My Top Ten Thanksgiving Quotes

I’ve been reading up on Thanksgiving this past week and stumbled upon some great quotes. Inspired by OhAmanda‘s Top Ten Tuesdays, I would love to share the ten Thanksgiving quotes that have affected me the most in one form or another.

I hope they put you in the heart of Thanksgiving this week.

1.   If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, ‘thank you,’ that would suffice.
~ Meister Eckhart

2.   To speak gratitude is courteous and pleasant, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live gratitude is to touch Heaven.
~ Johannes A. Gaertner

3.   The Pilgrims made seven times more graves than huts. No Americans have been more impoverished than these who, nevertheless, set aside a day of thanksgiving.
~ H.U. Westermayer

4.

Thou that has given so much to me,
Give one thing more — a grateful heart;
Not thankful when it pleases me,
As if Thy blessings had spare days;
But such a heart, whose pulse may be Thy praise.
~George Herbert

5.   Best of all is it to preserve everything in a pure, still heart, and let there be for every pulse a thanksgiving, and for every breath a song.
~ Konrad von Gesner

6.   Thanksgiving, man. Not a good day to be my pants.
~ Kevin James

7.   Gratitude is the inward feeling of kindness received. Thankfulness is the natural impulse to express that feeling. Thanksgiving is the following of that impulse.
~ Henry Van Dyke

8.   Feel thanks and it’s absolutely impossible to feel angry. We can only experience one emotion at a time. And we get to choose — which emotion do we want to feel?
~ Ann Voskamp

9.   As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.
~ John Fitzgerald Kennedy

10.   Gratitude … goes beyond the ‘mine’ and ‘thine’ and claims the truth that all of life is a pure gift. In the past I always thought of gratitude as a spontaneous response to the awareness of gifts received, but now I realize that gratitude can also be lived as a discipline. The discipline of gratitude is the explicit effort to acknowledge that all I am and have is given to me as a gift of love, a gift to be celebrated with joy.
~ Henri J.M. Nouwen

How about you? Which one do you like most? Do you have a favorite Thanksgiving quote/saying? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking this post up with

5 thoughts on “My Top Ten Thanksgiving Quotes

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Jessica! Yes–that Pilgrim one sure puts things into perspective, doesn’t it. There is always something to be thankful for. For all is grace.
      Love how you share your life of adventure on your blog! What a blessing you are.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Janelle! I love Ann’s quote, too. She’s rather quotable, isn’t she.
      Great sale you have going on. 😉
      May God’s blessings overwhelm you this Holiday Season, Janelle.
      To God be the glory!
      ~nikki

  1. Pingback: Living Thanks {My Thanksgiving Prayer} « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

