Praying with Purpose

In regards to my new(er) role as a parent, one thing is certain:

It has significantly increased my prayer life.

Those quiet glances upwards I frequently do get me through the day. Plus there are mealtimes, bedtimes, devotional times and all the times I feel led to pray for this growing boy clinging to my knees.

Yes, I pray a lot. My God and I? We talk often.

Lately I’ve felt like I don’t use this open line of communication as well as I could. I mean, I have my own personal line to The King of Kings and I can’t help but wonder, am I squandering that? Even though I pick up that line often, my conversations have been less than thrilling. They’ve mostly been driven by spontaneity more than specificity. Friends, I’ve been in a rut and if I’m going to raise this child in the way he should go, that needs to change. Today. I need to step up my game. If I’m striving to parent with purpose, I need to pray for my child with purpose as well.

Time to come up with a game plan.

Want to know what I did? I talked to God about it. His ideas are always better than mine. And over the last couple weeks, He’s been showing me the course of action I’m going to take.

Last week, while reading in Ephesians, a few verses caused me to stop short and immediately pray specifically what was written with my child in mind.

“I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know Him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you”Ephesians 1:16-18NIV

I immediately wrote these verses down and intend on including them in my prayer routine for my child. They remind me to give thanks for the miracle addition he has been to our family. They remind me of my main desire for my child: that he may know Christ better and desire to follow the path God has in mind specifically for him.

Then I was reminded of something else. In my fairly recent introduction to twitter, I was blessed to stumble upon Kat @Inspired2Action. She often tweets a prayer topic for the day in regards to praying for our children. I’ve loved them and do just that when I see her tweet(s). A few clicks on her website helped me discover a wonderful series she wrote awhile back on her blog about this very topic. If you’re struggling like I am, please take a peek at it. Her prayer calendar tool and other suggestions could help you come up with your own game plan. You may view the first part of the series (including the prayer calendar) HERE.

This has been a great start to my new game plan for prayer. I already had time carved out of my day for prayer, I’ve simply added more specifics. More purpose. But God’s not done with me yet. He has impressed upon my heart that I need to focus my vision even further. There are a number of steps I’ll be striving to take over the next few weeks.

Mind if I keep sharing them with you?

How about you? How do you pray for your children with purpose? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this post up with:

 

12 thoughts on “Praying with Purpose

  1. Nikki,
    I started praying pretty hard core when my daughter was diagnosed with a lung disease. However, even though my daughter’s health has improved my endless prayers for her and her sister haven’t.

    My recent prayer: Good friends. Quality friends. People who love and accept her.

    • Thank you for stopping by, Amy! I hadn’t heard of your daughter’s illness but Praise the Lord it has improved! And what a wonderful habit to have formed as a result. Yes, good, quality friends that love and accept my children for who they are have been added to my list. thank you for your comment!

  2. Visiting from Write It, Girl…

    When we moved from KY to TX, I prayed specifically for a friend for my son, a good, faithful, compatible friend. To his glory, he provided! A new student moved to our school, a boy my son immediately connected with.

    Yes, praying for EVERY aspect of our child and their lives is invaluable!

    Thank you for this post…

  3. Wow! What a wake-up call!!! Although I pray for my son, I never thought about paying w/ purpose… always for God to lead him to His will/ calling on Matt’s life… for cooperation at home and at school… to be a leader… to share Jesus with those around him… but not as puposeful as I could… Thank You!

    • Thank you, Kat, for encouraging me and inspiring me! YOU are a gem, too. I appreciate you stopping by and thank you so much for helping me strive to become the mother I know God would want me to be.

  4. Smiling as I think of how much I pray while I am parenting my 4 girls. It is more like, “Oh Lord, you gave me these girls, bless them and give me patience!”

    So yes – my prayer life has increased!

    I have done different things – but hands down, praying Scripture is the best way to pray!

    Thanks for linking up with Write It, Girl!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, Stacey! Yes, I’m finding praying scripture gets my intentions across better than I ever could. What a blessing to have The Word to look towards for all my ponderings. Thank YOU for letting me link up! What a blessing it has been.

  5. Pingback: My Legacy of Vibrancy « simplystriving

  6. Pingback: Praying with Purpose Applied « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

