Do I See Him?

This is a continuation of my thoughts regarding a previous post: Do I Know Him?

What a beautiful fall day! An unexpected surprise in the middle of November and we are taking advantage of it. My son is busy playing in his sandbox, filtering for small pebbles as he talks to the squirrel in the tree next to him. I am sitting nearby, Bible in hand, reading crisp words in the refreshing breeze.

Autumn Blessings.

I’m in the Book of Acts — the Acts of the Apostles, completely riveted at how the apostles share their faith. Words like “burning enthusiasm, boldness, without hindrance” jump from the page and my life is starting to feel more lukewarm by the minute. The author, Luke, manages to change my thoughts as he recounts Paul’s trip to Athens. The Athenians considered themselves religious. They worshipped gods religiously, but their gods weren’t God at all. What they held dear turned out to be mere artwork made by simple human hands–trivial trinkets compared to what matters most: the One, true, living God.

I’m nearing the end of the passage when I read Acts 17 verse 29:

“Since we are God’s offspring, we ought not to think that the Deity is like gold, or silver, or stone, an image formed by the art and imagination of mortals.”

And there it is. Resting next to the verse, something I had written in the margin years ago:

What is my image of God?

I look up to see my son now chatting with a bluejay, asking the ornery bird if he’s getting ready for winter like his friend squirrel. And I wonder, do bluejays prepare like squirrels? Do I see them year round? Why do I not know this? I am mentally taking note that this will have to go into my search engine when my heart gently reminds me

This question in the margin deserves to be answered.

How do I, an offspring of God, made in His own image, a likeness of Him no matter how miniscule, see the Lord? One who is all-knowing, all-encompassing, all sovereign……One who Is. How do I picture Him?

I can think of more than 100 words to describe my King, but must admit I cannot wrap my brain around visualizing Him. Gold, silver, precious stone, none will do. Nothing can encapsulate Him. Nothing can resemble Him accurate enough to be worthy of worship. I have, after all, the imagination of a mere mortal.

But I can see Him.

In autumn, winter, spring and summer, I  see His handiwork manifested. Nature bursts with radiant splendor and sings His song of praise.

When my son takes time to enjoy all God’s creatures, I see my compassionate Creator.

When the miracle of life emerges in all its innocent glory, there He is.

When someone reaches out to help another in need, grace glimmers. A selfless act revealed and I see my magnanimous Savior.

Yes, I can see Him. I will worship the King of Kings, the Great I Am — the One I cannot fathom. For He is worthy. He is

Beyond my wildest imagination.

How about you? How do you see the Lord? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

I am linking this up to:

Thought-Provoking Thursdays

  

13 thoughts on “Do I See Him?

  1. another awesome post, nikk. as i’ve become more and more distracted with life (having children and all), i’ve been trying to be much more intentional about focusing on the Lord and trying to actually picture Him. although i don’t want to solely picture Him as one thing as that wouldn’t give anywhere near a clear picture of who He truly is. so i’ve been thinking through the different names of God and picturing each one. my favorite thus far, and the one i keep coming back to, is the Lion of Judah. so strong, so powerful, so majestic, yet seems cuddly enough to snuggle into. 🙂 i think this is why i LOVE the chronicles of narnia so much. aslan is exactly how i picture the Lion of the tribe of Judah.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Ginger. What a wonderful exercise, reflecting on the different names of God! It’s a brilliant way to get to know Him better. And yes, the Lion of Judah encompasses his Majesty brilliantly! Lately I’ve been focusing on two names: Jehovah Shammah which means The Lord who is Present (Ezek 48:35) as He’s been asking me to be more present and The Great I Am mainly because it’s encapsulates the wide array of emotions I’ve been having lately…
      Love this format where we can talk about Him! Thank you for reading and being involved in the discussion. 🙂

  2. Hi Nikki,

    Hopping over from The Grace Cafe. Thanks for Ezek. 48:35 and for your post. To answer your question, recently, God has been helping me to see and to experience Him more as my loving Father. I can go to Him, as I am, in all of my imperfections, and He will love me and lovingly change me.

    Blessings!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by today, Dolly, and for taking the time to comment let alone answering my question!
      He is a loving Father, isn’t he. He loves each and every one of us individually. Like you said in your blog post today:
      “He is not a mass-marketing, one-size-fits-all, God.”
      He is so deserving of our worship. and to have Him accept our praise just as we are, with all our imperfections, is such a gift….

  3. Hi Nikki:

    You have a lovely blog and I enjoyed reading your post. Yes, we do not have to look far to see God. I love to look upon His handiwork – His beautiful creation.

    Blessings,
    Joan

    • Oh, thank you so much for taking the time to stop on by and leave a comment, Joan. What a blessing you are. I love your blog and look forward to linking up again.
      Many blessings to you and your family!
      To God be the glory,
      Nikki

  4. Right now, I’m seeing the Lord through tears, pains and trials. I’m seeing him in the hard moments. Sometimes not so clearly, but sometimes so clear that it makes me tremble. Beautiful words today!!

    Thank you, for linking up with the Koinonia Coummunity and sharing your heart!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I am so sorry to hear you’re going through some extreme growing pains, Chelsey, but am so relieved you’re still striving to see Him.
      I’m grateful to have found the Koinonia Community and look forward to visiting again soon!

  5. Pingback: Beautiful God ~ Music Mondays « simplystriving

  6. Pingback: Do I Behold Him? « simplystriving

  7. Pingback: My Emmanuel « simplystriving

  8. Pingback: Variety of Thanks « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

