Forever Favorites (10 Christian Songs I Never Grow Tired of)

Some songs I don’t ever want to get out of my head. They’re my forever favorites. Most hold a special memory for me. If I happen to hear them on the radio, I will wait until the song is finished before leaving the room or getting out of the vehicle. They mean that much to me.

I would like to share them with you. My forever favorites a few at a time. We’ll start with some songs you probably all know. But not too recent as I need time to ensure they will be forever favorites!

(If you’re reading this in a reader format, you might want to click HERE to listen in)

In no particular order, here are 10 Christian songs I never grow tired of:

1. “Rescue” by Desperation Band

♪♫ I need you, Jesus, to come to my rescue. ♪♫

♪♫ No one else will do. ♪♫

♪♫ Capture me with grace…This world has nothing for me. ♪♫

Love this song! No one else will do. Wish we sang this more in church.

2. “Never Let Go” by Matt Redman

♪♫ I can see a Light that is coming for the heart that holds on and there will be an end to these troubles, but until that day comes, still I will praise You! ♪♫

To be fair, I also like David Crowder’s song of the same name. Make no mistake, they are different songs entirely. I can’t sit still when hearing this one and I LOVE when he adds ♪♫ You keep on loving and You never let go! ♪♫ during one of the choruses (around 2:30). Makes the whole song for me.

You can listen while reading the lyrics to it HERE.

3. “How He Loves Us” by David Crowder Band

♪♫ And I realize just how beautiful You are and how Your affections are for me. ♪♫

Like most songs over-played on the radio, I really fought this one. My sister blessed me with a cd after I delivered my son stillborn and this was on it (along with both Never Let Go songs). I would play this on repeat over and over and was able to find some comfort as you cannot deny any of these lyrics. This song was there when I needed it most and will always have a special place in my heart as a result.

On a side note: I LOVED seeing the YouTube video of the child in the car belting out this tune. (especially around 1:02 if you take a peek) The artist on that video is John Mark McMillon who I believe originated this masterpiece.

4. “Peace With You” by Ten Sheckel Shirt

This song speaks for itself. And was released when I was finally able to proclaim the same:

♪♫ It’s nice to be at peace with You. ♪♫

Peace With You

So bummed I couldn’t find an audio to link to this one! It’s a great song. Feel free to download it here. Song 7.

5. “My Desire” by Jeremy Camp

There are a few songs on this album I enjoy, but this one gets my hands in the air every time.

♪♫ This is my desire to be used by You…So I give my hands to be used by You ♪♫

 You can listen to it by clicking HERE.

6. “I Can Only Imagine” by Mercy Me

Now, who would I be if I didn’t include this classic. We all know it and I still love it. Can YOU imagine what it will be like?!?

Think about it while you listen HERE.

7. “Worlds Apart” by Jars of Clay

Love.This.Song. It speaks for itself. Have you ever sat down and read the lyrics? Please do.

Especially the ones around the 4 min mark here.

8. “Faithful to Me (Reprise)” by Jennifer Knapp

When this album was released it quickly became my favorite cd. Nearly 14 years later, I can still sit down and listen to it in its entirety.

I may not be too happy about her current lifestyle choices, but two things are certain: God is Faithful

and I still sing this song in the shower.

9. “While I’m Waiting” by Jon Waller

♪♫ I’ll be taking every step in obedience. And while I’m waiting I will serve you….worship…run the race. ♪♫

This song is really helping me get through some dry seasons lately. I haven’t seen the movie this song is in “Fireproof.” Have you? I’m worried it will take away the place this song brings me to when I hear it.

Have a listen HERE. Please worship while you’re at it!

10. Last but not at all least: “If You Want Me To” by Ginny Owens

I always have a song running through my head. And 7 times out of 10, it’s this song. Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, Ginny adds another verse which brings me to my knees every time.

♪♫ So when I cross over Jordan I’m gonna sing and I’m gonna shout ♪♫

I’m gonna look into your eyes and say

♪♫ ‘You never let me down.’ ♪♫

♪♫ So take me on the pathway that leads me HOME to You

and I will walk through the valley if You want me to. ♪♫

I sing this song All.The.Time.

So much so that when my oldest started to speak more clearly, we discovered he was able to sing this song in its entirety. I pray he knows I always want to do what God wants me to do. Even when it hurts.

What are some of your forever favorites? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

This post is linked up to Ohamanda’s Top Ten Tuesdays

4 thoughts on “Forever Favorites (10 Christian Songs I Never Grow Tired of)

  1. oooo, we’re talking christian music…i definitely have a minute to stop and share what songs are constantly running through my head and encouraging me to keep going day after day! 🙂 (I’ll send you links of some of the more obscure ones.)

    in no particular order:
    1. “How He Loves” *I’m with you, Nikk. This song is AMAZING!!*
    2. I too love, “You Never Let Go”
    3. “Overcome” Jon Egan
    4. “Search My Heart” Joseph Tata (it’s a hard one to find, I’ll send you a clip sometime)
    5. “Holy God” Brian Doerksen
    6. “You Are Everything” Brian Doerksen
    7. “Your Great Name” Krissy Nordhoff/Michael Neale
    8. “A Little Longer” Jenn Johnson
    9. “Waiting for the Rain” Misty Edwards
    10. “Set Me Free” Brent Wyatt (our worship leader)…this might possibly be my favorite song…right up there with How He Loves. Here are the lyrics:

    Many times I wonder, am I just a fool
    I live such a simple life, what can I offer You?
    How could You ever love someone like me?
    I am just a sinner in need of saving grace
    Who often tries to stand alone,
    But needs Your sweet embrace.
    So I offer up my life, come set me free.

    Chorus:
    I give You my heart, I give you my soul
    Now I’m asking You, Lord, come and make me whole
    I offer up my life – its all I can give.
    I give You my heart, I give You my hands
    And I promise You, Lord, I will always stand
    Up for You, only for You, as long as I live.

    I pray that I will be the one You created me to be
    In my life Thy will be done, no more hypocrisy
    I want to honor You in all I do and say.
    I pray, my Lord, for courage to boldly speak Your name
    And also, Lord, to face my sins, again I pray the same
    Please take away my pride, revive me today.
    (Chorus)

    Bridge:
    Your peace, it settles over me like a warm summer rain
    I can feel Your awesome power as You fill my heart again
    As you breathe in me new life and set me free.
    (Chorus)

  2. Thank you so much for taking the time to share — let alone 10!!These are all great. The Jenn Johnson song has been on my short list for awhile now. Thanks for pulling it to the front of what’s going through my head right now.
    And that Set Me Free song….those lyrics. WOW! You let me know when Brent Wyatt releases his album….I want to listen in 🙂

  3. Will never get sick of these:

    Casting Crowns:
    Already There (Come to the Well)
    To Know You (Until the Whole World Hears)

    Chris Rice:
    Deep Enough to Dream
    Untitled Hymn

    Newsboys:
    Joy

    There is also a Plumb song that I listen to over and over called “Blush” that makes me think of my hubby. And for songs I love to play for my kids: I love all the songs on Plumb’s “Blink” album. I would sit and rock the girls listening to it all the time with a kleenex handy. Matthew West’s “Safe and Sound” song is so sweet too.

    • Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Those are all great. Chris Rice’s Untitled Hymn is on my forever favorites, too. Love that song. And whenever I hear Plumb, I think of you 🙂 I can sit and listen to the Blink album in its entirety….in fact, that’s what I’ll be doing today! 😉

I can't wait to hear from you...

