Some Call it Changing. I Call it Growing.

I’ve never done anything like this before.

One of my favorite blogs, The Gypsy Mama, posts a challenge each Friday to fellow bloggers. She gives a topic and asks them to write for 5 minutes flat. No editing, backtracking, correcting. Just raw blogging.

I’ve always loved Fridays and reading each brilliant post bloggers write. And have always thought I could never do that. Now, look where I am. I’m blogging! I never thought I would do that. (And I still refuse to call myself a blogger.)

But I’m going to give it a try. Because like today’s challenge topic, I want to grow. So, for five minutes straight, while my son practices writing his letters in rice, I’m going to talk about growing. Starting now:

(First, I apologize for the longest intro ever)

Two days ago, I was on my way to get my haircut. The car was quiet. Bliss. Not because I don’t love the chatter of a child, but because I needed time to listen. God and I needed some one-on-one time. So much so, I think I’ll take the slower way to the salon. I want more of Him.

I had just heard a talk from  Gary Smalley a few days earlier and it was still on my mind. The evolving change of marriage. He was saying we need to keep getting to know our partners because everyone changes. You can never know it all. You’ve got to keep up.

I believe it to be true. With the 15+ years my husband and I have been an item, even my favorite pizza toppings have changed. I even eat shrimp on occasion. Friends, I’ve changed. I’ve come a long way.

The word change leaves a negative connotation in my mind for some reason. Maybe because I know not many people like change. Change is usually difficult. Uncomfortable. Personally, I’ve always been a fan. If done effectively, change can produce incredible results.

My thoughts turn to my children now. Watching my oldest son transform right in front of my eyes. He’s changed in so many ways even in the last 6 months. I’m so proud. And that’s when I hear it, a whisper that tingles my neck, “I’m proud of how you’ve grown, too.”

Ah, there it is. Growth.

Yes, Lord, I’ve grown. I’ve learned to rely on You more. I’ve grown in my faith, my praise, my thanks. Some of these growth spurts have been very painful. But they’re sprouting positive results. And I know I’m in capable hands.

Thank you, Father, for taking the time to mold me into a child of the King. I want to grow closer to You. I want to keep reaching up towards You, my All in All. Please keep watering me. Please keep nurturing me. So I can grow.

My thoughts return to my husband and I pray the same for him. I’m so proud of how he’s growing. And I want to take the time to hear him tell me all about it. Gary Smalley was right. We do need to keep that conversation open. We can never know everything about our spouse. There’s always something new to discover. After all, we’re always growing.

::Time::

And I’ve only scratched the surface.

Thanks for this opportunity, The Gypsy Momma. And thank you for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

6 thoughts on “Some Call it Changing. I Call it Growing.

  1. wow, I love this…It’s so true about our always needing to get to know our spouse for our whole marriage. We have been married 3 years and we are COMPLETELY different people from when we said “I do.”
    I love your post, it brought tears to my eyes. Happy tears of thankfulness for growth in the Lord and encouragement. Thank you!

  2. Ooh, this was thought-provoking for me. It got me thinking how I can leave room for long-time family and friends to grow and evolve. It’s a little exciting to think there are exciting changes to look forward to, no matter how old we get or how familiar we are with our loved ones.

    • Aah, yes, Stacie! What a great thought. I guess there’s always hope as there’s always room to grow.
      Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. And for getting me to think more about this…..
      ~nikki

  3. It is amazing how much we change – you made me realise that my favourite pizza toppings have changed too! I like how you brought out that there is always something new to discover in our husbands so we need to keep getting to know them 🙂

I can't wait to hear from you...

