”

Have you ever tried to visualize how awesome our Creator truly is? When I’m focusing on imagining Him, this song always comes to mind: “Beautiful” by Shawn McDonald.

Shawn McDonald captures how I feel. He encapsulates how insignificant one can feel in the grand scheme of grace. When I am standing in awe of some magnificent scenery, I can’t help but think: the hand that created that made you. Made me. And He is proud of His creation. All of it. Who am I that I might have a personal relationship with the King of Kings…

This thought process is mirrored in the song, and is why “Beautiful” will always be one of my forever favorites.

I’d like to share this song with you.

The audible version of this song is posted below the lyrics if you’d care to enjoy. (If you’re reading this in a reader format, please click here to listen in.)

Beautiful by Shawn McDonald

 ♪♫ As I look into the stars. Pondering how far away they are.
How you hold them in Your hands and still you know this (wo)man.
You know my inner most being. Even better than I know, than I know myself.

What a beautiful God. What a beautiful God.

And what am I. That I might be called Your child.
What am I? What am I that You might know me, my King!

What am I, what am I, what am I… ♪♫

~~~

♪♫ As I look off into the distance. Watching the sun roll on by.
Beautiful colors all around me, painted all over the sky.
The same hands that created all of this, they created you and I!

What a beautiful God. What a beautiful God!

And what am I, that I might be called Your child
What am I, what am I that You might know me, my King?!

What am I, what am I that You might die that I might live.

What am I, what am I……what am I ♪♫

How about you? What song comes to mind when contemplating how beautiful our God is? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’ve linked this post up to:

4 thoughts on “Beautiful God ~ Music Mondays

  1. The one that jumps into my mind is a praise song we used to sing in Intervarsity called “Let us Adore.” It’s done in call and response fashion, and I always found it beautiful. The hymn “Immortal, Invisible” comes to mind as well.

  2. Wow, Nikki! What an incredible song!!! I have never heard this one before, but have always loved Shawn McDonald. Thanks so much for sharing how it touches your heart. One of my new favorites… and one I needed today!!! SO glad you linked up this week! 🙂 Have a wonderful week!

    • Oh, thanks for taking the time to stop on by, Paula! So thankful for finding you on twitter so I knew to link up, too 😉 It makes my heart happy that you liked the song, too. You have a great week and I’ll see you at the next link-up!

I can't wait to hear from you...

