My Daily Delights

Acknowledging His gifts to me in my everyday: 

Morning light seeps through my bedroom doorway. Another day. New mercies. All is Grace.

Worship songs flooding my mind, filling my thoughts. Lingering in bed, enjoying the praise. Amazing God. Extravagant grace. Abundant joy.

Son stretches, skin peaking through getting-too-small jammies. Smiles wide. Waking earlier than normal. Growth. Thriving and the means to buy new jammies. Thank You, Father. I’m so blessed.

The fragrance of natural peanut butter spreading easily on warm, slightly crisp toast. Savoring long this favorite moment of mine. Simple delicacy and the means to enjoy it.

Praise Your Name.

Son squirming through breakfast. Energy revealing his excitement of a brand new day. Ah, to have joy like a child. Praying for wisdom and God’s guidance to get me through the day. To God be the glory.

Morning preschool at home. Workbooks. Glue. Scissors. Glitter. Patience thinning. Mess accumulating. I get to be here. Present. Participating in his new discoveries. What a gift. Thank You, Lord.

Son playing. To-do list prepared. Going to stay home today. Ready to plunge into cleaning. Cleaning the space of those I love. My injured knee is healing. I can do this. All because of You, Jesus.

Washing Machine buzzing. Oven timer chiming. Son calling my name in his melodious forte fashion. This is my Stay-at-home worship tune. Praise in the moment. Eucharisto.

Lunch served. Son giddy over mac-n-cheese. Sitting down next to him to enjoy my rice cake meal creation. Convincing myself it is the new comfort food. Folding hands. Bowing for thanks. Thankfulness. Delight. Substance. Provisions.

Afternoon sun beaming through windows, warming carpet under feet. Decide to go out and enjoy firsthand. To-do list will wait. Son grabs kite while giggling.

Birds singing songs of praise. Trees transforming brilliantly. Leaves fall while branches wave towards Him. Son delights in new discoveries. All from Jehovah. The gift of nature designed by a Masterful Artist. What a blessing.

Preparing supper. Injured knee starting to ache. Son showing he’s ready to end this day. Husband will be home soon. Silent prayer brings a song to mind:

♪♫ This is my story, this is my song. Praising my Savior all the day long. Perfect submission, perfect delight…..♪♫ Gift of song. Thank You, Lord. Just what I needed.

Submerged in dishwater, JJ Heller‘s music in background. Hubby and son playing on the floor in full laughter. Praise in the moment. All this comes from You. I’m so unworthy, but thank You, Father, for proving otherwise.

Bedtime battles. Praying for patience, God’s grace. Snuggles ensue. Love bursting through fluttering eyelids. Sleep embraced. Bending low to pray for this miracle of a boy. So much love. Giving all to God. 

Unwinding. Finishing tasks. Conversations with my husband~ my best friend. Curling up with my Great-Grandma’s afghan handiwork to spend time in The Word. With Him. My Savior. Rejuvenate.

“…Did you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God. The creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and His understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. …those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31NIV

All is grace. All from Him. To God may I bring glory.  

I’m here, Lord. Thanks for showing me Your grace today. In so many ways.

I look forward to seeing what You have in store for tomorrow.

My daily delights.

Eucharisto.

How about you? How do you discover joy in your daily routine? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I’m linking this post up to:

 

Join us for Gratituesday at Heavenly Homemakers!

 

14 thoughts on “My Daily Delights

  1. I enjoyed this. The passage in Isaiah is one of my favorites. Gives me goosebumps every time I read it. I’m often guilty of not discovering joy in my day, but when I stop and think I can always find joy in small things. My morning routine with Hunter on the way to school is to pray and thank God for specific blessings, warm house, reliable car, jobs, etc. Trying to NEVER take those for granted! Keep up the good writing.

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment, Sarah! I find when we don’t take our gifts for granted, God pours more upon us. Even in our everydays. You are blessed beyond measure and what a perfect way to begin your day–by reflecting on that while doing an everyday task. I’m certain God loves that time with you each day. Keep it up! Your kids are watching 🙂

  2. I love this. It’s such a picture of what our lives should look like–amidst the mess and duties, there is thankfulness and joy. I’m so glad you do this, friend. It inspires me to be more mindful of God’s goodness too!

    • Thanks for stopping by today, Beth, and taking the time to comment. You’ve blessed me greatly. God is good ALL the time, isn’t He. . . . if only we all took the time to enjoy it. It’s certainly worth striving for…and I’m up for the challenge!

    • Oh, thank you, Theresa for stopping by and taking the time to comment! Children do bring so much joy, don’t they. They’re truly a blessing. One I don’t ever want to take for granted. I enjoy your blog and will be stopping by again soon!
      ~nikki

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Alene! Yes, I have to remind myself Every.Single.Day. to keep my eyes open for the gifts. The joy. So glad to hear it’s getting easier for you!
      Will be stopping by your blog again soon!
      Many blessings to you.

  3. I’m stopping by from Thankful Thursdays at TTM. I agree with everyone who has already commented…this is a beautifully worded post. Such a lovely example of finding the joys in every moment!

  4. Hi Nikki! So beautiful to meet you through your chorus of poetry and prayer! I felt like I was hearing you sing through the dailiness of life. Loved how you placed your soul song in blue. Thank you for adding your voice to the faith barista jam! What a blessing!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Faith! I have been so encouraged by you and your blog. It is such a blessing to me to be able to finally share my small voice in your faith barista jam. To God be the glory!

  5. What a beautiful day to worship your way through the day! It reminds me of a rule I made for myself when I was home with three young children. Whenever I would start grumbling, even if I didn’t vocalize it, I made myself stop and start singing or humming a song of praise out loud. My kids thought I was a little crazy when I randomly broke into song, but now they do it, too!

    • Oh I love that, Kristin! Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing. I sing a lot around the house. I’m not that good, but it doesn’t stop me from praising! 😉
      You’re right–it changes the heart immediately. Your kids are so blessed to have learned that from you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

