Thanksliving

For my friends in America, the day of Thanksgiving is upon us. As a parent of a very curious preschooler, I thought I’d better refresh my memory on how Thanksgiving originated. Have you ever googled such a thing? I never knew there was so much controversy surrounding when this holiday originated and how.

We all remember the gist of it. Pilgrims traveled via boat in hopes of discovering new territory. When they finally found land and set their feet on solid ground, they gave thanks. When they were struggling to feed the colony that survived the voyage, their Native American neighbors taught them how to live off of the land. They celebrated and gave thanks together after the first full harvest.

Now remember, this was no pleasure cruise. This boat was no Titanic. No plumbing, heat, or electricity. No weather tracking equipment helping them steer around any dangerous water ahead. Nothing. All the passengers possessed was a drive to keep going and the unwavering passion to discover a new life.

They had given up everything they had ever owned or known for a life they weren’t guaranteed to get.

Is that ignorance or is that faith?

They had quite a few mishaps on their voyage. But they made it. William Buford captured the event in his journal:

“Being thus arrived at a good harbor, and brought safely to land,
they fell on their knees and blessed the God of heaven who had brought them over the vast and furious ocean
and delivered them from all the perils and miseries thereof.”

They praised. They felt thankful. They worshipped.

But their trials were not over. Sickness broke out. They lost half of their population due to health-related deaths. Yet they set aside a day of thanksgiving.

Is that ignorance or is that devotion?

I’ve said it before: God is good. All. The. Time. He never waivers. He never falters. He has never failed.

He is worthy to be praised.

Our struggling settlers not only knew that, they lived it. They practiced thanks. And so should we. Beyond the Thanksgiving holiday. Even during trials.

Through life’s hurdles — we should give thanks.

Can we live like that? Giving thanks all year round?
Can we turn Thanks
giving into Thanksliving?

I’m willing to try. Will you join me?

I’ll start.

I’m thankful God has given us so many promises we can rely on:

  • His mercies are new every morning.  (Lamentations 3:22-24)
  • God has a plan for each of us. One that gives us a future and hope. (Jeremiah 29:11)
  • He will supply all our needs. (Philippians 4:19)
  • Nothing can ever separate us from Christ’s love. (Romans 8:37-39)
  • My debt was paid. My sins are forgiven. My reward is heaven if I only repent and believe. (Romans 10:9, John 3:16)
Just to name a few.

To practice my life of thanksliving, I hope you don’t mind if I continue to share  my thanks on this blog. You will find the posts in my Joy in the Journey Category on my sidebar or more specifically tagged “Giving Thanks”.

How about you? How will you try to turn Thanksgiving into Thanksliving? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking this post up to:

6 thoughts on “Thanksliving

  1. Nikki: I love your idea – “Thanksliving”. When we live a life of gratitude, it’s hard to have negative emotions.

    I pray your thanksgiving day was a good one and thanks for sharing a bit of the Thanksgiving story.

    Blessings,
    Joan

    • Thanks for stopping by, Joan! Yes–we can only feel one emotion at a time. We get to choose. I pick joy! which I believe will be brought by “thanksliving”.

      I trust you were able to celebrate your many blessings this Thanksgiving as well.

      To God be the glory,
      Nikki

  2. Pingback: Variety of Thanks « simplystriving

  3. Pingback: ThanksLiving Thursday « simplystriving

  4. Pingback: Thankful Surrender « simplystriving

  5. Pingback: My Life Song « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

